We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away until the airconditioning is fixed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Du Pont Wilson
Ranked #49 of 195 Hotels in Lyon
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We stayed here for one night in transit. We would have left early if we'd been booked for a second night, with the airconditioning not working this hotel is too hot and we couldn't sleep. The room was OK, but the common areas of the hotel are a bit shabby and could be cleaned better. The staff were quite helpful. Don't book this without checking they have fixed the A/C!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank workingineurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (684)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 684 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2011

We got to the Best Western Hotel du Pont Wilson; our room was on the sixth floor (seventh floor, American).
The temperature was in the 90's. We were told the air conditioning was not working. Our room was OK, clean and spacious. I later went down to the front desk and asked when they expected the air conditioning to be fixed. The manager told me six to eight weeks! In other words, not until the weather cooled off. I suspect this is a ruse; do they just refuse to use the A/C because it is too expensive? The desk clerk gave me a "personal air conditioner", i.e., fan. This helped enough that we decided to stay. The next morning, I went downstairs to ask for a tourist map. The clerk told me that I would have to cross the river, turn left, and walk for ten minutes to a tourist information stand to get a map. I asked the clerk where we could find a nice local restaurant. He said that there were none on that side of the river; they were all on the right bank; cross the bridge, turn left, and walk for 10 minutes. (The hotel breakfast was 14 euros!!) No particular recommendation. No information. No effort to accommodate. No care. No return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank reaxpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Padua, Italy
1
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Nice hotel, well placed, clean and quiet. Qust a little problem with the safe in the room but the personell was very kind and efficient to resolve it. The room was nice and clean. Parking a little small for the hotel but with the booking on time there was no problem.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

After reading the glowing reviews and the pictures on the website we were both a little disappointed with this hotel. It is OK but just a little on the shabby side. The reception smelt a little - maybe it was some weird freshener. Our room on the third floor was comfortable but tiny. The air conditioning was not working so we had to leave the windows open. As one other reviewer mentioned, it's not a bad area but seems to be frequented by a lot of young kids who were making a racket in the alley way downstairs - so we had to close the window in in the middle of the night. Formica was peeling off several areas of the furnishings. All was very clean and well maintained and the bed very comfortable. We paid €105 a night which included breakfast (courtesy of a Tripadvisor coupon!). Thank goodness we didn't have to pay the €16 pp charge - it was a pretty sad affair. Dried up eggs and sausages which must have been there from 7 a.m. that morning and a poor assortment of cold cuts. Staff were very helpful and the area quite convenient. Coffee/tea making equipment in the room and a good decent hairdryer! Lyon is a fabulous city and would highly recommend for a weekend trip.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wgoater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We booked this hotel through bookings.com and got 4 nights for €65 per night. I have to say we weren't expecting much but we were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel is modern and the rooms are finished to a very high standard. Our room was spotless, spacious and quiet. The bed (2 singles put together) was HUGE and very comfortable. The hotel is located in a quiet area and the Old Town is within easy walking distance. If I was to go back to Lyon I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chickleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

This hotel is well situated being between the commerial area of Part Dieu and the Old town. Rooms are basic but comfortable and airy. Breakfast adequate.
Located almost on the Rhone, there are many bars and resteraunts within 5/10 mins walk. Note if you want to dine at one Lyons famous 'family' resteraunts you will have to book with reception. Ideal for pleasure or business trip

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErictheGreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Very very good. Just a walk across the Pont Wilson to the main and historical part of town. On returning across the bridge try out the boat restaraunts and boat bars along the banks of the Rhone. Recommend to take. The Tour Bus as there is a lot of sight seeing. Lyon is a beautiful city

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilspago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Perrache - Charlemagne
Best Western Hotel Charlemagne
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Best Western Saint Antoine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Hotel Silky by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Du Pont Wilson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Du Pont Wilson

Address: 6 rue Mazenod, 69003, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Lyon
#26 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#29 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
Price Range: £64 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Du Pont Wilson 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering 54 rooms, this hotel is a short distance from the banks of the Rhone, between Place Bellecour and the Part Dieu business district. Entirely renovated NON SMOKING rooms with the latest in modern decor. Features broadband WiFi Internet, LCD TV, minibar, safe, feather bed and airconditioning. Bathrooms with bathtub and hair dryer. 7 Junior Suites, maximum comfort, unspoiltd view over the Rhone and Fourviere hill. Private parking, hoist access max. 2000 Kg. Luxury hotel for tourism and business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Du Pont Wilson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Lyon Wilson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing