We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Du Pont Wilson
Ranked #35 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay.”
Reviewed 12 January 2012

After a 18 hr flight we arrived in Lyon with not much sleep on the plane we were after some lunch and then to check in. When we first arrived we were greeted warmly and although our room was not quite ready staff were more than happy to store our bags and point us in the direction of a nice restaurant area. On our return we were shown to great room, perfect for our one night stay in Lyon. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weiry13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    315
    117
    15
    10
See reviews for
63
325
52
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We stayed in the best western hotel du pont wilson for the "lights' festival 2011 " . the hotel was a perfect location. Just across the river from Place Bellecour. They have a parking lot but you need to reserve as it is small (15€ a day). In our case they didn't charge us for staying 27 hours instead of 24. The rooms are very nice, a bit small but normal for a french city. King size bed. The reception was very efficient. The breakfast room was a bit small but I didn't see anyone having to wait for a table, even though the hotel was full. The food was good. The WiFi worked great in our room. Our friends's room had a poor reception for the WiFi

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the quiet side (small street as opposed to main street. Also ask for rooms with goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patmazuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We chose the hotel for it's price (cheap) and location (halfway between the old town and the station), and in these respects the hotel was good. Reception was friendly and there were maps of the town provided at the front desk. Some of the things in the room were in need of repair (i.e shower head was no longer attached to the wall) and the room was UNBELIEVABLY hot during the night. Breakfast was not included but could be bought at a pretty hefty price. All in all, I feel we got what we paid for, there was free wifi and the rooms were clean.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iona m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Walking into the hotel for the first time, I wasn't impressed. These was an unpleasant bathroom smell in the reception area. It seems to be ok in the morning but as the afternoon arrives, the smell comes back. The location was ok: not really right in the middle to it all but close enough to walk to main attractions.
Right away you can tell this is an older property that went through renovation. The bedroom is ok. Yes it could be quite warm at night because of no air conditioning but what you can do is to ask for a fan from the front desk and open the window. As for the bathrom, a glass separating a bath tub from the sink area is too short. Doesn't matter how you shower, the floor will be wet once you're done. By the way, their exfoliating soap is good!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asatis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Arrived one Saturday after a long holiday in Provence and needed somewhere with secure parking which this hotel has although spaces are limited. Reception staff seemed very stretched but organised.
The room requested was for 2 single beds and we were given a double. The girl on reception was so helpful but had to close the hotel as she was on her own. She even made the beds up herself.
Location is good an easy walk across the bridge into Lyon and plenty of restaurants.
The next morning there was actually no room in the hotel to take breakfast so we had to walk into the town. Being Sunday it was not that easy to find many places open, although there was a lovely market by both rivers.
Hotel is typical Best Western, clean, comfortable but nothing special.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovehotelstays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponta Delgada, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

The thing we most appreciate was the location. We could walk to old town.
Regarding the hotel... its an average hotel. A Best western like all other.

Do not follow the dinner recommendations... you should look here for tips.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaquelMoniz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We stayed here for one night in transit. We would have left early if we'd been booked for a second night, with the airconditioning not working this hotel is too hot and we couldn't sleep. The room was OK, but the common areas of the hotel are a bit shabby and could be cleaned better. The staff were quite helpful. Don't book this without checking they have fixed the A/C!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank workingineurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Hotel Alexandra
#33 of 194 in Lyon
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Hotel Silky by HappyCulture
Molière - Edgard Quinet
Okko Hotels Lyon Pont Lafayette
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Plaza Republique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Du Pont Wilson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Du Pont Wilson

Property: Best Western Hotel Du Pont Wilson
Address: 6 Rue Mazenod, 69003, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Lyon
#24 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#26 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#31 Family Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Du Pont Wilson 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering 54 rooms, this hotel is a short distance from the banks of the Rhone, between Place Bellecour and the Part Dieu business district. Entirely renovated NON SMOKING rooms with the latest in modern decor. Features broadband WiFi Internet, LCD TV, minibar, safe, feather bed and airconditioning. Bathrooms with bathtub and hair dryer. 7 Junior Suites, maximum comfort, unspoiltd view over the Rhone and Fourviere hill. Private parking, hoist access max. 2000 Kg. Luxury hotel for tourism and business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western FR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel Du Pont Wilson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Lyon Wilson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing