We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Du Pont Wilson
Ranked #51 of 195 Hotels in Lyon
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I 've stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. And I can write with certainty
Very good hotel .
The staff is very friendly.
I had a big room with a save room and mini bar. I had good breakfast.
The location is not the best, but I like walking, so it just 10 minutes walk from old town and 5 minutes walk from shopping streets. But if you'll have a car- you'll have more possibilities to get a free car parking on the street near the hotel.

As for me- this hotel the great combination for the price and the quality.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexander29777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (684)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 684 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed in a room on the top floor, lots of space, nice sitting-area with cozy couch. The television is rotatable, so you get perfect view from anywhere in the room. (the two remote controls weren't that handy by the way)

The bed was big and comfortable, there was a lot of closet space, enough hooks in the bathroom, a safe for your valuables, a nice shower with firm gush, bath tub big enough. The towel rack wasn't really handy though...

Airconditioning was very useful when we were there, as were the tea-making facilities and the mini fridge.

The free WiFi connection was a bit of a puzzle, which we managed to solve. At the end of our trip we needed to print our boarding passes, so we went to the computer near the front desk. There we heard we had to pay 2 euros for 15 minutes of internet, which we found to be very expensive in comparison to the free WiFi in the room. The printer wasn't working at first and when we activated the machine, ink was lacking, so we had to print it again. It has to be said: staff was helpful in this ordeal. They were friendly, in every other circumstance as well.

Subway and tram are nearby, as is the waterfront of river Rhone, where a small farmers market is held on sunday morning. Also just a short stroll up to Presqu'íle and with that Bellecour.

Breakfast was good, especially considering it is France! The breakfast room though is really small, you almost get to sit on your neighbours lap. Not really comfortable moving around , direction breakfast buffet...

No problem leaving luggage at front desk after checking out. All in all a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top two floors, more spacious, good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seolram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We are couple from Moscow. We stayed at this hotel end of July 2012.
This is not the first experience already with Best Western chain
But this hotel is really Good!
Good room design
Good location ( 5 min from old centre)
Rhone river is in 2 minutes from hotel and there a lot of space for sitting on the grass and relaxing

Hotel has own underground parking if you travel with car
Breakfast is multifarious and substantial
We really had a good staying there and recommend to people who wants to stop over in Lyon

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sergey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Great location, hotel is good. The staff couldnt be more friendly or helpful. The only gripe we had was the lack of teabags in the room. Everything we wanted to see or visit was in walking distance. The Rhone is lovely by night. If you prefer modern hotels this one is ideal.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kja1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Nice hotel, very clean, large and pretty bathrooms. The view from the 6th floor on the side is on the Basilique of Fourviere. On the 7th floor, the view is on some roofs. Overall nice view. The Junior suites have a view on the river Rhone but they do not have twin beds in them. The hotel is very close to the public transportation system and in a good neighborhood. Parking is a little tricky but we were able to find spots. The hotel keeps the hotel parking spots for the first 17 clients that show up. We did not use it. The employee at the desk was very nice and helpful and spoke many languages. He even recommended places to visit an hour and a half from Lyon (a medieval village named Peyrouge) and a section of the Route de Vienne that is entirely covered with fresco painting.

Room Tip: upper level standard rooms have a better view either on roofs or on the Basilique (on the side of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pourpre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Very close to the centre and river with lots of good restaurants 10 mins walk away. Room comfy and staff friendly and helpful. Free wifi and tea/coffee/fridge in the room. Parking is a real problem in the vicinity so E16 overnight was a good investment with access to the garage interesting via a car lift - a first for me.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BennieMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Very, very good in every regard. Staff, cleanliness, comfort, room facilities, breakfast, price and location. A heartbeat from the city centre but quiet as a country house.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AliAK264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Perrache - Charlemagne
Best Western Hotel Charlemagne
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Best Western Saint Antoine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Hotel Silky by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Du Pont Wilson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Du Pont Wilson

Address: 6 rue Mazenod, 69003, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Lyon
#26 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#31 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
Price Range: £64 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Du Pont Wilson 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering 54 rooms, this hotel is a short distance from the banks of the Rhone, between Place Bellecour and the Part Dieu business district. Entirely renovated NON SMOKING rooms with the latest in modern decor. Features broadband WiFi Internet, LCD TV, minibar, safe, feather bed and airconditioning. Bathrooms with bathtub and hair dryer. 7 Junior Suites, maximum comfort, unspoiltd view over the Rhone and Fourviere hill. Private parking, hoist access max. 2000 Kg. Luxury hotel for tourism and business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Du Pont Wilson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Lyon Wilson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing