We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Du Pont Wilson
Ranked #49 of 195 Hotels in Lyon
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Excellent location both for city break and business travellers. Just a short walk to city center. The staff were welcomming and professional. Nice and quick check-in. Spacious, clean and quite modern room with good A/C, nice bathroom and Wifi connection. Not too noisy, but the streets around are busy all day. The breakfast was a little bit overpriced and the choice rather limited comparing to the price. Overall it's a nice, middle class hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KubaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (684)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 684 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

Booked for one night stay at the hotel pont du wilson, the room was ok it was clean and had a nice bathroom. Staff were pleasant and helpful. We didnt have breakfast however as we walked past the breakfast room it looked like a lot of people squashed into a small room. The lift seemed to take an age to come The location was good just beside the river and 15 min walk to some decent bars and restaurants. We couldnt say anything bad about this hotel it was just ok

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sayxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed here for ten nights (too long for Lyon which is more of a weekend destination but we were catching the Tour de France) and were upgraded to one of the superior rooms. It was modern and simple; not huge but more than adequate in size for our needs with a TV (news channels in English) and tea and coffee facilities. The windows opened up to a Juliet balcony which was lovely and we could lean out and look at the river! The only slight draw back was if you slept with the window open it got very noisy at dawn with the bin men, road sweepers and general traffic but we were on the 1st floor which probably didn't help. There was air con though for those that like to keep cool that way (I don't). The bed was comfy but the pillows weren't quite right - did ask for some different ones towards the end but they didn't materialise and I didn't chase. The staff were otherwise helpful and friendly even loaned out brollies! We only bought breakfast as an extra on one morning - I think it was overpriced myself but it was nice enough - continental style in a small breakfast room (no other restaurant but you don't need it here). The location was fabulous; 30 seconds to the River Rhone - there is a lovely area alongside the river with a number of floating bars and restaurants. The swimming Lido is five mins away too but men - beware you need speedo type shorts to get in! The main area of Lyon is just a walk across the bridge with all of the fabulous cobbled street restaurant areas as well as the shopping area was within five minute or so walk. Food and more food on your doorstep!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annieeeeeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Very good hotel. The room was clean and modern. Staff was extremely welcoming. The hotel offers free wifi. Nice big bathroom. Depending on where you need to be in Lyon, the hotel could be a bit out of the way, seven of eight minutes walk from downtown, and a bit further from Old Lyon. My room gave on the street, and there was a bit of noise in the evening - nothing too disturbing. I did not have breakfast at the hotel, so I cannot assess. Overall, I thought the hotel was very pleasant. .

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanRoberge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

I booked 2 rooms this hotel for 2 nights on the strength of most reviews, but must say I was a little disappointed on arrival. The pictures made it look sleek and very smart, when in fact the entrance hall is a bit small, not that smart, and the breakfast room small too. The worst was on stepping out of the shabby lift, being confronted by an absolutely drab corridor, old carpet, grey doors, sinister lighting. It felt a long way from a 4 stars hotel indeed! The 2 rooms we booked were lovely, comfortable, very large and so was the bathroom. My room was facing another concrete block and was a bit noisy on the street, the other room much quieter on a courtyard. There was some echoing noise, the hotel being concrete, but nothing too bad and I slept very well. The staff were all very nice and very helpful. The breakfast is pretty standard but ok. So my overall impression was ok but I felt it was lacking the extra touch you would expect from a 4 stars. The tv never worked. It is located on the Part-Dieu side of the Pont Wilson and takes quite a little walk to reach the city center of Place Bellecour. Not a bad choice but am sure there is better around for the price...

Room Tip: Better not on street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josephien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The best thing about this hotel is its location, especially if you are happy to walk about. It is an easy 15 minute walk from the main station Gare de la Part-Dieu and about a 5 minute walk to the nearest metro station (Place Guichard)
In the other direction it is about 5 minutes to Place Belecour in the centre and about a further 10 minutes to Vieux Lyon
The hotel itself is OK with courteous staff and average rooms for this standard of hotel. The single lift is a bit slow and small - could be a problem if you have large suitcases.
Breakfast was included in the rate and was reasonable. There was the option of scrambled eggs and bacon as well as the usual cereals, breads, yoghurts etc.
All in all not a bad place to base yourself when visiting Lyon

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in an excellent location for sightseeing and the reception team friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and quiet and comfortable, although the decor a bit drab colour. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imtravellinglight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Perrache - Charlemagne
Best Western Hotel Charlemagne
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Best Western Saint Antoine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Hotel Silky by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Du Pont Wilson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Du Pont Wilson

Address: 6 rue Mazenod, 69003, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Lyon
#26 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#29 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
Price Range: £64 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Du Pont Wilson 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering 54 rooms, this hotel is a short distance from the banks of the Rhone, between Place Bellecour and the Part Dieu business district. Entirely renovated NON SMOKING rooms with the latest in modern decor. Features broadband WiFi Internet, LCD TV, minibar, safe, feather bed and airconditioning. Bathrooms with bathtub and hair dryer. 7 Junior Suites, maximum comfort, unspoiltd view over the Rhone and Fourviere hill. Private parking, hoist access max. 2000 Kg. Luxury hotel for tourism and business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Hotel Du Pont Wilson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Lyon Wilson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing