We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handily placed close to the Rhone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Du Pont Wilson
Ranked #37 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

A group stay in Lyon at a hotel close to the Rhone and around a 20 minute walk to the old part of town for the restaurants and historic sights. Better than expected breakfast for French hotels but expensive in room snacks

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SolihullRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (662)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 662 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

Good hotel, not expensive. Close to the river Rhone, and close to city. Very clean. Good breakfast which was included in our deal.
Staff friendly and helpful. Have to mention one member of staff who made our stay really good. Loic, on Reception. He was patient with everyone, very helpful, spoke very good English, and really went that extra mile to be informative and tell us everything we wanted to know. Outstanding member of staff!
Good job we had a normal sized car, as you drove into a lift and went underground to a quite tight parking space.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and were put facing a back street. However, the hotel couldn't stop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pryce574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Great hotel, perfect location. Generous rooms and good hot showers. Comfortable beds and pleasant check in experience. Highly recommended. A very well run hotel where everyone speaks English which helps. Nice comfortable lobby area. Parking is limited and tight but plenty of on street parking around. Nice restaurants close to the hotel also.

Room Tip: Any above the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chosen 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Good small hotel, not as close to the train station as I had expected, was planning to walk, but wouldnt again unless I had the time and knew exactly where we were going !
Hotel nice, clean, and a very welcome shower after a long hot journey
Really nice walk over the bridge into the old town and the river bank is full of activity in the evening
Would definately go back

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaz69Aberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I booked online for one night in Lyon en route to Val d'Isle. The hotel was ideally placed and bookable off street parking. The room was lovely with a good view from the balcony. The bed was one of the most comfortable I slept in. I will be back!

Room Tip: book a room with a balcony to get the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smithrenwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed only one night in Lyon before a trip around Burgundy and Franche-Comte. The hotel is just 3 tram stops from the railway station so you could easily reach it without taking taxi. Located in quiet district of Lyon but just a short and very pleasant walk from the city center. The staff was very friendly and helpful, room was modern and clean with nice bathroom and free wifi connection.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Izolol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The hotel is easy to get to when arriving via train and the reception staff are friendly and quite helpful with any questions you may have. It is just a short walk over the bridge to Lyon City Centre, restaurants / shops and about a 10 minute walk to the old town. It is also a good base if you want to take day trips i.e. Rhone region wine tours or a trip to Annecy etc.

A few slight complaints: the hotel only has one lift and it can take sometime for it to arrive. The breakfast room is too small - this morning we got there a little later and had to wait for a table to be made up for us.

Good location - close to everything. I would recommend this hotel to anyone for a short stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Hotel Le Roosevelt
#55 of 194 in Lyon
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Hotel Silky by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Du Pont Wilson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Du Pont Wilson

Address: 6 rue Mazenod, 69003, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Lyon
#25 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#26 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
Price Range: £63 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Du Pont Wilson 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering 54 rooms, this hotel is a short distance from the banks of the Rhone, between Place Bellecour and the Part Dieu business district. Entirely renovated NON SMOKING rooms with the latest in modern decor. Features broadband WiFi Internet, LCD TV, minibar, safe, feather bed and airconditioning. Bathrooms with bathtub and hair dryer. 7 Junior Suites, maximum comfort, unspoiltd view over the Rhone and Fourviere hill. Private parking, hoist access max. 2000 Kg. Luxury hotel for tourism and business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Du Pont Wilson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Lyon Wilson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing