We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal overnight stop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Du Pont Wilson
Ranked #38 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Reviewed 13 April 2014

On our way back from the North of Italy, we stopped just in the middle on our way back to Belgium.
First time in Lyon was a nice experience to find the city a lot more relaxed than I assumed before.

The Best Western hotel Pont du Wilson has a perfect location. Nice neighbourhood, walking distance from historic center and in just a few minutes you find yourself back on the highway the next day to smoothly continue your trip.

Next time we take the car for a trip through France, we 'll definitely book this hotel again.

Kristof

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristof K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 657 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

We wanted to stay at the very heart of Lyons. The BW Pont Wilson was the perfect match.
We could explore the town by walking around the hotel. Unlike many hôtels in France, the room had plenty of space (and a nice balcony).

We got good support from the staff (admittedly from a person from Guatemala).

Just one negative. Parking is difficult in the center of Lyons. The website should warn us about this.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 16frogprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The benefit of this hotel is its location which is based half minute walk from Rhone river and 5-10 minutes walk from Lyon city center. there are more hotels in this area, but their price was less interesting at least when i visited Lyon, in April 2014.

I was on a business trip and i paid for a room with breakfast and free wifi around 125 euros per night which is considered a good value for money for this location.

the hotel is a business hotel, not something great, but clean, with nice breakfast and helpful staff.

the room itself was decent, with a big flat TV screen with a good variety of channels, though the only english one was BBC and the only Deutsch ZDF. But the French channels variety was great with also a good selection of sports events.

the view of my room, although in the 6th floor, was dreadful, really bad in fact, since my window was watching some neigbour buildings and balconies with clothes waiting to be dried despite the rain!

overall though, i would suggest this hotel, mainly due to each location and price when compared with similar hotels around the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The hotel was well located, you could easily access all the interesting places by foot (~20-30 minutes range). The breakfast, which was included in our reservation, was plenty and had a good diversity of things to choose from. The room was nice and clean. Mini-bar a bit pricey and nothing special, poor quality shampoo and shower gel. Good wi-fi. It was worth the price we paid for. Also we stayed on the 4th floor and although the view was kind of poor there wasn´t much noise.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

On weekends there is a lovely market by the river just over the road from the hotel.
When taking the train to and from the airport; the hotel is a 20min walk to/from the station.
Those who are visiting Lyon for the food you will not be disappointed. I highly reccomend the non tourist street Rue des Marronniers. It is a ten minute walk from the hotel, It's a lovely narrow cobbled street of rustic, quaint restaurants where you are spoilt for choice. The clientele is made up of locals and not tourists. The proprietors are very friendly to English visitors.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hampstead30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

I give this a 4 star because I sensed a genuine effort by the staff to make my stay comfortable although I did not know French. The location is not bad since it is next to the Rhones and is only a short walk away from the old city. If you are into running, do pack your asics as this place is just next to the running track along the Rhones river.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Ajay9252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The staff was so friendly and very helpful. The room was very clean and a nice size. Internet was included, and thankfully had a good connection, which I can say for most of the hotels I've stayed in in that area. Breakfast had a large variety and was set up in a cozy little dining area. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Hotel Silky by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Le Roosevelt
#58 of 194 in Lyon
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Du Pont Wilson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Du Pont Wilson

Address: 6 rue Mazenod, 69003, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Lyon
#25 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#26 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#31 Family Hotel in Lyon
Price Range: £63 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Du Pont Wilson 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering 54 rooms, this hotel is a short distance from the banks of the Rhone, between Place Bellecour and the Part Dieu business district. Entirely renovated NON SMOKING rooms with the latest in modern decor. Features broadband WiFi Internet, LCD TV, minibar, safe, feather bed and airconditioning. Bathrooms with bathtub and hair dryer. 7 Junior Suites, maximum comfort, unspoiltd view over the Rhone and Fourviere hill. Private parking, hoist access max. 2000 Kg. Luxury hotel for tourism and business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Du Pont Wilson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Lyon Wilson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing