We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel close to the attractions in old Lyon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel du Pont Wilson
Ranked #32 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel close to the attractions in old Lyon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

My wife and I spent 2 weeks touring the Rhone Alps region of france, this was one of the best values for accomodations we found during our trip. We were travelling in July - the rooms were air conditioned and comfortable, clean comfortable beds. There are about a dozen small parking spots in the basement - make sure you reserve a parking spot if you require one. The hotel is well situated if you are visiting old Lyon - a short walk and a bridge away from the core of the old city. For most of what we did in Lyon we didn't require our car. The breakfast is quite good, nice choices and a hot breakfast option. On the trip back through Lyon, we were placed in one of the large balcony rooms on the front of the hotel - which have a large king sized bed and two bunk beds for children, large flat screen TV, confortable sitting area. This would be a perfect room if you're travelling with your family. All in all - one of the best overall values we managed to find during our vacation, with comfortable rooms and good sleeping in the summer. The Hotel manager was very helpful, and we had good experiences with all our intereractions with the staff.

Room Tip: The front balcony rooms are perfect for families with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gman6262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    309
    115
    14
    10
See reviews for
60
320
51
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We spend 3 nights at the hotel and were happy with our choice. The hotel is located about 15-20 minutes walk from the train station (Part Dieu), or a few tram stops away (direct tram from the train station, stop about 100 meters from hotel. The neighborhood is more residential and less commercial and therefore very quiet at night. The Presquile is only 5-10 minutes away on the other side of the Rhone. We appreciated the location, although sightseeing locations are all towards the west of the hotel.

The room was clean. The bathroom was clean too, some fixtures could use a handyman with a screwdriver to fix loose parts, but nothing critical, everything was well functioning.

We had breakfast included in our prepaid rate of 89 EUR per night which we thought was a good deal. Breakfast was great, except for the pastry: if you're looking for real French croissants and Pains au Chocolat, don't take your breakfast there, they only serve those prebaked or frozen small pastries that have nothing in common with the true french pastry. Other than that, breakfast was fabulous.

Staff was always friendly and helpful to us. Thanks for making our stay so nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilippeV392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

As an experienced traveler I have received some bad service in a few hotels but have never been treated with the disrespect to which my family and I were subjected by the staff of this hotel. Seven members of my family had planned to stay at this hotel and booked four rooms for three nights. But a few weeks before our planned stay our father who was to stay with us in the hotel passed away. Not only did the hotel when contacted ahead of time refuse to reimburse the price of his prepaid room, but also a certain Ms. [--] from the reception desk having refused to give us access to the manager when we arrived at the hotel callously justified her offer to give no more than hotel credit for our deceased father's room by saying to my face: "you are traveling with an old man, what do you expect?" That comment has stayed with me as one of the most painful to have been uttered to me during my time of grief.

Ms. [--] was not the only unprofessional employee of this hotel. Another receptionist who was not wearing a name-tag, when asked for her name refused to give it and actually said to me that she does not know her own name, that she had "forgotten" it.

The treatment my family and I received from this hotel leaves me inclined to advise travelers to stay away from it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Reema_Ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

This is a 4 star hotel with an 8+ rating. I somehow did not experience that. The foyer and passages are renovated but the rooms (mine on floor 7) was outdated and in need of total refurbishment. I had to call the manager to show him cobwebs above my bed and layers of dust on the skirting, a cracked coffee mug and dirty windows. Breakfast was expensive, so I rather opted for fresh croissants and coffee at the many fine bakeries around. The WiFi was not working for a full day and being 14 July in France, the response was that no one was available to fix it as it was a national holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rianviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

A conveniently located hotel, with pleasant if generic design, somewhat small dimensions, and relaxed atmosphere. It does not have a strong personality or style, but it is a good option for a short stay. The hotel is walking distance from many locations, for instance from the Part Dieu train station (it's a direct walk of about 15-20 minutes) and Place Bellecour (a picturesque 10-minute walk across the Rhone).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Denis3524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The hotel was situated close to the river and close to a variety of restaurants. There seemed to be plenty of places of interest but sadly we didn't get chance to sightsee! The staff were very friendly and helpful. We managed to park our car in the underground garage at the hotel. The room was small but clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good and plenty of choice. I would suggest if you were staying more than a couple of nights to check the room out first.

Room Tip: Look before you book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christabella_48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great location. Staff very friendly. Clean facilities & huge bed! Didn't use the restaurant as quite pricey compared to what was available very locally to the hotel. Very close to the river and a short walk to centre of City for sights and shopping!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CazM65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Hotel Alexandra
#33 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Hotel Silky by HappyCulture
Hotel des Celestins
#15 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel du Pont Wilson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel du Pont Wilson

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel du Pont Wilson
Address: 6 rue Mazenod, 69003, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#23 Business Hotel in Lyon
#26 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#31 Family Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel du Pont Wilson 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering 54 rooms, this hotel is a short distance from the banks of the Rhone, between Place Bellecour and the Part Dieu business district. Entirely renovated NON SMOKING rooms with the latest in modern decor. Features broadband WiFi Internet, LCD TV, minibar, safe, feather bed and airconditioning. Bathrooms with bathtub and hair dryer. 7 Junior Suites, maximum comfort, unspoiltd view over the Rhone and Fourviere hill. Private parking, hoist access max. 2000 Kg. Luxury hotel for tourism and business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel du Pont Wilson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Lyon Wilson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing