We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not get the smallest rooms”
Review of Hotel du Theatre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Theatre
Ranked #58 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Silver City, New Mexico
Level Contributor
118 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Do not get the smallest rooms”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This hotel is in a convenient location except I could find no bakeries nearby for my almond croissant fix every morning. If you can afford it at all, I would spring for a larger room; I could barely fit in the wc. Don't bother with the breakfast here either. If I were to stay in Lyon again I would likely not stay here but seek a better place in the area. And yes, there are many flights of stairs to climb each in and out. The housekeeper drove my wife crazy too, moving her shower cap, etc. every day while not taking out recycle bottles fro a couple of days. There's better accomodations.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the street in front, the ones that view the courtyard would be quieter wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve60831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    129
    38
    6
    4
See reviews for
30
111
24
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed in Hotel du Theatre for 2 nights back in May 2013 and we had a great experience! The room was small, but considering what we paid for just a shower room, it was a good deal. The best part about the hotel was the breakfast! We were served a typical French breakfast with breads, orange juice and coffee/tea and surprisingly it really filled us up! Another great bonus what that the hotel had free wifi with a pretty good connection. The only negatives were that there was a lot of stairs and that there wasn't a great plumbing system so there was quite a lot of noise whether you or the neighbours flushed. Other than those few downsides, the hotel was great! The staff was very friendly and welcoming and the hotel is in a great location. We would recommend Hotel du Theatre to anyone visiting Lyon!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevAmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Situated in a great location in Lyon, this hotel is located on the upper floors of a portion of a building. Quarters are very tight for all aspects of the hotel, but room was clean. Breakfast was very European - some French bread, croissants, coffee, and orange juice. Hotel has no elevator, so be prepared to carry your luggage up many flights of stairs to get to the lobby and then your room. Was quite happy with the hotel overall.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxbraketorque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

What a great, considered review NightOwl34 gave. I agree with everything that he / she said.
We spent the last two nights at this hotel. For us the location was absolutely terrific, the area feIt safe to walk in at night (for example to walk to and from the nearby restaurants) and the old town was a pleasant walk across the bridge in the day. The hotel reception people were very friendly and happy enough to either put up with my faltering French or to talk in English. Wi-fi reception was good and is free.
Our room was fine however, as NightOwl34 said, to stay here it is advisable that you are able to carry your bags up a number of flights of stairs and can do without a shower (our room only had a bath). If we were in Lyon would we be happy to return to this hotel? Yes ... as it is good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nucca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

What a wonderful little family owned hotel in the best part of Lyon. It central to everything and the staff and owners are friendly and obliging with directions and info.Reading some of the others' comments here, it seems that people expect 100 euros worth for 60 to 70 euros per night. I say that if you want air-con and elevators, then stay in a Holiday Inn or another boring chain hotel.
The rooms ( I stayed in two ) were tastefully decorated and spotless and the bathrooms were spacious. Actually, I preferred this hotel to a three star hotel that I stayed at in Lyon previously.

Room Tip: Make a booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ovation17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Beautiful North
Level Contributor
88 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 601 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Affordable hotels in city centres tend to be affordable for one of two reasons. Either they are in undesirable areas, or they suffer from small rooms and a lot of stairs. This is the case in most city centre hotel I've stayed in; it's a consequence of the high price of property in desirable areas. Hotel de Theatre fits into the second category.

Excellent location, 2 minutes walk from the Saone River. It’s in a grand old building, which backs onto the exclusive Place des Celestins by the magnificent theatre – there’s a lovely view of the square from the hotel window. This is a very safe area, we both felt perfectly comfortable walking around here at all hours. It took us about 10 minutes to cross the nearest bridge into the historic St Jean area from our hotel. There are many tourist-friendly restaurants a 2 minute walk around the corner, in the Rue de la Monnaie area.

Room was very clean, a reasonable size and nicely decorated, but the en-suite bathroom was small and the bath was tiny. Unless you’re a lot smaller than average, or a skilled contortionist, ensure your bathroom has a shower, not a bath ! Although we had a shower over the bath, it was not useable as the fitting had broken from the wall.

I also found the bed to be too small, my feet stuck out of the end – yet again, this is typical of old hotels with small rooms in good locations.

If travelling by car, behind the hotel in Place des Celestins there is an underground car park. If travelling by train/ plane, the hotel is about 10 minutes walk to the nearest metro station at Place Bellecour. After doing some research, noting we’d need to change trains on the metro, as well as crossing several city streets from the square, we decided to take a taxi instead. This cost us 13 Euros, in moderate traffic. There is also a ‘parking station’ of free city bicycles in Place des Celestins.

The hotel reception is two floors up a wide stone staircase (no lift). The reception area is a large room with tables and chairs where breakfast is served – once again, nice views out to Place des Celestins. Note that the breakfast is not self-service, you won’t be given certain items unless you ask for them specifically, e.g. cereal.

Staff were friendly and helpful, and spoke good English (but were happy to speak French at my request.)

The stairs up to the other floors from the reception area are very steep and narrow. If you’re carrying a suitcase in each hand, you have to walk sideways – easier said than done. Coming from street level to your room is consequently quite a workout – even on a cold day you’ll be toasty by the time you reach your room. There is no lift, so this hotel would be completely unsuitable for someone with limited mobility.

Although the doors and walls were quite thin, and the floorboards creaky, the other guests were all well-behaved and quiet so we had no problems with noise. However, I can imagine this could be a problem with noisy neighbours. Note that the location is a very quiet location on a side street, you don’t get much noise from the street below.

The biggest selling point of this hotel is it’s location, but it would not suit everybody. If you can’t face the flights of narrow stairs, or you’re a light sleeper, it’s probably unsuitable for you.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter with better views, but more stairs to climb. Lower rooms are more accessibl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NightOwl34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

The Hotel du Theatre offers great value for money. The room are not smaller than in average French hotels and they are clean and quite charming. Bathroom is up to date, but for some reason there was no shower curtain. No AC in the room (not to be expected either), but a fan that was enough to chill the room on two hot days in June. The hotel serves a continental breakfast, but with some extra attention to detail (like fruit juice with pulp and a nice breakfast area overlooking the theatre in the square). The only negative things are no elevator and no shower curtain, but if you can live with that, I would definetely recommend the hotel. Oh, of course, almost forgo, tGREAT location....

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A_Franc0phile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Elysee Hotel
#67 of 194 in Lyon
199 reviews
Hotel des Celestins
#15 of 194 in Lyon
975 reviews
Hotel des Artistes
#33 of 194 in Lyon
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Best Western Saint Antoine
Globe et Cecil
#43 of 194 in Lyon
450 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Theatre

Property: Hotel du Theatre
Address: 10 rue de Savoie, 69002, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Theatre 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hôtel du Théâtre welcomes you in a very nice place: in the town center of Lyon, enjoying a beautiful view of the theatre and the Célestins place. Located in the peninsula between Bellecour place and Saint-Jean area, 1 mn by feet far from restaurants, shops and cultural sites.The réception is on the second floor. There is no lift.The hotel is open all year long, and the reception welcomes you between 7 am and 11 pm.24 personalized rooms: 13 rooms faced on the theatre. The other rooms are over a very peaceful street.Continental breakfast from 7 a.m to 12All our rooms have a bathroom (shower or bath with hair-dryer) and toilets.TV LCD with international satellite channels in every room.WIFI access free of charges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel du Theatre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Theatre Hotel
Du Theatre Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing