We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value”
Review of Hotel du Theatre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Theatre
Ranked #64 of 196 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Just back from 4 nights in Lyon, hotel was in the value end of the market , plus points great location ok breakfast and quite cheap, minus points walls are quite thin rooms are small and basic and no lifts , but all said we thought it was goodvalue

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GTO52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2013

The hotel's good locatation is perfect to optimize your walkings. My single room was simply, but clean and spacious. The staff is very kind. Very good cost-benefit relationship. It's a very old but preserved building. There is no elevator.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chmcsouza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This hotel is in a convenient location except I could find no bakeries nearby for my almond croissant fix every morning. If you can afford it at all, I would spring for a larger room; I could barely fit in the wc. Don't bother with the breakfast here either. If I were to stay in Lyon again I would likely not stay here but seek a better place in the area. And yes, there are many flights of stairs to climb each in and out. The housekeeper drove my wife crazy too, moving her shower cap, etc. every day while not taking out recycle bottles fro a couple of days. There's better accomodations.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the street in front, the ones that view the courtyard would be quieter wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve60831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed in Hotel du Theatre for 2 nights back in May 2013 and we had a great experience! The room was small, but considering what we paid for just a shower room, it was a good deal. The best part about the hotel was the breakfast! We were served a typical French breakfast with breads, orange juice and coffee/tea and surprisingly it really filled us up! Another great bonus what that the hotel had free wifi with a pretty good connection. The only negatives were that there was a lot of stairs and that there wasn't a great plumbing system so there was quite a lot of noise whether you or the neighbours flushed. Other than those few downsides, the hotel was great! The staff was very friendly and welcoming and the hotel is in a great location. We would recommend Hotel du Theatre to anyone visiting Lyon!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevAmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Situated in a great location in Lyon, this hotel is located on the upper floors of a portion of a building. Quarters are very tight for all aspects of the hotel, but room was clean. Breakfast was very European - some French bread, croissants, coffee, and orange juice. Hotel has no elevator, so be prepared to carry your luggage up many flights of stairs to get to the lobby and then your room. Was quite happy with the hotel overall.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maxbraketorque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

What a great, considered review NightOwl34 gave. I agree with everything that he / she said.
We spent the last two nights at this hotel. For us the location was absolutely terrific, the area feIt safe to walk in at night (for example to walk to and from the nearby restaurants) and the old town was a pleasant walk across the bridge in the day. The hotel reception people were very friendly and happy enough to either put up with my faltering French or to talk in English. Wi-fi reception was good and is free.
Our room was fine however, as NightOwl34 said, to stay here it is advisable that you are able to carry your bags up a number of flights of stairs and can do without a shower (our room only had a bath). If we were in Lyon would we be happy to return to this hotel? Yes ... as it is good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nucca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

What a wonderful little family owned hotel in the best part of Lyon. It central to everything and the staff and owners are friendly and obliging with directions and info.Reading some of the others' comments here, it seems that people expect 100 euros worth for 60 to 70 euros per night. I say that if you want air-con and elevators, then stay in a Holiday Inn or another boring chain hotel.
The rooms ( I stayed in two ) were tastefully decorated and spotless and the bathrooms were spacious. Actually, I preferred this hotel to a three star hotel that I stayed at in Lyon previously.

Room Tip: Make a booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ovation17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Elysee Hotel
#69 of 196 in Lyon
211 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Best Western Saint Antoine
Hotel des Celestins
#14 of 196 in Lyon
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Globe et Cecil
#54 of 196 in Lyon
476 reviews
Hotel des Artistes
#26 of 196 in Lyon
439 reviews
Hotel Bayard Bellecour
#101 of 196 in Lyon
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Theatre

Address: 10 rue de Savoie, 69002, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 196 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range: £61 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Theatre 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hôtel du Théâtre welcomes you in a very nice place: in the town center of Lyon, enjoying a beautiful view of the theatre and the Célestins place. Located in the peninsula between Bellecour place and Saint-Jean area, 1 mn by feet far from restaurants, shops and cultural sites.The réception is on the second floor. There is no lift.The hotel is open all year long, and the reception welcomes you between 7 am and 11 pm.24 personalized rooms: 13 rooms faced on the theatre. The other rooms are over a very peaceful street.Continental breakfast from 7 a.m to 12All our rooms have a bathroom (shower or bath with hair-dryer) and toilets.TV LCD with international satellite channels in every room.WIFI access free of charges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Theatre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Theatre Hotel
Du Theatre Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing