We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accomodation”
Review of Hotel La Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Residence
Ranked #44 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Excellent accomodation at a very decent price, right in the town centre; Place Bellecour is 100 yards away and the famous "bouchons" restaurants are an extra 200 yards further. The hotel is not one of these flashy places where everything goes wrong, on the contrary while looking pretty ordinary the rooms are of excellent standard and very clean.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philippe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicolas b, Responsable réception at Hotel La Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Guest,

At first , thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor.

We're delighted to know you enjoyed your stay at Hotel La Residence.

We're very happy to see that our location and room allow you to spent some great time in Lyon.

We look forward to welcome you once again.

Best regards,
Nicolas Blanchez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (550)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 551 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

I always try to stay here when on one of my regular trips to Lyon. The location is excellent and the prices very reasonable for a hotel just off Place Bellecour. The hotel is across the square from rue des Marroniers with its fabulous restaurants and there are shops for necessities and luxuries right outside

The rooms are spacious, often family rooms with several beds. Bathrooms often have a jacuzzi. Being situated on a pedestrianised street and with an inner courtyard it is very quiet.

Breakfast is self service with excellent coffee. Eggs, hot and cold meat, cheese and yoghurt as well as breads and pastries. The hotel is well maintained and spotless. Wifi is free and actually works

The welcome is warm and the atmosphere very French. A comfortable and reasonably priced hotel which is a home from home when in Lyon working

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Doremouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicolas b, Responsable réception at Hotel La Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We're pleased to see you enjoyed your stay at Hotel La Résidence.I will share all your wonderful comments to my team wich is working to improve your quality stay.

It's a real pleasure to know that you've find a second home in Lyon !

We look forward to welcome you again in our beautiful city .

Best regards,
Nicolas Blanchez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Happy with stay as room was reasonably large and clean, location quite as Victor Hugo is a pedestrianised. Our room overlooked Victor Hugo and we had no noise issues. Our room (304) had a nice shower / bath. Service was polite. But I stop short of 5 stars only because of two things. (1) The in-room tea/coffee facilities are inadequate: we got 1 tea-bag, 1 coffee sachet, 1 tub of UHT milk and two plastic cups. (2) on the second night they had only one cup and no towels. A phone call recitified (2) but we were short of time, with just an hour to rest before heading out again so this was an inconvenience. But I would return (but with my own tea and coffee).

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BenM31415926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicolas b, Responsable réception at Hotel La Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Guest,

At first, we thank you to leave your comments about your stay on Tripadvisor.

It's very pleasant to see you enjoyed your experience in our hotel.

Concerning the room tea/coffee problem , we apologize for this forgetting and try to make our best to improve your comfort.

We look forward to welcome you during your next trip in our city.

Best regards,
Nicolas Blanchez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The Hotel Residence is in a perfect part of town right near the central Place Bellecour and close to shops, restaurants and subway. The hotel itself is nothing great and nothing bad. They provide a good breakfast, the bathrooms are clean, the televisions work and there is free (but very slow) wifi. The service was a bit cold and the decor a bit drab, but otherwise, it was a perfectly fine place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KingsMountaineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicolas b, Responsable réception at Hotel La Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Guest,

At first, thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor.

We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Concerning the decor , we inform you we're working on it and the new decor will be ready at the end of this month to improve your experience and comfort.

For Wifi , this is very unusual and we apologize.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip in Lyon,

Best regards,
Nicolas Blanchez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The hotel was within a quick subway ride from the train station, a couple of blocks from Place Bellecour. We had a room in the back of the hotel overlooking a courtyard between several buildings. Consequently there was no noice from the pedestrian friendly Victor Hugo Boulevard. The room was clean and comfortable and, as others have noted, the toilet was separate from the bathroom. The hotel was within walking distance of Old Lyon on the other side of the river. We passed on the breakfasts and enjoyed the croissants and coffee from cafes nearby including the Brioche Doree.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank edub33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicolas b, Responsable réception at Hotel La Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments about your stay on Tripadvisor.

We're very happy to see you spent time in our city and hotel.

We hope to welcome you during your next stay,

Best regards,
Nicolas Blanchez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Pleasant and not so pricey stay in the very center of Lyon. Location of hotel is perfect, 200 m from famous place Bellecour. Some windows looks out into pedestrian street Victor Hugo, that can be noisy at night, but rooms are soundproof enough to be quiet.

Rooms are big, toilet is separated from bathroom (big advantage!). A toilet bowl in our room functioned in a strange way, was constantly half-filled by water, but worked properly, just unusual.

Hotel is bike-friendly, our bicycles were putted into small room behind the reception

It has no sense to take expensive breakfast in the hotel, within 50 meters there are some boulangeries and cafes.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andres16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicolas b, Responsable réception at Hotel La Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Guests,

Many thanks to share your experience at Hotel La Résidence.

It's very good for us to see you've enjoyed your stay and we'll happy to welcome you once again ... with your bikes !

Sincerely,
Nicolas Blanchez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Very nice hotel in a quiet part of town on a pedestrian strip. We had a room on the 3rd floor with a balcony over the street and even with our doors open never had a problem with noise. The room was a very generous size as was the bathroom, with full-sized bathtub, and the toilet was separate from the bathroom, which is always better. The bed and pillows were comfortable. There were coffee & tea making facilities in the room but only plastic cups (usually used for cold drinks) were provided which proved unusable with boiling water unless you used two for each drink and even then the plastic melted a little. We followed other reviewers' advice and didn't have the 8 euro breakfast at the hotel but chose to go across the road to Brioche Doree with the locals and had the best croissants ever, even the coffee wasn't too bad, for France. Even though we were close to 2 Metro stations, we chose to walk everywhere as the walk to the old town is very pleasant and a very easy walk. We even walked up the very steep road to the Cathedral at the top of the hill, so you don't really need to use the public transport system from this hotel's location. Within a few minutes walk from the hotel we were overwhelmed by the huge number of restaurants of all types to choose from. We would recommend this hotel for its great location and very good value.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneBR09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicolas b, Responsable réception at Hotel La Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for sharing your good experience on tripadvisor.

We're glad to see you enjoyed your stay in Lyon,

Concerning plastic cups we've changed it few days ago for real cups .

We look forward to welcome you once again for your next stay.

Best regards,
Nicolas Blanchez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Hotel Bayard Bellecour
#95 of 194 in Lyon
335 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Citadines Presqu'ile Lyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perrache - Charlemagne
Quality Suites Lyon Confluence
Hotel des Celestins
#13 of 194 in Lyon
1,029 reviews
Hotel des Artistes
#30 of 194 in Lyon
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Residence

Address: 18 rue Victor Hugo, 69002, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range: £88 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 3-star hotel is located in the heart of downtown Lyon, a 5 -minute walk from Old Lyon , 150 meters from the Place Bellecour and 10 minutes from Confluence . Our central location allows you to discover all the attractions of Lyon life , both in terms of shopping, cultural tours or even the many restaurants making Lyon the capital of gastronomy. Our modern rooms with contemporary decor are equipped with flat - screen television, mini bar, air conditioning , hospitality tray with tea and coffee making facilities . A friendly and personal welcome awaits you and we will be happy to advise you throughout your stay to make you enjoy the charms of our beautiful city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Hotel
La Residence Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing