We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent brand new hotel (3Q2012) located near the Saône river”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Lyon Confluence
Ranked #26 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
130 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Excellent brand new hotel (3Q2012) located near the Saône river”
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Visited 28/12/2012. Hotel was opened very recently (3Q2012) and you can even smell fresh paint and see plastic covers in some areas. Access by car can be tricky as this area of Lyon is completely new and not all GPS devices are up to date yet. Very convenient car park with direct access. 8€ per night only. Confluence shopping mall nearby (no direct access though). Tram line #1 nearby with very convenient direct access to main spots. Note that family tickets are cheap during weekends. You can also rent a bike in VELOV stations nearby (one located at the tram station, one located on the river side). Design rooms. WC are in the bathroom so that it's not very suitable when travelling with family. Shower surrounded by glass so that your room mates will be awaken in the morning by the first one to shower. As we are frequent ACCOR hotels clients, we had a special rate during Xmas 2012 so that quality / price ratio was simply outstanding. Reception desk is rather small considering the size of the hotel. I forgot one small case in the room when leaving and reception desk called me to pick it up. Nice. Breakfast with usual NOVOTEL stuff: scrambled eggs, bacon, ham, cheese, cereals, jelly, bread, coffee, tea, milk (be sure to ask for real milk, not the artificial one coming from the machine!!!), etc. Best rooms have odd numbers and X01 to X17 are even better with a direct view to the Saône river, see attached photos. Highly recommended overall.

Room Tip: Rooms with odd numbers will be better. X01 to X17 will be even better de to the view to the river!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Koizumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    515
    127
    35
    24
See reviews for
287
472
50
220
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I booked my stay at the Novotel Lyon Confluence based on the very positive TripAdvisor reviews. I spent two days (one night) in Lyon to celebrate the New Year, and my experience at this hotel was extremely positive and a great way to go into 2013!

The hotel is brand new and located in the super modern Confluence district. There is a little bit of everything in walking distance (i.e. restaurants, movie theatre, mall, supermarket, and cafés). One may never even have to leave the neighborhood! The tramway is about 10 minutes away and connects to the métro and both major railway stations (Perrache & Part-Dieu) making it extremely easy to go from point A to B. The historical district (Place Bellecour and Vieux Lyon) is about 15-20 minutes away by public transportation. If you are driving, the hotel has a parking garage on site.

When I first arrived, I wasn't quite sure where to go. The signage walking from the tram could be improved and the main entrance didn't feel like a main entrance; it felt as if I was going in through a back door. Don’t worry, this is the only entrance and the reception is on the second floor. You will have to take the elevator up to check in.

The check-in process was speedy and easy. The staff was welcoming, helpful, and knowledgeable.

My room was extremely clean, comfortable, and brilliantly designed. There wasn’t any wasted space. For example, one of the bathroom walls was made of frosted glass, which could be turned on or off by the push of a button in the shower enclosure. One of the coolest things was that I could watch T.V. while taking a shower! Check that off the list!

All necessary amenities were provided (i.e. soap, shampoo and towels). There was a safe, mini bar, free WiFi, and a flat screen TV with numerous channels – two of which were in English: CNN and BBC International. There was adequate closet space with hangers and plenty of space to spread out.

The building was extremely quiet, and there wasn’t any noise coming from the hallway or from the rooms next to me. I’m not even sure anybody was next to me that’s how quiet it was. The bed was plush, and I slept like a baby during my stay. The only thing that I couldn’t figure out was how to operate the thermostat and could not turn up the heat even after my call down to the front desk.

I was very impressed by the hotel security. After a certain hour, the main entrance doors are locked and clients must present their room key to get inside. Additionally, all clients must swipe their room key in front of a reader in the elevator to go up to their respective floor.

Unfortunately because of my limited time in Lyon, I wasn’t able to take full advantage of the bar, restaurant, or gym, but I'm already trying to plan a return trip just so I can stay in this hotel again and write more!

Merci beaucoup pour un séjour très agréable. A très bientôt!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teelou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We stayed 5 nights while exhibiting at an Expo. Hotel was virtually new. French staff were all extremely helpful and polite. Facilities were excellent and so close to numerous restaurants and new shopping centre.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustinAlexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2012

This Novotel has contemporary design and is one of the newest hotels in Lyon. Location is excellent and is next the a new shopping centre. Easy access to food and public transportation. Staff was excellent, and room was clean, couldn't ask for much more.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrmcoupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PARIS - France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

New hotel opened recently in the new quarter "Confluence" - between river Saone and Rhone.
The staff is very kind and helpful.
The rooms are very colourful and the restaurant with a terrace overlooking the Saone and the small harbour.
The hotel is adjacent to a mall with a lot of different restaurants upstairs.
Very nice place.

Room Tip: There is a little "secret" to discover in the bathroom :-) very nice and unusual! let'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NADEGEPARIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Good new hotel - very clean and tidy. Staff helpful and polite. Ideal as a stop over and car parking in a secured area was free.
Next time we will use the bar and restaurant as we were sure this would have been a good choice

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

This new hotel was easy to find and the underground car park with private direct access to hotel and reception was very good. Straight up on the lift to be greeting by smiling pleasant staff. We had booked a double room with sofa. When we arrived in room it was made up of double kingsize bed with the sofa made up as a bed for a child. My husband went back to reception and within minutes someone came and changed it back to a sofa. So 10 out of 10 for helpful staff.
Yes, there was no alchohol in the fridge, but since we were on a tour of France we had just left Champage area, so put our own champagne in the fridge to enjoy later.
The terrace was great to enjoy an evening drink on returning to hotel after a meal out in town.
Trams at the end of road, great to get into town. We sat down by the river for pre-meal drink it was beautiful plus 90degrees in the sunshine.
This was a welcome one night stop on our way down to Narbonne on the Med.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancescaYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Perrache - Charlemagne
Quality Suites Lyon Confluence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Lyon Confluence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Lyon Confluence

Property: Novotel Lyon Confluence
Address: 3 rue Paul Montrochet, 69002, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Perrache - Charlemagne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Lyon Confluence 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the town center, Lyons' old town and Perrache TGV train station, the Novotel Lyon Confluence is located in the heart of the new Confluence district between the Rhône and Saône rivers, near the leisure and shopping districts. This hotel has 150 very modern rooms, a restaurant, a lounge bar overlooking the Saône, free WIFI throughout the hotel, meeting rooms, a fitness center and a private car park. An ideal location for business travel, a romantic break or a family vacation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Lyon Confluence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing