We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I really wanted to keep it a secret but had to share - great Lyon table”

Le Canut et Les Gones
Ranked #52 of 3,223 Restaurants in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
95 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“I really wanted to keep it a secret but had to share - great Lyon table”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We went with friends who have frequented this restaurant many times. After our dinner last night, I can see why. Located in the bohemian (BoBo) and hip Croix Rousse neighborhood, it looks like any other Lyonnais bouchon from the outside. But the interior is trendy/eclectic.
Service is warm and welcoming. The menu is fresh and reflects products of the season and the area. The chef and pastry chef are both Japanese. It's not obvious when you look at the very French menu, but the presentations reflect the Japanese attention to composition, finesse and detail.
Several of us had fish - all of it excellent. Portions are ample but not too much. Make sure to save room for the desserts. The dessert menu is extensive and they are just exquisite.
And the wine list is ample, as would expect heavily weighted toward Rhone wines.
Finally, the price is eminently reasonable for the quality of the food we had. This is definitely one we're adding to our list of places to go back. Often.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SFExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    103
    20
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic traditional Lyonnaise cuisine”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Lovely little restaurant full of character tucked away in the 4th arondissement. Came recommended by a local Lyonnaise and did not disappoint. I had a lovely velout of asparagus with crispy chorizo and a poached egg to start with. Mrs A went for a lovely pan fried mackerel salad. We both had goose breast with puréed betroot for mains, followed by a selection of artisan cheeses. Lyonnaise gastronomy at its best, with wonderful service thrown in. Mrs A was asked to move aside at one point to let the waiter access the wine cellar through a trap door under our table!! All part of the character at this lovely restaurant!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreux, Switzerland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“REAL FIRST CLASS FRENCH BRASSERIE !”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I invited my team (we were 9) with a Lyon friend, who warmly recommended this brasserie. And indeed it was worth a try ! The food was excellent, very well and both esthetically and tastefully presented ! How we enjoyed the entrees, the main dishes of typical french brasserie style...and the desserts ! The open wines were quite pleasant, and the price of the whole meal a very good surprise : not cheap, but a very good quality-price ratio ! And staying in the over 100 clocks decorated side-rooom made it even funier ! The service was very attentive and highly pleasant !
We shall be back for sure !

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DrH704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aussieglobal
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food.”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Delicious food. Great service. We were lucky enough to get the last table. Couldn't have been happened with our lunch. We had the dessert with yogurt moose and that was Devine too!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jessaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

One of the best restaurants I've ever been to. Everything, from starter to dessert, was very well executed. I remember my meal very fondly. * sighs *

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank cmobus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Canut et Les Gones also viewed

 

Been to Le Canut et Les Gones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing