We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrogant and Judgemental ”

Le Canut et Les Gones
Ranked #137 of 3,895 Restaurants in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

Cute restaurant and quite good traditional Lyonnaise food, shame the Maitre D took one look at me and delivered one word to his waiteress ‘quatre.’ I found out that table 4 is the worst table in the whole restaurant right next to the toilet, it was 12.15pm and the restaurant was one quarter full. It was an obvious judgement and tainted the whole experience.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank peterkJ7107SR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 544 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2018

What a lovely quirky place with fantastic food . Excellent value and lovely staff. Highly recommended

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kay123k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018 via mobile

Two years ago when in Lyon we showed up for dinner without reservations and there was no room for us (not to worry being in Lyon we were able to enjoy a great meal around the corner). This time we made sure to reserve! As it was a dark and stormy night there might have been one available table anyway. The meal was excellent (rabbit and fois gras as appetizers, guinea fowl and pork as main dishes, cheese and chocolate mousse as desserts, and a bottle of their vin de moment). Menus in both French and English, neither of which could fully explain what marvelous things the chef had done with the ingredients. The waiter was gracious and amusing (and English speaking) and the decor whimsical and comfortable. And very reasonably priced. Highly recommended (with the suggestion to make a reservation to avoid disappointment).

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

Wonderful experience! All courses - starter, main dish and dessert - of the menu were fantastic, a fine fusion of classic tastes. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lukakobale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018

Wonderful food, excellent service, relaxing atmosphere, extensive menu and outstanding wine list. The house wines were enjoyable and we found our choices to excellent for out tastes.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank zdrwho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Canut et Les Gones also viewed

 

Been to Le Canut et Les Gones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing