We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel des Remparts
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (303)
Filter reviews
303 results
Traveller rating
57
134
69
23
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
134
69
23
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperrache stationwithin walking distancequiet at nightrestaurants and barshot waterexcellent locationnice hotelcomfortable bedminute walkold towncarmotrainbathroomtoastercityfranceinternet
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 303 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2012

The hotel is located outside the Perrache station and metro which is extremely convenient. It is also a convenient location to visit the tourist sites in the Presquile district and the surrounding areas. There are also good restaurants nearby. We were given a room which overlooked Place Carnot which is a pleasant sight. The room is smallish but functional equipped with a writing table, flat screen TV (only French programs), and a wardrobe. The bathroom is clean and the plumbing works well. The wifi is free and the signals are strong. What stands out is the friendly and helpful staff. Would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Hotel Dubost is a good place for a few days in Lyon. The location is excellent as it is just outside the entrance to the Metro/Gare for Lyon Perrache. Note that Perrache is not the main station in Lyon, but plenty of trains do leave from there and it’s easy to get to Lyon Part Dieux. It’s a 2 star hotel and adequately lives up to that. The facilities are a bit tired, but a good value. It looks like they are in the process of updating the place as the lobby and our bathroom were clearly new. The furniture was clearly much older. It’s an easy walk down Victor Hugo street to the Bonaparte Bridge and Place Bellecour with the cathedral, Roman museum and ruins nearby. The staff was very helpful and spoke excellent English. The WiFi is free and works pretty well in the rooms, but a little better in the lobby. They have a complimentary computer and printer available as well. Overall, Hotel Dubost might get old with a very long term stay, but works great for a few days of touring Lyon.

Room Tip: See if you can get one overlooking the park. Ours looked into a dingy courtyard.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed at Hotel Dubost at the end of March and thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay. Firstly, the location is easy to reach from Gare Part Dieu (one change on the Metro) and just 5/10 minutes walk from Bellecour and Vieux Lyon. Despite it being on Place Carnot (our room overlooked the square), it was quiet at night. It is just a 10 minute walk from the famous Brasserie Georges and if you don't want to pay the 8.50 euro breakfast (which we didn't!) there are plenty of patisseries in the area. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable - We will be definitely stay there when we return to Lyon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing inwards if you don't want to look over Place Carnot, but we found it quiet
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VictoriaThreadgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We had booked 2 rooms and arrived late in the evening. When we locked ourselves into the rooms that we had been given, we found out that they were already in use by someone else! When we went down to the reception, the receptionist stated that the people in the rooms had given our names when they arrived, and that was why the receptionist had given them our rooms. This was totally unlikely, as we have a very rare familyname. They could not give us any other rooms, since the hotel was fully booked. As they did not offer to help us find another hotel, we had to start looking for one ourselves at 1 A.M.! The 2 other family members travelling with us were almost 80 years old and it was extremely tiring for them. When we arrived at the hotel again the next day, we were not offered any real apologies or compensation for the extra time and trouble plus taxi expenses, that we had had. We stayed there the following 2 nights as everything else in Lyon was booked due to the big SIRHA Fair. The hotel was very old, run down and our rooms were freezing cold. All in all, we would NOT recommend staying at this hotel!!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trip-Molly86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

We booked the Hotel Dubost because it was doing a 'buy one night, get one night free' offer on Booking.com. This meant that we paid €85 in total for a 2-night stay in a twin room. We had low expectations but were very pleasantly surprised. The room was quiet (being at the back of the hotel). The beds were lovely - the single beds we had were bigger than singles with firm mattresses. The curtains blocked out light perfectly. We had a nice flat screen TV; the bathroom could have done with some updating but was fine for our needs, and for a 2* hotel. Location was fine - we managed to walk everywhere in Lyon with no problems (lucky since there was a metro strike!). Reception was friendly and efficient. Would defintely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MischaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews