We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude staff and smelly rooms”
Review of Hotel des Remparts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel des Remparts
Ranked #57 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Reviewed 31 July 2012

By far the worst hotel experience during our one-month trip through Europe. First, at the check-in we were swamped with "rules" what we had to do and what we must not do. We were also asked to pay immediately and not at the check-out. Only after paying we were told that the - even though advertised as such - Wifi in the rooms was not available and there was only supposed to be a common one in the lobby. After finding out that the signal was too weak to keep a working connection (which explained the dowsing of the other guests) we discovered the connection got better in the breakfast room next to the lobby. Later that evening we wanted to check our mails and were suddenly approached by the night receptionist who instructed us to leave immediately this area as we would not be "authorised" to be in the breakfast room (even though we were right at the door to the lobby). Multiple attempts to explain that we could not get a connection otherwise were futile and we gave up eventually. Also breakfast is way overpriced for the offered quality and selection. The room itself appeared to be quiet dated but clean though, which cannot be said about the bathroom as the shower was covered in mould. The pillows had an extremely unpleasant stench as well (not sure whether their detergent or its respective lack).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2012 via mobile

I enjoyed my 2 nights at this hotel, mainly due to its location only a stone's throw from Lyon Perrache station, so great if you have an early morning train.
I was asked to pay up front for both nights on arrival which wasn't an issue. The hotel is on 5 floors and a small lift to get you up there if you can't face the stairs.
The room was cosy & warm with a lovely big window overlooking Place Carnot. The single bed was comfortable & wide and made up with fresh white linen. The bathroom had a shower & toilet with not much room in the former, but there were lashings of hot water. It was also quiet partakein spite of the central location.
I didn't partake of breakfast which was available at reception €5 in the small dining room - I preferred to use a café in the neaby train station.
The hotel has WI-FI which can be picked up in the rooms. You're given a piece of paper with a user ID & password which you have to renew every 3 hours at reception!! Otherwise there are some desktop PCs by Reception.
I found the staff friendly & informative. You can also buy all-day tickets for use on buses, metro, trams, trolley buses & furniculars at Reception and they have a leaflet rack full of great ideas to spend your day if you're "at Leisure".
Highly Recommended. :-)

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frango6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

The hotel is located outside the Perrache station and metro which is extremely convenient. It is also a convenient location to visit the tourist sites in the Presquile district and the surrounding areas. There are also good restaurants nearby. We were given a room which overlooked Place Carnot which is a pleasant sight. The room is smallish but functional equipped with a writing table, flat screen TV (only French programs), and a wardrobe. The bathroom is clean and the plumbing works well. The wifi is free and the signals are strong. What stands out is the friendly and helpful staff. Would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Hotel Dubost is a good place for a few days in Lyon. The location is excellent as it is just outside the entrance to the Metro/Gare for Lyon Perrache. Note that Perrache is not the main station in Lyon, but plenty of trains do leave from there and it’s easy to get to Lyon Part Dieux. It’s a 2 star hotel and adequately lives up to that. The facilities are a bit tired, but a good value. It looks like they are in the process of updating the place as the lobby and our bathroom were clearly new. The furniture was clearly much older. It’s an easy walk down Victor Hugo street to the Bonaparte Bridge and Place Bellecour with the cathedral, Roman museum and ruins nearby. The staff was very helpful and spoke excellent English. The WiFi is free and works pretty well in the rooms, but a little better in the lobby. They have a complimentary computer and printer available as well. Overall, Hotel Dubost might get old with a very long term stay, but works great for a few days of touring Lyon.

Room Tip: See if you can get one overlooking the park. Ours looked into a dingy courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed at Hotel Dubost at the end of March and thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay. Firstly, the location is easy to reach from Gare Part Dieu (one change on the Metro) and just 5/10 minutes walk from Bellecour and Vieux Lyon. Despite it being on Place Carnot (our room overlooked the square), it was quiet at night. It is just a 10 minute walk from the famous Brasserie Georges and if you don't want to pay the 8.50 euro breakfast (which we didn't!) there are plenty of patisseries in the area. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable - We will be definitely stay there when we return to Lyon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing inwards if you don't want to look over Place Carnot, but we found it quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VictoriaThreadgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We had booked 2 rooms and arrived late in the evening. When we locked ourselves into the rooms that we had been given, we found out that they were already in use by someone else! When we went down to the reception, the receptionist stated that the people in the rooms had given our names when they arrived, and that was why the receptionist had given them our rooms. This was totally unlikely, as we have a very rare familyname. They could not give us any other rooms, since the hotel was fully booked. As they did not offer to help us find another hotel, we had to start looking for one ourselves at 1 A.M.! The 2 other family members travelling with us were almost 80 years old and it was extremely tiring for them. When we arrived at the hotel again the next day, we were not offered any real apologies or compensation for the extra time and trouble plus taxi expenses, that we had had. We stayed there the following 2 nights as everything else in Lyon was booked due to the big SIRHA Fair. The hotel was very old, run down and our rooms were freezing cold. All in all, we would NOT recommend staying at this hotel!!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trip-Molly86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

We booked the Hotel Dubost because it was doing a 'buy one night, get one night free' offer on Booking.com. This meant that we paid €85 in total for a 2-night stay in a twin room. We had low expectations but were very pleasantly surprised. The room was quiet (being at the back of the hotel). The beds were lovely - the single beds we had were bigger than singles with firm mattresses. The curtains blocked out light perfectly. We had a nice flat screen TV; the bathroom could have done with some updating but was fine for our needs, and for a 2* hotel. Location was fine - we managed to walk everywhere in Lyon with no problems (lucky since there was a metro strike!). Reception was friendly and efficient. Would defintely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MischaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Carnot - Gailleton
Hotel des Savoies Lyon
Hotel des Savoies Lyon
#60 of 194 in Lyon
452 reviews
Hotel De La Loire
#117 of 194 in Lyon
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Republik Hotel
#86 of 194 in Lyon
210 reviews
Carnot - Gailleton
Hotelo
Hotelo
#5 of 194 in Lyon
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Remparts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Remparts

Address: 19 Place Carnot, 69002, Lyon, France (Formerly Hotel Dubost)
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range: £60 - £369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Remparts 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel is situated in the centre of Lyon city. Our building is a classic French style building form 20th century. Some of our room overlook the Carnot's square. All our room have been renovated with all modern facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel des Remparts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hotel Dubost
l Hotel Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing