We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Restaurant.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Campanile Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu
Ranked #42 of 196 Hotels in Lyon
Reviewed 23 October 2011

The reception staff were really helpful, the room was clean and well decorated, bathroom fine with an excellent shower. Unfortunately the restaurant was BAD we were shown to a table and only 5 other tables occupied, 15 mins later the waitress came to take our order, but we had not yet been given a menu card. She did apologise and was very friendly, when she came back to take our order I wanted salmon with a beurre blanc sauce and salad but was told no deliveries on a Saturday so no sauce but they had a pepper sauce (does not a chef or assistant normally make the sauce from butter, wine and flour) or does it come from a packet. The Salmon was burnt and probably warmed up from an earlier cooking as it was not hot, no green salad but a huge plate of french fries overcooked again. My partner requested Entrecote steak but along came a rib steak! we think, and no salad but a huge plate of french fries! We were asked if we would like a sweet and declined, when the bill came it included 2 sweets which we didn't have. The waitress was most apologetic and rectified the mistake.
On checking out the following morning we were asked by the friendly receptionist if everything was ok, we then told her of the experiance of our dinner in the restaurant the previous night. She said that we would not be charged for breakfast and that she was really sorry and couldn't apologise enough. Good hotel great location friendly staff but terrible restaurant.

Room Tip: Don't eat here.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank touransilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (948)
There are newer reviews for Campanile Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 949 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2011

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in March, 2011. I will admit it is close to the train station and the reception area and the restaurant are nice but the rooms were terrible.

We needed a room with three beds so the first room they put us in looked like a prison cell and about the same size. There was no heat in the room and there was mold on the walls. We were exhausted from our trip from Canada so we laid down on the beds in our coats and caught an hours sleep.

When we woke up we went down to the reception desk and they did put us in another room which was a bit nicer but still not certainly what we are used to staying in.

The price was about $150 per night and we all thought that it was way over-priced.

It is almost like the reception/restaurant area are new and the rooms are in an old part of another building.

Would not recommend this hotel at all.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dmr12121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

The room is designed in a simple and minimalist way, effective use of the small space. No bath, only a shower with rain option. Shower is fine with us. AC isn't really strong, so if you take a hot shower, expect to sweat. Reception was friendly and helpful. Everything looks really new. Wifi was spotty, but hey, it's free.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gifu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We stayed two nights here. It is close to the train station and shopping. Unfortunately the hotel is doing major renovations. The rooms are unusual, in color and layout. The bedroom was small, but the bathroom was large with mostly wasted space. Stayed here once before in 2005 and the breakfast is nothing compared to the last time, just basic French with little protein. Probably won't stay here on my next trip in 4 years. Staff were great however and spoke good English.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scvrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Rooms are very small and the walls are paper thin. The only advantage to this hotel is that it is a 1 minute walk to the tram that takes you directly to the airport. That’s it. Not worth the money that we paid. I am sure you can find something better.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kellyabra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Svetlana2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank OM_CAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu
0.3 mi away
Ibis Lyon Gare La Part Dieu
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Lyon Centre Part Dieu
0.6 mi away
Ibis Lyon Part Dieu Les Halles
0.1 mi away
Mercure Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu

Address: 31 rue Maurice Flandin | Le Forum, 69003, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range: £50 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campanile Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Lyon Centre Forum Part-Dieu Hotel Lyon
Campanile Hotel Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing