We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt like prison - unless you're used to hostels, stay away.”
Review of Hotel du Simplon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel du Simplon
Ranked #54 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Felt like prison - unless you're used to hostels, stay away.”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Got 2 rooms for the same price as one in most hotels - and you get what you pay for. They were LAUGHABLY, ridiculously small. Booked a single for our teen and a double for us but they were the same - one double bed pushed up against a wall on one side to leave just room to pass by on the other. We complained and the owner very begrudgingly showed us more until we found one with a queen bed accessible from both sides. But beds were old, mattress sagging, views bad or non-existent, "furniture" just particle board with fake wood veneer in different configurations.Our "bathroom" was - literally - the tiniest prefab made , the kind you get in the cheapest room on a cruise ship; no soap in the shower (the only "amenity" was a package of tissues). No safes and no safe deposit at front desk - one clerk put my jewelry in a locked desk drawer but the next got huffy, and put it in an unlocked closet by the breakfast room (I took it back). The blow-dryer was permanently installed in the bedroom, across the entry hall from a mirror installed so close to the wardrobe you couldn't move. The lowest wattage flourescent bulbs availbable. Not a great neighborhood - a crew of unsavory men congregated loudly across the street every night, so thank god we were together (and paid up for AC so could shut the windows). Came home around midnight one night and were locked out. Could see other guests thru the glass door who were locked IN - really unsafe all around. Took 10 min. for front desk clerk to show up from upstairs. No instructions on how to work the big TV/computer screen, with separate keyboard, in the room. Positives - good wifi, secure nearbly parking, central location, some nice staff. But I dreaded going back at night. If the price seems too good to be true - it probably is. Unless you're used to hostels, stay away.

Room Tip: Go high, insist on AC in summer, ask for one that doesn't face a wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    184
    50
    15
    12
See reviews for
52
142
40
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado City, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2012

No air conditioning, had to sleep with the window open. The street below our 2nd. floor room was the main drag to the park up the street. The very happy men were walking up the street to the park where they had a very fun and very loud evening.The woman across the street was very busy with her clients............The board by the front door with prices per-person, the plastic flowers in the very hot room (no air conditioning) and the lack of toiletries ( a pump bottle bolted to the counter for soap at the sink and a pump bottle screwed to the shower wall) should tell one a lot.............Spend a little more and go to a better part of town...................

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GGK2t5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We chose this hotel in a last minute and it was a nice choice. The price was low but what we got was pretty good - a nice and clean twin room almost in a centre of the city, attentive service, so no complains at all. We didn't take a breakfast as decided to eat it in the city, so nothing to say about it. The beds are comfortable and the water is hot enough. Cherry is everywhere, it's a nice touch.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabriso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpelier, Vermont
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Hotel du Simplon is conveniently located, a quick walk to the train station. Staff very gracious. Good breakfast (except coffee). Room bright and comfortable, with a number of thoughtful touches for,guests' comfort and convenience. We were very pleased.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VTTraveler362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

My friend and I stayed in a twin room for one night in Lyon. Since we had limited time in Lyon, being so close to the tram/metro station was a big plus.

Our room was on the first floor facing the street, so traffic noise was constant throughout the night (bring earplugs). The room itself was clean and very basic - two twin beds, faux-wood furnishings, a TV. The bathroom was quite large compared to others I've seen in France.

The staff throughout our stay were all friendly and made an effort to speak English to us. There is a lift in the hotel, which we did not use, but still it would be helpful if you were staying on a higher floor.

I would stay here again for a short stay, but for anything longer than a couple of nights I might try to find something in a less noisy area.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor away from the street - I imagine the noise would be much less of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ultrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel in late November/December 2011. It is conveniently located near Gare Parrache, just off Place Carnot with its Christmas Market in full swing. The staff at Hotel du Simplon was very welcoming and obliging. Rooms were a typical size for a small French hotel, but very clean and comfortable. I was surprised to see one review state there was no choice at breakfast given that it is a buffet breakfast with an array of cereals, fruit, pastries, bread, jams/conserves, eggs, meats, cheeses, fruit juices, coffee, tea etc. As has been said elsewhere it is not difficult to walk to Vieux Lyon, Place Bellecour, Place des Terreaux etc, but the hotel is handy to rail, metro and tram and bus stations. Free wifi is another bonus with this hotel. I’d be more than happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kalinya_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

My wife and I stayed here four nights in October 2011, and loved it. We had breakfast the first day, but not after that as it's not really good value. The staff were awesome during our stay, indulging us by speaking English as our French is terrible. They also gave us a corkscrew and some wine glasses after we purchased a cheeky red from a nearby wine shop.

Laundromat and internet cafe are close by, both of which were good value. It's a short walk from the train station and not far from a good tram stop either. It's close enough to the main action (if you don't mind a nice walk through a park and a mall) and lots of good restaurants nearby.

At about 65 Euros per night, it was the cheapest place we stayed in our four weeks in Europe, but by no means the worst. The rooms are on the small side, but have a good range of TV channels and a nice bathroom. The bed was comfortable and I really don't have any complaints at all.

A great place to stay in what is a beautiful city!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flagpies09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Carnot - Gailleton
Hotelo
Hotelo
#5 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Perrache - Charlemagne
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#92 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Elysee Hotel
#69 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Carnot - Gailleton
Hotel des Savoies Lyon
Hotel des Savoies Lyon
#61 of 193 in Lyon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Hotel Alexandra
#34 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Simplon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Simplon

Property: Hotel du Simplon
Address: 11 rue Duhamel, 69002, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Carnot - Gailleton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Lyon
#25 Family Hotel in Lyon
#39 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Simplon 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel du Simplon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Simplon Hotel
Du Simplon Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing