We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid!”
Review of Hotel du Simplon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel du Simplon
Ranked #53 of 195 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
588 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Splendid!”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We stayed at Hotel du Simplon for 5 nights. The room was clean and comfortable (if a little warm for our taste) and seems to have been recently refurbished. The WiFi was a little bit unpredictable, but it was free! Some comments about the small size of rooms seem unreasonable to us, French hotel rooms are rarely large and we’ve stayed in some that were much smaller (and more expensive).

Breakfasts were simple (cereals, pastries, breads, jam, yoghourts, dried fruit, etc.) but enjoyable. The lounge area, though small, was welcoming.

However, the best part was the staff. Attentive, pleasant and efficient. They responded brilliantly to our requests and questions and offered decent recommendations for places to eat too. We were impressed.
The only slight downside may be the hotel’s location, near to a major railway station; this puts it on the ‘edge’ a little and those unfamiliar with diverse communities might find it a little strange. However, it’s about 10 minutes’ walk from Place Bellecour and only 20 from the old town.
We’d happily stay here again and recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Bob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    196
    52
    16
    12
See reviews for
55
145
46
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Service on arrival was first class, staff were very helpful and welcoming, receptionist recommended a fantastic restaurant to eat and is was fab. The room was great,clean and comfortable. The only annoying thing in most of these hotels is no kettle!! Oh and small but that is France you learn to accept it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank West-Aussie-couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We stayed here in May 2011 and really enjoyed it. We got a great deal, and the price included breakfast every day. It's right in the main district and a short walk from the Perrache train station and close to metro, etc. The rooms are small, but we stayed in Lyon for a week and only used it as a place to sleep.
A great way to get around lyon is with the velov bikes.
I would definitely stay at the Simplon again and have no problems recommending it.

Room Tip: The rooms are all small. since we were there a week, the front desk let us choose from any of the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovetotravel1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

This is a basic hotel in an old building. Rooms are small but clean. My bathroom was recently totally renovated and was great. This is of course a two star hotel, do not expect great luxury over here, but for its category it is perfectly fit. It is located at <5 minutes from Perache, with easy tram, metro and train connections.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geographtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We chose this hotel partly because it had been recommended in the Lonely Planet guide, and partly out of convenience, as it is very close to Perrache train station. The building itself is old and quirky, with very pretty common areas. Our room was a standard double, and although it was quite small, it was perfectly sufficient for our needs and the bed was very comfortable - although we did bump our heads on the overhanging headboard a few times.

The staff were friendly and helpful throughout and the breakfast was ample, and for us was included in the bill rather than paying, but I was told that is not always the case. The location of the hotel is excellent - ten minutes walk from Place Bellecour, five from a tram stop that goes everywhere and five from Perrache station.

We have no particular complaints about the property - it's a solid two-star hotel and we'd stay there again if we were returning to Lyon.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dakar, Senegal
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

The hotel is steps from the Perrache train station and close to many good restaurants. The staff are very friendly. The common areas of the hotel are warm and charming. The rooms themselves are small and simple, though clean. Breakfast is continental but also fairly priced. There are several good restaurants within a 15 minute walk and Brasserie Georges is very nearby. This is a simple two star the delivers value for money and a no-frills, pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wrightone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Carnot - Gailleton
Hotelo
Hotelo
#3 of 195 in Lyon
291 reviews
Perrache - Charlemagne
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#93 of 195 in Lyon
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Carnot - Gailleton
Hotel des Savoies Lyon
Hotel des Savoies Lyon
#59 of 195 in Lyon
387 reviews
Hotel Alexandra
#33 of 195 in Lyon
673 reviews
HOTEL DU DAUPHIN
#140 of 195 in Lyon
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Simplon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Simplon

Property: Hotel du Simplon
Address: 11 rue Duhamel, 69002, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Carnot - Gailleton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Lyon
#39 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Simplon 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Simplon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Simplon Hotel
Du Simplon Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing