We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deserves to be higher up the ratings - very good for the price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Simplon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel du Simplon
Ranked #57 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Deserves to be higher up the ratings - very good for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Having stayed in another hotel in Lyon of similar price and with a higher ranking on trip advisor - I was a bit mystified. The location is first rate - very handy for Perrache station but none of the seediness of some locations nearby - and very short walk into the heart of Lyon. The downstairs has much old world charm - and real style - and rooms are good too. It may not get a five blobs rating from me - but in its price range definitely deserves to be near the top of the four blob hotels. Would have no hesitation in recommending it - and simply don't understand some of the poor reviews for this hotel. Lyon is not awash with good low cost hotels - but this, in my book, is certainly one.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tomaso38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    179
    50
    15
    12
See reviews for
49
141
39
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Typically French, simple, clean & well appointed rooms. Good value breakfast, very friendly & helpful staff. Excellent location close to Gare Perrache which made journey from airport smile & straightforward. Handy for all sights. Would recommend.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
189 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Me and a friend needed a place to sleep on our way to Spain and found this nice hotel by coincidence. the room was ok, but not the most comfortable bed. For one night it was ok, but I would not stay here for a week.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eivind S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

This 2 * hotel is well located, close to Gare Perrache and a 10/15 min walk to Place Bellcouer. Spotlessly clean, friendly and welcoming staff and a good nights sleep in comfy beds. Our 'superior ' room was quite basic but contained all we needed. No tea/coffee facilities in the room however. Breakfast was €9 each and was adequate, but there are plenty of boulangeries and cafés close by.
The area is close to the station so we did experience a few tramps in the square on the way to the hotel. Don't let this put you off though; it's still a decent area and the hotel is well protected with CCTV cameras. We enjoyed our stay and found the hotel very good value for money.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ahj1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yerevan, Armenia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my colleagues when we were in Lyon for a conference. Location of the hotel is great, there are many shops around, while the hotel itself is in comparably calm place. Hotel staff is very polite and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RomHovs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorestown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

Great location! Only few blocks from Place Bellecour. Nearest metro stations 1 block away and 1 block from Perrache train station. Very clean and cozy. Great water pressure and temperature in the shower. Wifi connection strong. Great value for the location. Our bathroom did not have mold and was very clean. The bed was very comfortable and amazing pillows.

Regarding size of the rooms - yes it was very small, but this is typical of many European hotels I've stayed in. So I was not expecting a huge room without a huge cost. I didn't eat their breakfast - much more fun going to local Boulangerie for pastry.

Many shops, restaurants, grocery store nearby.

Would be nice if free continental breakfast was included, just in case. No elevator (but this is also typical in small European hotels.)

Some of the staff were very nice, others seemed indifferent. But this did not hamper our experience.

Room Tip: The rooms are small - if you're expecting large American size rooms, this is not the place for y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hajworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, MN
Level Contributor
163 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Only a couple of blocks from the Lyon train station, this hotel is a good accommodation. Our room was a corner oneon floor 2 and, while there was street noise mid-evening, it was quiet at night. The room was clean and comfortable; beds slept well. One item that could be addressed is mold on some of shower tiles. Staff nice and helpful. Did not do breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Carnot - Gailleton
Hotelo
Hotelo
#6 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Perrache - Charlemagne
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#93 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Elysee Hotel
#64 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Carnot - Gailleton
Hotel des Savoies Lyon
Hotel des Savoies Lyon
#63 of 193 in Lyon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Hotel Alexandra
#31 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Simplon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Simplon

Property: Hotel du Simplon
Address: 11 rue Duhamel, 69002, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Carnot - Gailleton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Lyon
#25 Family Hotel in Lyon
#39 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Simplon 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel du Simplon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Simplon Hotel
Du Simplon Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing