We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“simple but adequate”
Review of Hotel du Simplon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel du Simplon
Ranked #55 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
226 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“simple but adequate”
Reviewed 14 November 2009

Hotel Du Simplon is a simple but adequate hotel near the Perrache train station. It is within half an hour walk from the main sights in Lyon. Pubs and restaurants are close by. Hotel du Simplon is a typical two star hotel in a city. Tiny rooms and bathrooms. Bedlinen was never changed during a stay for four nights and the floor was never cleaned as well. After four nights, it was quite dirty. The housmaid just made up the bed, changed the toiletries and that was it. She must not have spend more than two minutes every morning in the room. The building is old, so there is some noise and creacking floorboards. But the staff at reception was friendly enough although they only spoke French, but that is not unusual in France. The hotel was cheap enough, so expections were low and were met. Breakfast was €6 per person per night extra and included bread, marmalade, coffe, tea and juice. If you visit Lyon and don't want to spend much money on a simple hotel, Du Simplon is worth checking out. If you want a large and clean room, you'd better stay away.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will de d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    184
    50
    15
    12
See reviews for
52
142
40
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Derbyshire, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2009

We stayed 4 nights at Hotel du Simplon towards the end of August 2009.

We had booked by email, and had confirmation, a 'Comfort' room with a bath.
On our arrival late in the evening we were given a room(32) with no bath but shower only.
The lady in reception spoke even less English that my minimal French and we decided to sort it out in the morning.
Room 32 was almost certainly the smallest room we have stayed in, the previous record held by the B&B in Couquelles, but the bedroom and bathroom(?) were very clean, tidy and the double bed was ok.

The following morning the management allocated us a room(29) with a bath.
This room was slightly bigger than the first room. but less than 6' wide and about 14' long, and still no space to swing a cat!
The bedroom had telephone, Tv, one chair, one small bedside table, one larger table and wardrobe cupboard.
The bathroom was also clean and tidy.
A Hair dryer could be obtained by asking at reception.

Breakfast consisted of a piece baguette, a croissant, ample butter and conserves, glass of orange juice and a hot drink. Service was good and we were asked if we would like any extra drinks or food.

The Staff were more than helpful, polite and we were able to leave our luggage in reception after checking out for some hours until the time of our train departure.

During our visit to Lyon it was very hot during both the day and night.
This meant the windows had to be left wide open at night to try and cool the room down.
Unfortunately this meant that voicesand sounds from other rooms could be heard and we were woken in the early hours numerous times during our stay by voices (in many different languages), someone playing a guitar, singing and even crockery being moved around.
Disturbed sleep was certainly a problem.

The hotel is easily accessible from Parrache rail and Metro stations and the Tramway system which are all about 200 metres away.

There are some bars and restaurants locally but there are many more eating establishments about ten to fifteen minutes walk away on, or near, Rue Bellecourdiere close to Place Bellecour. If you don't fancy walking then the Metro wiil get you there quicker and also take you across the river to the multitude of restaurants in the Old Town. So many choices - so little time.

One worrying aspect of our stay was when we noticed the the downstairs lounge area ceiling was being supported by two acrow props and a sturdy wooden plank. The props were covered in coloured paper to conceal their identity and another prop was similarly disguised on the first floor landing. The props do not feature on the hotel's advertising 'leaflet'.

If I went to Lyon again during the summer months I wouldn't stay at this hotel but I would try to stay at a hotel with air conditioning - although it is easily accessible from the rail station and great for a one night stay if you don't mind noisy neighbours.

When we left the hotel the sign 'Complet' was fastened to the hotel main door - so most guests seem to be happy with the hotel and its ammenities.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KeithChesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2009

We stayed in Lyon for 3 nights on our way around France and were really glad we chose Hotel Simplon, our welcome was friendly and helpful. The room small but beautifully decorated and equipped with digital/internet tv. We didn't have far to carry luggage from nearby Perrache station and it is close to metro to get to other rail station too.

We had breakfast on the day we left and found it simple but filling, great hot chocolate!

We loved the decor and artifacts around the house, cherries in all forms, quirky pictures giving the reception areas a lovely homely and relaxing feel. We often use Ibis hotels in France to keep costs down but Simplon was cheaper and offered so much more, come, stay here!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birminghamguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estonia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2009

Spent 3 nights at hotel du Simplon and was very pleased. Staff was very helpful and nice - a big thing in a French hotel. The hotel itself is cosy, rooms are ok, though small but I suppose there aren't many who would stay in a hotel all day. The location of the hotel is great. It is 5 min walk to Perrach train, metro and tram station. Lyon is not that big and city centre is about 15-20 min walk. If you happen to stay in the hotel on Sunday then there is a nice market at the nearby square on Sunday mornings. There is no point to take breakfast at the hotel as there are lots of small nice local cafes around the coner where you can have the same breakfast for less.
The only negative thing - there were mosquitos. So take mosquito repellent with you just in case!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauriKuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2009

If you are looking for an inexpensive place to stay in Lyon this is the place to stay.
Our room was spotless and had a great bed. Yes, the bathroom is small but serves it serves its purpose very well. Don't be fool by the low pirces of the room. This place is worth a lot more.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SailawayNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2009

The hotel is within a short walk of Perrache train station, so getting there from the airport is very straightforward.

Reception efficient, rooms clean but compact, shower pressure excellent even on the 3rd floor and the hot water was hot and the cold water cold. No aircon, but windows open fully and there are shutters to keep the sun out.

We had a great stay for a couple of nights and would happily go back - for us, great value for the price.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mr_gimlet13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Carnot - Gailleton
Hotelo
Hotelo
#5 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Perrache - Charlemagne
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#94 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Elysee Hotel
#66 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Carnot - Gailleton
Hotel des Savoies Lyon
Hotel des Savoies Lyon
#63 of 193 in Lyon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Hotel Alexandra
#33 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Simplon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Simplon

Property: Hotel du Simplon
Address: 11 rue Duhamel, 69002, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Carnot - Gailleton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Lyon
#25 Family Hotel in Lyon
#39 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Simplon 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel du Simplon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Simplon Hotel
Du Simplon Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing