We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money on the edge of the heart of Lyon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Simplon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel du Simplon
Ranked #57 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Grafton, Australia
Level Contributor
315 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money on the edge of the heart of Lyon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2010

We stayed here for five nights in April on the basis of other reviewers and were not disappointed. The hotel owns some parking spots nearby and our car was left undercover for a competitive price. A small but well maintained room with what appeared to be a recently renovated bathroom, friendly and efficient service, good advice on local restaurants and an excellent location. Easy access to public transport and an interesting part of town. I left an Australian/French power point adaptor in the room so with luck if you are from Australia and have left yours at home you will be able to get one on loan. A good hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GraftonRiverguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    179
    50
    15
    12
See reviews for
49
141
39
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2010

I have just returned to London after spending 3 nights in Lyon at the Hotel du Simplon and I was very pleased with everything. All staff, without exception, were very friendly and went out of their way to assist. I had already done research and selected the hotel based on previous Trip Advisor reviews which were mainly positive and I was not disappointed.

I was a solo female traveller but I felt safe in the hotel at all times. It's close proximity to Lyon-Perrache station was a huge bonus - I was in my hotel room 5 minutes after exiting the station! The hotel is close to Old Lyon and other attractions and is open all the time, well lit at night.

The room was tiny and my room didn't have a particularly great view but it was more than adequate for a 3 night stay. The room was also very neat and well laid out.

Another slight negative was the size of the shower - I'm a UK size 16-18 and could just about fit in the shower (although I couldn't avoid banging my arms on the walls). If someone is very large (ie UK size 20+) then they might struggle to fit in the shower.

The breakfast was €6.20 for filter coffee, glass of orange juice and selection of breads (baguette, croissant, brioche) with butter and selection of jams and honey and you could get a refill on the coffee. Just the type of breakfast I like but may not suit all tastes. Loads of eating establishments around and supermarkets so you don't have to opt for the breakfast supplied by the hotel. I'm not sure but I don't think lunch and dinner were catered for but why would you want to spend time in the hotel for lunch or dinner when you have great restaurants and cafes all around!

I would however not hesitate to recommend the hotel and would definitely stay there again if I visit Lyon. It's great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soleil058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2010

We received an excellent welcome from Mme Alix Revercheron, the ownwer/proprietor, and liked the ambience of the breakfast room, reception and sitting areas. The bedroom was a bit tight but had a very comfortable double bed. Superb, spaceous en suite with a very good shower.

Don't be put off by the outside appearance in the narrow rue Duhamel. Free WiFi but had to wait for the login page sometimes. Very near Perrache rail station and a Tram 1 stop, 5 minutes walk through the Place Carnot park. There's an excellent, small, "open all hours" shop opposite that is very useful. Good restaurants on 3 sides of the Place Carnot park

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arcadian222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2010

It was our absolute pleasure to stay at Hotel Simplon. A simple but friendly hotel in the 2nd arrondisement. We stayed in two rooms, both were very clean and comfortable with bath, tv and WiFi. The atmosphere in the hotel is very easy going and cozy and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Near Place Carnot, an excellent place to plan your day with a coffee, 15 minutes walk to the 1st Arrondissement and near train, tram and metro. It might not have the luxuries of 3/4 star hotels, but it makes up for it in homeliness.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GijsvW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2010

Was made very welcome. The room was adequate and the bathroom pleasant. Internet was actually the TV which was pretty good just had to get codes to access. Although the keyboard was french and kept reverting back to french when set to English. Also if catching the train be aware can catch train from Part Deiu to Perrache on the same ticket otherwise there is some long lines to wait to find out.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank europhileAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
225 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2009

Hotel Du Simplon is a simple but adequate hotel near the Perrache train station. It is within half an hour walk from the main sights in Lyon. Pubs and restaurants are close by. Hotel du Simplon is a typical two star hotel in a city. Tiny rooms and bathrooms. Bedlinen was never changed during a stay for four nights and the floor was never cleaned as well. After four nights, it was quite dirty. The housmaid just made up the bed, changed the toiletries and that was it. She must not have spend more than two minutes every morning in the room. The building is old, so there is some noise and creacking floorboards. But the staff at reception was friendly enough although they only spoke French, but that is not unusual in France. The hotel was cheap enough, so expections were low and were met. Breakfast was €6 per person per night extra and included bread, marmalade, coffe, tea and juice. If you visit Lyon and don't want to spend much money on a simple hotel, Du Simplon is worth checking out. If you want a large and clean room, you'd better stay away.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will de d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Derbyshire, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2009

We stayed 4 nights at Hotel du Simplon towards the end of August 2009.

We had booked by email, and had confirmation, a 'Comfort' room with a bath.
On our arrival late in the evening we were given a room(32) with no bath but shower only.
The lady in reception spoke even less English that my minimal French and we decided to sort it out in the morning.
Room 32 was almost certainly the smallest room we have stayed in, the previous record held by the B&B in Couquelles, but the bedroom and bathroom(?) were very clean, tidy and the double bed was ok.

The following morning the management allocated us a room(29) with a bath.
This room was slightly bigger than the first room. but less than 6' wide and about 14' long, and still no space to swing a cat!
The bedroom had telephone, Tv, one chair, one small bedside table, one larger table and wardrobe cupboard.
The bathroom was also clean and tidy.
A Hair dryer could be obtained by asking at reception.

Breakfast consisted of a piece baguette, a croissant, ample butter and conserves, glass of orange juice and a hot drink. Service was good and we were asked if we would like any extra drinks or food.

The Staff were more than helpful, polite and we were able to leave our luggage in reception after checking out for some hours until the time of our train departure.

During our visit to Lyon it was very hot during both the day and night.
This meant the windows had to be left wide open at night to try and cool the room down.
Unfortunately this meant that voicesand sounds from other rooms could be heard and we were woken in the early hours numerous times during our stay by voices (in many different languages), someone playing a guitar, singing and even crockery being moved around.
Disturbed sleep was certainly a problem.

The hotel is easily accessible from Parrache rail and Metro stations and the Tramway system which are all about 200 metres away.

There are some bars and restaurants locally but there are many more eating establishments about ten to fifteen minutes walk away on, or near, Rue Bellecourdiere close to Place Bellecour. If you don't fancy walking then the Metro wiil get you there quicker and also take you across the river to the multitude of restaurants in the Old Town. So many choices - so little time.

One worrying aspect of our stay was when we noticed the the downstairs lounge area ceiling was being supported by two acrow props and a sturdy wooden plank. The props were covered in coloured paper to conceal their identity and another prop was similarly disguised on the first floor landing. The props do not feature on the hotel's advertising 'leaflet'.

If I went to Lyon again during the summer months I wouldn't stay at this hotel but I would try to stay at a hotel with air conditioning - although it is easily accessible from the rail station and great for a one night stay if you don't mind noisy neighbours.

When we left the hotel the sign 'Complet' was fastened to the hotel main door - so most guests seem to be happy with the hotel and its ammenities.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KeithChesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Carnot - Gailleton
Hotelo
Hotelo
#5 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Perrache - Charlemagne
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#94 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Elysee Hotel
#69 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Carnot - Gailleton
Hotel des Savoies Lyon
Hotel des Savoies Lyon
#62 of 193 in Lyon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Hotel Alexandra
#32 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Simplon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Simplon

Property: Hotel du Simplon
Address: 11 rue Duhamel, 69002, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Carnot - Gailleton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Lyon
#39 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Simplon 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Simplon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Simplon Hotel
Du Simplon Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing