We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In the heart of Lyon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel des Terreaux
Ranked #22 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Brunswick, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“In the heart of Lyon”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

A perfect base for those who wish to spend a couple of days exploring Lyon. Thats exactly what we did! The reception staff were really helpful, breakfasts were good and the hotel bar next to reception was a terrific place for a drink before dinner. We would use this hotel again for another short stay in Lyon

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francophilestwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    197
    55
    9
    5
See reviews for
41
248
35
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

A good solid hotel.
Pros:
* Clean and quiet hotel.
* Very good, central location
* Friendly staff on the front desk, good at recommending restaurants and making reservations
Cons:
* We had a room facing the internal vent/light well. The room had very little natural light, though we only noticed this in the morning as we didn't spend time in the room during the day.
* The swimming pool is timy and yes, it is located in the dining room. Do not bother using it.
* The shower in the bathroom had only average pressure, which was disappointing.

Room Tip: Do not opt for a room facing the internal light well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank pureicon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This hotel was our first stop in France and turned out to be an excellent choice.Located very centrally on the island it is within easy walking distance of the main shopping ,food area and attractions.
Staff were very friendly and accommodating.
Room was small but comfortable and importantly quiet after our 40 hour trip from Australia.
Breakfast was not expensive with a good selection to satisfy all tastes.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Terrific location, very good hotel. Professional staff and well sized rooms.
Only downside - the lift is slow during busy periods.
The restaurant on the side street opposite is worth a look.
You have the sights of Lyon on your doorstop.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank quarterj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

There are three main areas in Lyon which would be attractive to any visitor to that wonderful city.

There is the old town - probably a little short on accommodation, but extremely charming all the same.

There is the area around the square where a lot of the ritzy shops are located - and with it a number of the bigger international hotels.

And there are the grand terraces, located close to the Opera. This is the area where this hotel is located and as such, it's in a very vibrant and interesting part of town.

I was pleased I stayed in that part of Lyon and happy I chose this hotel. The staff were multi-lingual and exceptionally helpful (and patient with our pigeon French). The room we had overlooked the street - which I really enjoyed - but was typically French in that it was quite pokey but the bathroom was spacious and quite lovely.

There is a breakfast room, although we didn't have breakfast in the hotel so I cannot comment on that. Within the breakfast room there is an indoor swimming pool and sauna which is a kind of weird set up, but doesn't detract any from the hotel, its staff and its excellent location (the pool opens after breakfast finishes).

In sum, close to all the major attractions, easily accessible to the train station via a taxi and staff who will make your stay interesting and pleasant. Do it. Book now.

Room Tip: If space is a priority, pay a little extra for one of the larger rooms which overlook the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PoidaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Firstly, the location, location and location!
Nice rooms, design of each room is individual.
Very friendly staff - we allowed for breakfast, although officially ended in time for him :)
As for the breakfast - in my opinion, he was more than diverse. I just have to compare it with.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sorellamaggiore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

The hotel is nice, clean and the staff is helpful. The location is indeed very good, just around the corner of place de Terreaux. It doesn't have a private parking, Parking de Terreaux is 3 mins. away but it will cost around 30 eur for 24 hours. The room we've got was a bit outdated but big with a big bathroom but dark and a bit claustrophobic with the windows looking to a tiny inner court.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Surfer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Hotel Silky by HappyCulture
Cour des Loges
#10 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Hotel des Celestins
#15 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Molière - Edgard Quinet
Okko Hotels Lyon Pont Lafayette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel des Terreaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel des Terreaux

Property: Grand Hotel des Terreaux
Address: 16 rue Lanterne, 69001, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#16 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#24 Family Hotel in Lyon
#26 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel des Terreaux 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the UNESCO World Heritage Site, LE GRAND HOTEL DES TERREAUX is one of Lyon’s oldest hotels. It combines the atmosphere of an old-fashioned 19th century town house with a daringly modern, innovative design. Every detail shows the personality of this place which is brought to life by the passion of its staff and the soul of its Guests. This lovely hotel enjoys a prime location on the peninsula, not far from the Lyon Opera House and the Théatre des Célestins, just on the edge of the historic centre of Lyon with its many bistro-style restaurants (known locally as ‘bouchons’), and a stone’s throw from the Place des Terreaux and the Musée des Beaux-Arts. As you will see from our guest book, we have had the privilege of welcoming a number of very famous guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel des Terreaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing