We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel in good location - real value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel de la Croix Rousse
Ranked #148 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed in lyon for three nights with our two dogs. The staff were really friendly and helpful and made us all feel very welcome. Decor was lovely in the rooms, reception and breakfast room. A little tired in the corridors but that's hardly a big deal. The rooms are quite small, but they have everything you need, including a hair dryer. The location is good. There's a lovely market outside the hotel and loads of restaurants cafés in the local, yet it was very quiet at night. Great for a short city break in lyon. Would definitely stay here again if we are in lyon. Really fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Herts67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
croixrousse, Propriétaire at Hotel de la Croix Rousse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014
Google Translation

Merci pour votre avis...vos mots récompensent le travail de toute une équipe qui fait tout au long de l'année son possible pour vous satisfaire !!!
Au plaisir de vous revoir.

ANSELME Joanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

We were visiting my niece in Rillieux-la-Pape and Initially planned to stay 3 nights. We left after the first night because of the very miserable status of the room and surroundings.
Not sure this hotel is respecting the safety standards. No problem to get our deposit back. Reception desk OK. We changed for the IBIS.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms at the top of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Michel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
croixrousse, Propriétaire at Hotel de la Croix Rousse, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014
Google Translation

Bonjour,
Sachez que les normes de sécurité sont parfaitement respectées et ce avec beaucoup de sérieux et de rigueur : il est grave de faire de telles accusations.
Pour rappel, vous occupiez une chambre au 5ème étage, entièrement réstauré en Août 2010 avec balcon et vue sur la ville: Le tout à 50€ !!!
Avec un titre comme " never again" nous nous reservons le droit d'engager des poursuites judiciaires.
Il est trop facile de saboter en quelques lignes, le travail de toute une équipe!
Il y a peu, un restaurateur du Cap Ferret a gagné un procès contre l'auteur d'un avis similaire au vôtre, ce dernier ayant été condamné à verser 1500€ de dommages et intérêts.
ANSELME Joanne

Hello there,
Be aware that safety standards are fully respected and that very seriously and rigor: it is serious to make such accusations.
Remember, you were a room on the 5th floor, fully renovated in August 2010 with a balcony and views of the city: The whole 50 €!
With a title like "never again" we reserve the right to prosecute.
It is too easy to sabotage a few lines, the work of a team!
There is little, a restorer of Cap Ferret won a lawsuit against the author of an opinion similar to yours, the latter having been ordered to pay € 1500 in damages.
ANSELME Joanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We chose this hotel because we were visiting relatives who lived around the corner. The next time we go back to Lyon, we will stay elsewhere and take the metro if needed. The hotel is very, very basic. The only thing good about it is the price. We were told it had been recently renovated. They should have done more. The portable airconditioning unit was not attached to the vent in the wall and did not work. The street was too noisy to keep the window open at night as there are restaurants and pubs nearby. No ventilation! We found snot in our sheets -- disgusting! The towels were grey. Look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MtnBrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Great location for ease of getting to Opera Lyon. Quiet but near bars and restaurants. Helpful, friendly staff. Basic continental beakfast, but nice artisan boulangerie nearby with great cakes and sandwiches.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We picked this place because we were on a tight budget and this place was the closest to the center of town for a reasonable price.

It wasn't amazing, but we were happy with it overall. The location was the best thing. From the hotel walking it takes about 15 minutes to get into the center of town. There is a busy and nicely groomed walking area down into town with a great view over the city. Just note however, this part of town including the hotel is on a high hill over the main part of Lyon. To get back to the hotel from town it's a steep uphill climb for about 10 minutes. We are in our 20s though so this was fine for us.

The hotel itself was nice enough. The staff was very friendly and spent time giving us directions to various places in town. They were happy to print out directions or maps for us too, which helped a lot.

Our first night the room was okay but every time we walked in there was this smell that I can only describe as sewage. The room was clean and there was no obvious source of the smell. When we opened the window and aired it out it was okay, but the smell would come back. Because of this we asked to change rooms the second night, and they were very nice and let us change rooms. That room smelled fine and was a slight upgrade from our previous room.

Both nights our window faced the street and had a nice view of Lyon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristyLee56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My husband and I were pleased to have found a hotel in a completely untouristy neighborhood. It's two minutes to the nearest subway station, so we were able to get around Lyon (on a metro day-pass) with ease. There were some difficulties that were not exactly the hotel's fault, but they could have been a bit more sympathetic to a mature couple. Since there was work being done in the street directly in front of the hotel, there was no place to stop with the car and unload luggage, nor could we reload the car easily at the end of our stay. Dragging luggage is hard to deal with at our more advanced ages. In addition, due to the street work, the hotel's credit card machine did not work. We had no choice but to pay for our stay with cash. Needless to say, what cash we had changed was money we had earmarked for other purposes.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank buziana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We have been visiting Lyon for years and have stayed in many of its hotels. On this trip we stayed in this and two other hotels on our way to and from the south. The room prices were 69 (Chartres), 74 (Lyon) and 150 Euros (Fontainbleau). The Croix Rousse was far superior to the hotel in Chartres, and the advantages of the hotel in Fontainebleau did not justify the considerable price-hike. The Croix Rousse district is one of the most interesting and lively areas of Lyon, but if it is your first time in Lyon you will want to stay somewhere nearer the centre - Croix Rousse is perched at the top of a hill and it is a long walk down to the centre (and even further back up). I dissent from the reviewer who says it is perfectly possible to park on the street - finding anywhere to park in Lyon is a nightmare, and in Croix Rousse they have a street market where the stallholders will not be pleased to find your car in their way. Also it should be mentioned that the hotel's car parking facilities are some distance away. But you will find the hotel staff courteous, friendly and Anglophone, and the hotel's facilities clean and modern.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Terreaux - Bat D'argent
Hotel De Paris
Hotel De Paris
#151 of 194 in Lyon
124 reviews
Hotel ParkSaone
#34 of 194 in Lyon
71 reviews
Hotel La Residence
#41 of 194 in Lyon
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Croix Rousse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Croix Rousse

Address: 157 boulevard de la Croix Rousse, 69004, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range: £45 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de la Croix Rousse 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de la Croix Rousse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing