We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place, enjoyed my stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Auberge de Jeunesse de Vieux Lyon
Ranked #32 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Lyon
Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good place, enjoyed my stay”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I stayed here for 4 days while in Lyon and enjoyed it. the location isent bad only being 10min from the city center and only 2min from the old town though that steep hill up to the hostel can be a bother climbing each night. the Wi-fi is very good with no problems even when a lot were using it. Breakfast each morning was ok though the options were limited with just cereal (3 options), bread rolls and a coffee dispenser.
security wasn't too much of an issue. a baggage room is provided for everyone's bag and more secure lockers with keys though you must pay €2 for each time you use them. the dorm rooms and beds were fine though those top bunks are a bit awkward to climb up. overall i fine place to stay with good value for money i would recommend it to any others staying in Lyon while on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    32
    37
    16
    26
See reviews for
4
4
51
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
160 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

My experiences were positive: I found the staff quite friendly, the dormitory bed was comfortable enough and the room not crowded, the bathrooms were fine, and I loved the hostel's location. The views from the dormitory window and from the outdoors area where I enjoyed the breakfast included in the tariff were amazing. I had no problems walking up the big hill, but if you have a lot to carry, then I'd recommend taking the funicular to Minimes station and walking down a short distance. I also enjoyed being so close to the Roman Theatre and to the Fourvière basilica.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanberraSteve38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

This hostel is fine as a place to sleep for a night, however, there's not much more to it than that. The rooms and bathrooms are basic, and not all that clean. Breakfast (juice, tea/coffee, cereal, bread, jam etc) is included in the price which is a positive. There is a communal dining/bar area, as well as a few chairs in the "panoramic room" but there is no real comfortable place to relax and hang out in. The outdoor courtyard area has a fantastic view over the city and would be a wonderful place to sit on a sunny day/evening. It is a bit of a trek up the hill to the hostel, but there is a funicular which you can take, and then walk the final part downhill (handy for when you arrive with luggage). The kitchen is only open at certain times and is very small, but at least it is possible to cook your own meals. The staff were all very friendly and there are good facilities available, like free wi-fi, laundry and a safe to store valuables.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m_a_pepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

This hostel was the only possible place to stay for a solo traveller on a budget within the entire city! Craziness. Thankfully I was driven to Lyon so I didn't have to trek the massive hike or take a very expensive cab (they're soooo expensive there!) Then there's also the massive HILL that it sits upon. However, in saying that there is an amazing view from the courtyard that overlooks the entirety of Lyon. On sunny days it's awesome. Sadly I only had one afternoon of sun with the remainder in rain. Each time you wanted to do anything in Lyon you had to remind yourself you had to walk back up the hill. It's definitely a trek when you have luggage or even groceries.

I cooked in the kitchen they provided, which is basically an annex from the reception. While this is good in case you leave your food and the pot overflows, it is cramped and there is no where to store your food. Thus of course some of mine was stolen as the bench top was the only place. The fridge was huge, thankfully.

There was no really place to lounge, just lots of tables and chairs (all uncomfortable) to serve breakfast. And if you want to stay there afterwards you're told to move upstairs to the similarly dull mezzanine.

Perhaps my time there was dismal because of the people there. They were all miserable (undoubtedly because of the rain) and their ages ranged vastly!! Some people who live in Lyon just stay there occasionally??? It was bizarre.

A massive pro was the laundry. It was only 3 euros in total to do both the washing and drying. And if it hadn't dried the reception would give you another coin to dry it again, free!

Room Tip: Ask for a room furthest away from the reception. They play randomly loud music until 10pm that you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenayyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oban
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

This is the ONLY hostel in the amazing city of Lyon, and such a shame. After walking up the big steep hill with my suitcase I was greeted with 'didn't you know about the finicular' No I didn't, that should be in the confirmation email. the staff were polite though and gave me a glass of water. Then i walked to the corridor my room was on and was greeted with the smell of urine. The rooms were comfortable but reading lights for bottom bunks only, the noise the sink made from the bathroom next door was like a jackhammer, the plumbing really needs to be sorted as it is very noisy and there is no temperature control, cold showers one day, boiling hot the next. Music in the bar was played till midnight meaning those of us who needed sleep had to use earplugs. There was no bin or sink in the WC and no soap at the sinks in the rooms meaning girls may have a problem at certain times and you can't wash your hands. the free breakfast is not worth bothering with. when taking off my sheets before leaving i found stains on the matress. the kitchen is way to small for a hostel that size.

On the plus side the staff were helpful and polite, the view is stunning and there was a very sociable atmosphere. Overall bring earplugs, Purell and your own cleaning suplies and you should be ok!

Room Tip: Bring earplugs, Purell and toilet cleaner! Also use the Finicular if you have big bags
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwyn31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lyon hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Yes the view was fantastic from the hostel, and it was nicely situated in Vieux Lyon, close to some fabulous ruined Roman theatres. Reception was a bit icy, and I was shocked to discover the hostel would only sell me a towel and even then they had run out! Met some nice people here in the wifi area on the ground floor, but my room (5) was adjacent to the shower and the racket that went on woke my entire room up at 6am when someone used it. Unfortunately the water only runs for ten seconds and you have to press it again to make it come back... Several times... Fine for a night like mine but no more.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank immicatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

This hostel is a surprise for those wanting something different. I traveled for three weeks alone and felt that hotels were just too lonely for me. So I tried youth hostels. They are noisy, busy but exciting places. I found people to eat out with and chat to. The view from this hostel is spectacular. It is set high up on the scarp in Lyon on a street named Montee du Chemin Neuf and is quite a hike, or there is a funicular if you are not up to a climb. The place is busy and the rooms quite full in November even. The place is not as clean as an hotel but it is acceptable. Lyon is a real gem to visit. Most staff are good but some disrespect you if you have little French.

Room Tip: There are rooms of six or twelve I think and slight price difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnontwowheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Vieux Lyon - Quarantaine
Mon Hotel Particulier
Mon Hotel Particulier
#75 of 194 in Lyon
124 reviews
Vieux Lyon - Quarantaine
La Tour Rose
La Tour Rose
#170 of 194 in Lyon
124 reviews
Hotel des Celestins
#16 of 194 in Lyon
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Suites Lyon Est Eurexpo
#4 of 10 in Saint-Priest
140 reviews
Ho36 Hostel
#5 of 57 in Lyon
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de Jeunesse de Vieux Lyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de Jeunesse de Vieux Lyon

Property: Auberge de Jeunesse de Vieux Lyon
Address: 41 Montee du chemin Neuf, 69005, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Vieux Lyon - Quarantaine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Lyon
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Auberge De Jeunesse De Vieux Lyon Hotel Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing