We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not 4 Stars. Location not as convenient as I hoped.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Foch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Foch
Ranked #123 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
166 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Not 4 Stars. Location not as convenient as I hoped.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

The lobby is dark. Floor is filthy. The elevator is small, and dirty. The receptionist is nice. He worked all night and was happy to help -- but could not provide what I needed (i.e. adapter). He was unable to provide a zero balance receipt (which I need for expense reporting). It is a 20 min walk to old town. In the future, I will just stay in old town because I kept walking back & forth constantly. It was a low rate, 84 euro, but the room was really dark and sad, there is no lobby, just table & chairs, and it was really uncomfortable sitting in the reception area with the hotel manager there watching soccer. I had to no place to go -- but outside and walk around.

Room Tip: I was in room #6. it was quite, but the view was onto a filthy courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max98116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilie V, Responsable réception at Hotel Foch, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
Dear Madam, Sir,
We thank you for taking the time to leave a comment. As you saw, our building is atypical as we are surrounded by residential apartments.
The building (style Haussmanien) has a Lyonnais touch and we do our possible to clean (as it is done regularly); therefore Hotel Foch is sorry to realize that it was not the case the day of your arrival.
As for the receptionist, we were able to train him thoroughly ; from now on, he will be able to give a zero receipt balance as well as an adaptor.
Hotel Foch will be pleased to welcome you for your next visit in Lyon and do not hesitate to ask for a room on Avenue Foch.
Our hotel is located in the prestigious and calm neighborhood of Lyon; 20 minutes walking to the Old Town (Vieux Lyon) and its surroundings (bars, pubs, clubs,…).
We hope to welcome you soon at Hotel Foch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    53
    14
    5
    10
See reviews for
14
44
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brescia, Italy
Level Contributor
194 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

The hotel is located not far from the city center. It is inside a nice apartment, just at the second floor of the building. The receptionist is very helpful and always at your disposal for any further needs. I particularly appreciated the security procedure of the hotel: they made a friend of us leave her finger prints on an electronic device, so that if we had to come back after midnight, the door would have opened only with the presence of our friend. The rooms are a bit small but however not bad for the rate of the room. The quality of the sleep is good, as much as the bathroom, complete with hair dryer, bathrobe and towels. The breakfast is not included in the rate we purchased but I wouldn’t however have paid for that, since it looked really poor, but as I didn’t have breakfast there my judgment and impression might be wrong.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lalla9017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilie V, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Foch, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear Lalla,
It's true that we are really well situated in Lyon .
We do our best to make ou customers feel confortable.
We try to offer the best breakfast with, ham, cheeses ; cereales; fresh fruits,fruits salad, fresh croissant, bread....
We will listen to your advise and try to improve again.
Best Regards,
Emilie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami,FL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

This hotel was convenient to get to from the train station as it was a block from a metro stop and about a 15-20 minute walk across the bridge to the old town. Next door is a coffee shop and a grocery store, restaurants, and lots of retail are nearby. Our room was not ready for an early check in so we had to leave our luggage out in the lobby while we explored the area.The decor has a Victorian vibe- lots of doilies and old style furniture with faded plastic flowers but clean and well maintained. There's a large comfy sitting area upstairs . Our room was spacious & overlooked the street with a balcony. Two twin beds were pushed together for 2 of us and an added cot for a 3rd bed. There was also a desk, small table & 2 chairs & an armoire. It wasn't noisy at night but if you want to sleep in in the morning, you may be bothered by morning traffic. There was good bedside lamps for reading but no overhead light which made the room dim in the grey winter light.The heat was not individually controlled but was set at a comfortable temperature. Wifi access was good. There was a flat screen TV but we didn't try it or the breakfast. The bathroom was updated. We were helped by 2 different people at the front desk; one was warm & friendly and the other was civil but reserved. Good value.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdrianaKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

The hotel is small, intimate, tastefully done, very clean. The rooms are decent size. The location is convenient - a very pleasant 20 min walk to the old town. The staff was extremely pleasant and very helpful. We were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PandaTraveler100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

Hotel was great location to Foch metro stop. Breakfast was available however there was great bakery & concienence store nearby that we used. There was room darkening shades on front rooms of hotel which was nice however it is on busy street so there is road noise. AC is available however they control temp so not super cool. We would stay there again was very clean & staff helpful.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

We stayed @ Hotel Foch for 6 days total - split into 2 different times and both times the hotel was very nice. It had larger rooms than most hotels-in fact we accommodations at another hotel & it was so small we changed to Hotel Foch. We did have trouble with the internet a couple days and to compensate for the inconvienence they offered breakfast to us. Only down fall was there was street noise as it is on a busy street. There was room darkening shades that came down which was really nice. There was a elevator to get up to lobby however, it is very small to US standards but a plus if you have luggage.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Marechal Lyautey - Vitton
Hotel au Patio Morand
Hotel au Patio Morand
#75 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Hotel Le Roosevelt
#53 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Molière - Edgard Quinet
Au Logis De Vendome
Au Logis De Vendome
#137 of 193 in Lyon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Tete d'or
#38 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Foch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Foch

Property: Hotel Foch
Address: 59 avenue Marechal Foch, 69006, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Marechal Lyautey - Vitton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Foch 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Foch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foch Hotel Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing