We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, nice location, good price”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Alexandra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Alexandra
Ranked #33 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Lovely hotel, nice location, good price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

I stayed for three nights in room 51. Room was immaculate, bed was comfy, bathroom was spacious and clean. Everything was newly renovated. My room might not be good for really tall people because there is a large wooden beam in the ceiling. Also, no view from the small window but that was fine with me because it made the room very quiet. Staff was helpful and spoke English well. Location is right on the pedestrian walkway of Rue Victor Hugo, so was very convenient. I ate breakfast from the little take-out stand called Paul, and that was delicious and cheap. Highly recommend this hotel; great value.

Room Tip: Fifth floor is quiet, but has low ceiling and small window. Maybe fourth floor would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    346
    86
    23
    17
See reviews for
68
331
23
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tostedt
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

The Hotel is in the pedestrian zone of Lyon, very quiet. Parking is directly in the courtyard of the Hotel. Hotel and Room were renovated and very nice. Reception staff very friendly, breakfast also very good.

Room Tip: All rooms are very quiet as Hotel is in the pedestrian zone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingeborg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in June and were really pleased. This place is all about location for the price and for the price we weren't expecting much. Considering other places we've stayed in France for the same price, this place seemed like luxury. We were given some restaurant recommendations by the friendly girl at the front desk and were shown to the room. The room was average to large for European standards (which means small) but very well appointed, it looked newly done and was very clean. We had an exeptionally large bathroom with a big shower and a separated toilet. I was aprehensive at first about having a room on the courtyard terrace as there were some noisy people outside, but once we closed the door to our room, it was complete silence which I was so grateful for. The bed was extra comfy and our AC worked great, kept the room nice and cool. We had a car with us and were charged 20 euro per day for parking which is pretty steep but we were only parking for one night so we went for it. We opted out of breakfast, which from the other reviews, seemed like a good idea and went to get some yummy pasterys from the shop down the road instead. The hotel also had free wifi. Can't say enough about the location. You are so close to great food and all the sights and a couple blocks to the main train station. Overall this place was a great value and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CB91910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

I stayed here for a night in June with my husband and found the heat unbearable in the room - we couldn't sleep. The AC didn't work and they couldn't transfer us to another room. We were in room 60 at the top of the building and whilst the room was newly renovated the lack of AC or breeze meant we had an awful night. Couldn't wait to leave.

There was no recompense for lack of sleep or AC.

Also do not get the breakfast - its a rip off.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jess_cat_ldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

We stayd one night in January in one of the renovated rooms at the balcony side. The room was quite nice and clean, a bit small but otherwise fine. The bed was really confortable and we slept really well. Location is very handy, everything is close by and all in all I think the hotel is good value.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suvi_Hel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2010

Convenient location right next to Metro, supermarket, McDonalds, Shopping, cafes and weekend market. Short walk to both riverfronts, the Saone and Rhine. Our room for four was a bit tight with an even tighter ensuite. Free wi-fi was a bonus. The staff were sort-of friendly but the lobby reeked of cigerette. Upstairs rooms can be bit of a climb. Car parking is essential as extremely hard to find on roads. Hotel parking though convenient is a rip-off at EUR20 per night.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amak4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2010

Rooms were small.

The breakfast (not included) was terrible. You got a mini youghurt, some dry slices of bread & one cupof coffee and it cost about 7 Euro. The room were you had breakfast was made for pygmées,it was so cramped!

The location is great though. And the staff was very friendly and nice.


I would recommend it beacuse of the location, the price of the room and the staff.
But don't have your Petit déjeuner (breakfast) here!

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ristorantegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Hotel La Residence
#36 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Hotel Silky by HappyCulture
Hotel des Celestins
#15 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Carnot - Gailleton
Hotelo
Hotelo
#5 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Hotel des Artistes
#31 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexandra

Property: Hotel Alexandra
Address: 49 rue Victor Hugo, 69002, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Lyon
#23 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#27 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#32 Family Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alexandra 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alexandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing