We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel trying to be something it isn't”
Review of Hotel Alexandra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Alexandra
Ranked #33 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel trying to be something it isn't”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This hotel is a redo of a prior old property in severe disrepair. It is now positioning itself as a 3 star hotel - but it absolutely is not. The staff are arrogant, and when you mention the wifi is not working - the reply is...Yes - we have problems. Really? The room sizes do not leave room for a person andluggage. The desk staff do not have time for the guests. The entrance is hidden, and my cab driver spent 20 minutes just looking for the tiny garage entrance that is also an entrance to the hotel. One very small elevator for the entire four floor hotel that works - sometimes. No help with luggage. Room was so dark I could not read. Television was 20 inches and of such poor quality that you could not decipher the screen. Towels are reminecent of Motel six in size and quality, no wash cloths, and one towel, shower is made for people the size of 10 year olds, no bathtub.....the ONLY thing this hotel has going for it is location - which I agree is convenient to downtown Lyon. Desk chair sunken in not comfortable. Pillows are shredded foam rubber. This facility should be MAYBE 2 stars at best. BEWARE!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandralyon, Responsable réception at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Madam,
Thank you for having shared your impression with our team further to your stay to the hotel Alexandra.
We are very conscious that your stay didn’t take place as you wished it, you desired a service deserving of a 5-star hotel, that we were not able to bring you. We had nevertheless specified it to you upon your arrival: that a 3-star hotel cannot bring the same services as those that you usually see frequently and we are saddened. Nevertheless, our team always makes its maximum to help our customers and make of their stay, a pleasant moment. We even brought you lamps to clear up your room, to propose drinks to refresh you, gone down your luggage during your departure up to the taxi; It shows our investments to help our customers.

To answer your remarks more exactly:

My night colleague, indicated you that the Wi-Fi worked badly, clumsiness from him, please excuse us for it because this one works correctly, he would have effectively had to look with you at the concern which appeared and you help, we did thus what's necessary with him.
As regards our panoramic elevator, it works perfectly, it’s necessary to wait for a few minutes, if other customers call it since floors so that it comes to you. But this one is spacious enough to welcome our customers and their luggage.
We suggest to our customers calling a taxi driver to their way, which comes to look for you at the foot of the hotel, but we aren't able to determining the influx on roads and thus delay which it can cause.
We are very surprised to hear that the bedding didn’t suit to you, our hotel was recently renewed and we changed entirely the bedding, which we carefully chose as its quality, on no account our pillows are rubber. Our bath towels are standard towels double thickness, know that in a motel, we are not certain that you have a comparable towel.
We thank you all the same for your remarks as well as for your stay.
Best Regards, the team of the hotel Alexandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    350
    88
    23
    17
See reviews for
67
334
24
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We reserved a 3 person room last minute & were very pleased with this choice. Walking distance to old town, friendly staff & clean rooms. An elevator which was a plus. Not a beautiful room but you shouldn't be spending a lot of time in your room in Lyon anyway! We had to park on the street - had to feed the meter until 6:00pm & then after 8:30 am but we only stayed for one night - might have different plans for those who stay longer - I'd ask at the desk. Overall we felt it was a great choice for our travel needs & would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caseycat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandralyon, Responsable réception at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear traveler,
Thank you for having shared your impressions with our team further to your stay to the hotel Alexandra.We are very happy to notice that you had a pleasant stay among us, that our desk clerk's team is up to your expectations to serve you as best possible. Our hotel is ideally situated in 5 minutes on foot by the famous place Bellecour and 10 minutes of old Lyon what allows the time of a day to walk without needing the car. To park you during 24 hours or more, you know that you can reserve our privative garage within the hotel or reserve a place in one of the parking lots nearby ( Perrache / Bellecour). By hoping to receive you again next time, and to make you have a stay.
The team of the Hotel Alexandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

On arrival the receptionist was really friendly and our room was clean and modern, although quite small, but I think that is the case for most city centre hotels.
The hotel itself is located in the pedestrian area, so is really central (They do have a car park which you have to drive through the pedestrian bit to get to!)
We spent a few hours exploring central Lyon on foot while we left the car at the hotel.
Definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandralyon, Responsable réception at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear traveler,
Thank you for having shared your impressions with our team further to your stay to the hotel Alexandra. We are happy to notice that the welcome of our team was up to your expectations, you know that we have in heart to make of our hotel a warm place and friendly.
By hoping to receive you again next time and to share with you our breakfast buffet "sweet and salted" with our specialities made home.
Best Regards,
The Team of the Hotel Alexandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We arrived quite late, there was a clerk at the desk who was utter unfriendly and very unhelpful. He never looked at us but only on his computer screen. Didn't help us with the luggage we had with us, so we had to walk to the reception twice to pick them up. All he wanted to know is if we wanted breakfast (so he could charge more) He asked us twice, once on the phone and once when we arrived.
After we left we had forgotten some chargers for our phones. When we called them up they were very unhelpful and didn't bother to check. All they said was 'we don't have them' and hung the phone up!
Very rude and unpleasant experience. We would definitely NOT recommend this hotel. There are far more nicer hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Zorg in ieder geval dat je een kamer aan de straatkant krijgt, daar kunnen de ramen open. De andere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NL K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandralyon, Responsable réception at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear traveler,
We are saddened to read your message and the conditions in which you were welcomed
you know that the welcome is essential and that we make every effort so that our front desk day and night is welcoming and available to make pleasant your stay.
We shall take the necessary measures so that it does not reproduce any more and we offer you one night in our hotel to offer you a better image of our hotel, we send you an email.
Sincerely Yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Stayed in Lyon for the weekend. Hotel is very close to the shopping street and their quaint little restos. It is great value for money for location and a no frills stay. If you are trying to woo your partner I would not recomend this hotel. However if its for a quick, practical, clean stay- its perfect. Parking under hotel is a brilliant plus too.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CazH83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandralyon, La reception at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Dear Sir,

We thank you for sharing your impressions after your stay at Hotel Alexandra.
We are pleased that our newly renovated hotel is able to meet your needs.


Thank you ,

We will be pleased to welcome you during a next stay in Lyon,

Kindly,
The Team of Hotel Alexandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mills, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Great position within walking distance of the old town, shops and Place Belcour. Car parking cost €26 per night but worth it. If you have booked the car park you can drive down the pedestrianised Rue De Victor Hugo to the hotel. The room we stayed in was adequate and had air con. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was very poor at €14 per person and well worth missing. You can get a coffee and croissant for €4 two doors down.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandralyon, reception at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear Sir,

We thank you for sharing your impressions after your stay at Hotel Alexandra.
We are pleased that our newly renovated hotel is able to meet your needs (air conditioning, decoration, position).
Our garage is a closed private garage, monitored by video surveillance and so you can be secure in your vehicle at night.

We have taken note of your impressions of the breakfast, and we will improve it. We are considering a new room and a new implementation that will showcase all the products we offer, sweet or savory.

Thank you ,

We will be pleased to welcome you during a next stay in Lyon,

Kindly,
The Team of Hotel Alexandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Location, price and facilities fantastic, beautifully designed though! Like half the hotels in France it is cramped, that is what makes French cities so vibrant, but I really applaud the designer of this hotel for creating a really chic little hotel which is a pleasure to stay in (and looking at some of the older traveller photos there was a long way to go!).

Well done everyone!

Room Tip: Lower floors at the front- the noise is moderate but the square is charming
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AntonyJBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandralyon, Responsable réception at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear Sir,

We thank you for sharing your impressions after your stay at Hotel Alexandra.

We are pleased to see that our newly renovated hotel was able to satisfy your wishes. And also, that our new decoration is considered as a success

Thank you Sir,

We will be pleased to welcome you during a next stay in Lyon,

Kindly,
The Team of Hotel Alexandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Hotel La Residence
#36 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Hotel Silky by HappyCulture
Hotel des Celestins
#15 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Carnot - Gailleton
Hotelo
Hotelo
#5 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Hotel des Artistes
#32 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexandra

Property: Hotel Alexandra
Address: 49 rue Victor Hugo, 69002, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Lyon
#23 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#27 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#32 Family Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alexandra 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alexandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing