We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel Alexandra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Alexandra
Ranked #33 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We were 5 friends and had the family room (there is only one).

Pros:
- location, straight on the shopping street and close to the main Bellecour square
- very quiet
- price, eur 200/night
- comfortable beds

Cons:
- no window
- rooms/bathroom quite small for 5pax
- very hot on the mezzanine (where the single bed is)
- had to ring the night bell 10 times before the guy open the door (he was probably sleeping...)

Overall still very positive and will try the family room (for 4pax and with windows)!

Gia

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandralyon, The front desk at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Travaler,

We thank you for writing this comment.
All of them are important for us.

We are really sorry about your waiting front of the Hôtel. Our night watchman was very busy and is also sorry about that.
We see all the same that you spent a good time here and hope to see you, maybe in separate rooms with windows, to be more comfortable.

Best regards,
The Hôtel Alexandra's Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (700)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 700 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

The hotel garage is a huge plus, although it is a little tricky to drive to since it's in a pedestrian area. The receptionist directed us to a street nearby that had parking places since the garage was already fully booked when we reserved. Luckily we arrived on a Saturday since the longest you can park with a parking ticket is 1-1/2 hours. Big bother to keep moving, or putting coins into the machine. However, parking is free from Saturday eve through Sunday.
The room we had was on the street with a swell view of MacDonalds and weekend homeless hangers out, plus other interesting passers-by, though we didn't spend much time in our room people watching.
The bed was very comfy, and the duvet was plenty big enough for the two of us. We appreciated the extra pillows.
One major caveat is the shower which is extremely slippery when wet. I almost went down getting out. I recommend putting the face towel on the floor of the shower while using. Ask the receptionist for an extra face towel.
Also ask for restaurant recommendations. We had two wonderful meals at "Bouchons Lyonnais" on her recommendation. 1. Chez Abel, and
2. "Le Laurencin" on a street in Vieux Lyon that has at least 10 other "Bouchons". Warning, the portions are Huge!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandralyon, The front desk at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear traveller,

Thank you to have written this comment. We are really delighted to read it.
Our staff tries to make every trip an unique moment in this beautiful City of Lights.
We hope to see you again, so don’t hesisate to make a call if you come back in Lyon.

Best regards,
The Alexandra’s Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We booked this hotel through booking.com at the last moment and came to Lyon by the last bus from Torino, Italy. It was very easy to find the place even the hotel main entrance is located in the hidden corridor. The hotel is very modern that your can tell as soon as you get into elevator. Our room was on the top floor and had attic with skylights. The room had all you need to sleep well after the long day. We didn't take a breakfast, but we step out and found a nice breakfast place with fresh made pastries and good cappuccino and canneles.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Irina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandralyon, The front desk at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Irina Z.,

We really thank you for this great comment about your stay in Hôtel Alexandra.
We are delighted to see that your stay here was a success, it means that our hard work to offer you an unique moment it is appreciated. We are happy to know that the hotel was a very good location for you.
We hope to see again, so, don’t hesitate to call us for your next trip in Lyon!

Best regards,
The Alexandra’s Hôtel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Lyon's Tourist Information Office booked our stay at the last minute for us. We felt really lucky, as we got a hotel in a great location at a great price. I could not have done better if I had planned way ahead. The hotel is in great condition. The building itself must be old, but the inside is very modern. Some parking is available for a fee, but we kept our car at the public lot near the tourist info office. It was a little cheaper and it avoided having to driving in a pedestrian-only area. But if you have a lot of luggage, this is a nice option. Their breakfast looked much better than the breakfasts we have encountered in our other hotel stays, but we chose to go to McDonald's because it was just across the street and we had a hankering for a more American-type breakfast and coffee. Staff was wonderful. All the sites are within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thinktravelCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandralyon, The front desk at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear travelers,

Thank you to have written this comment. All the Alexandra’s staff thanks you for this really great comment!
We are really happy to see that your stay in Lyon was successful!
When you will come back, don’t hesitate to make a call, we will delighted to see you again!

Warm regards,
Alexandra’s Hôtel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The external appearance of this hotel is a real shame only because it might put off some visitors. You enter via the entrance leading to the hotel's private parking garage (reserve ahead of time). In fact, there's hardly anything to make it appear to be a hotel. But this hidden gem is a real find. The hotel has recently been renovated and is quite modern. Our room, with a separate second bedroom (I snore), was quite nice. WiFi worked perfectly. The staff was helpful and everyone seemed to speak English. The location is perfect with many restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. The subway is accessible literally a few steps from the hotel. We didn't take the breakfast option, electing instead to have coffee and croissants just to the right as you exit the hotel. The weather was perfect for sleeping with the window open, yet we were not disturbed by and street noise. We would stay here again. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: A few rooms have a separate sleeping area with a door to isolate it from the main room. Great for c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandralyon, The front desk at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Sir,

All the Staff thanks you for your comment about your stay in Hôtel Alexandra.
We try to make every trip an unique trip. By your comment we are happy to see that it was the case. So, we hope to see you when you will come back in this beautiful city of Lights!
Best regards,

Alexandra’s hotel staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

+ Positives
Interior/nice modern rooms
Wifi working flawlessly with only one-time login required
Friendly staff
Location is good with the metro just outside the entrance
Good varied breakfast
- Negatives
Not much really. Elevator a bit slow. Getting all the way down to the exit takes some time as it stops by the reception (2nd floor) floor each time you want to get out.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Bredebre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandralyon, The front desk at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Travaler,

We really thank you for this comment.
We are delighted to see that you appreciated your stay in our hotel and you hope to see you on another trip in Lyon!

Best regards,
Alexandra’s hotel staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Chose the Hotel Alexandra because we wanted a hotel with a lift and near the metro.
The hotel is located on a pedestrian street only a few steps from the metro. A good size glass elevator goes from the ground to all of the five floors.
Most of the sites are" walkable" or only a few metro stops away. We really appreciated that after a long day of sightseeing mostly on our feet, you can take the metro back to "Ampere" and the hotel is right there.
When choosing a hotel in Lyon at this price range be careful - some do not have a lift and/or are several blocks from the metro.
I emailed the hotel with some minor room requests and they were extremely accommodating. We were given a lovely, very nice sized (for Europe) renovated room on the fourth floor away from the street. It was very clean with a decent size bathroom, I believe the shower had a door to keep the bathroom floor dry.
The price for this "privilege" category room was about $135/night - a real bargain. (They may have given us an upgrade - it was a very nice room).
Some reviewers were not satisfied with the price and quality of the breakfast. We had breakfast at the excellent pastry shops very close to the hotel.
Staff was very helpful.
Free WiFi very good.
Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Email the hotel before you book and/or arrive with questions and requests. They are very accomodatin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RScharfer9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandralyon, The front desk at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear traveler,

We really thank you for your comment about our Hôtel. All the staff was delighted to see you. We are enchanted to see that your visit in Lyon was a success. We are happy to know that the charm and the character of the hotel as well as the central situation pleased you.

We look forward to see you for a next trip!

Best regards,
The Alexandra’s Hôtel Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Hotel Bayard Bellecour
#100 of 194 in Lyon
336 reviews
Hotel des Celestins
#14 of 194 in Lyon
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Residence
#37 of 194 in Lyon
557 reviews
Globe et Cecil
#47 of 194 in Lyon
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexandra

Address: 49 rue Victor Hugo, 69002, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Lyon
#21 Business Hotel in Lyon
#22 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#27 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
Price Range: £77 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alexandra 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top-of-the-range facilities, a stylish interior design and a unique location: the 4-star Hôtel Alexandracombines all the ingredients that will make your stay in the centre of Lyon a success. You will appreciate our hotel’s privileged location on Lyon Presqu’île in the 2nd arrondissement, a short walk from Place Bellecour, during a romantic getaway, a business trip or a family holiday. Our hotel’s 34 rooms (seven of which are next to our flower-covered interior terrace), which offer a meticulous and refined interior design, cleverly combine modernity and tradition. Comfort and style reign in this extremely charming old residence, inspired by the apartments in the historical neighbourhood of Ainay. Our Elegance and Privilege Double rooms (2 people), Executive Family rooms (up to 4 people) and Prestige Family rooms (up to 5 people) offer a complete range of facilities. Our charming hotel invites you to relax during a romantic getaway in the heart of Lyon, or if you are passing through to attend a conference or on a business trip. You will appreciate the hotel’s peaceful atmosphere and the proximity of the public transport system, half-way between Place Bellecour and Lyon Perrache train station, just a few minutes’ walk away. Our family rooms can cater for up to 5 people for family holidays, visiting theunmissable tourist sites Our south-facing flower-covered interior patio, unique in the heart of Lyon, offers a swing seat and deckchairs where you can relax . When the weather is fine, it will provide you with a sun deck in the day time or a charming terrace in the evening with its many filtered lights. A seasonal bar opened from monday to sunday, from May to August, welcomes you for the aperitif around a glass of wine and a plate of home-made savoury pastries. The entire hotel team places its know-how and its professionalism at your service to ensure that your stay in Lyon is convivial, charming and comfortable. Be seduced by the cosy atmosphere, the warm welcome and the quality facilities during your stay in the City of Lights! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alexandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing