We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, simple hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Saint-Pierre des Terreaux
Ranked #132 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice, simple hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

Very friendly staff! The room was very basic but many have been newly renovated. The lobby is currently undergoing renovations. Keep in mind, there is no elevator and no A/C but it was not a problem. Great location in Lyon near Place des Terreaux. Lyon is a fantastic city with exceptional restaurants! Check out the old town (Vieux Lyon across the river) and restaurants on Rue Merciere near the hotel. Easy walk from the metro stop at the Opera House (Hotel de Ville).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoshCanada1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    83
    30
    12
    8
See reviews for
21
80
20
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

I stayed here on my own for one night in June. It was my first time in France and I'd had a long journey with a fractured elbow so was feeling a bit fragile when I arrived at Hotel Saint-Pierre, especially as I was on my own and relying on rusty school french. I need not have worried - the minute I arrived in reception I felt better. I got a great welcome which cheered me up immediately and ended up laughing my head off as staff were practising their moves for a flash mob in the nearby Place de Caroline (?) the following day.

The lady on reception was really really helpful giving me advice on where to go to eat and what to order in a traditional Lyonaise restaurant that was vegetarian (her advice was to ask for what she recommended rather than risk disapproval and horror from the waiters by announcing I was vegetarian)

My room was small but this was easily made up for with clever design which made the best use of space and lovely simple styling, in muted tones. The bed had lovely crisp linen and was super-comfortable. It felt more like 4 star room than 2 star!

The location is great too, right next to Musee de Beaux Artes and just across the river from Vieux Lyon. On the slight down side, the central location does mean that its a bit noisy at night (I was there on a Friday night) and as it doesnt have AC, I did have to leave the window open to keep comfortable. So if you are a light sleeper this mightnt be the place for you. Also, if you were staying as a couple for a longer stay, the room might begin to feel a bit cramped. Otherwise, if you are going to Lyon, I absolutely recommend this hotel - even if you normally budget for 3*or 4* hotels. I loved Lyon and plan and trip back with my partner in the autumn. We will most definitely be staying in Hotel Saint Pierre des Terreaux!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sineadh2o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

We are travelling around all of Europe and so far, this has been the best hotel we have stayed in. The lovely owners and staff and friendly and extremely helpful. They have brilliant english, provide maps and give good recommendations on where to go. The hotel is in a briliant location, you can walk everywhere and its only a short bus ride to the main train stations. The rooms are small, but you expect that in Europe. For the price it was luxury to get renovated rooms with decent showers and a normal sized bed! I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a brilliant location, within walking distance to all the shops, churches, sites and galleries you will want to see in Lyon.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raz00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Coast
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

I have just completed a three night stay at the hotel. My partner and I stayed in a newly renovated room on the first floor. You have to climb up a flight of stairs to get to reception, so if you have heavy backpacks (or walked from Gare Port-Dieu like us) be mindful.

Rooms- They have done great work on the renovation and as the previous post mentioned, they are slowly converting all the rooms. The proprietor showed me how an old room looked like and how some of the rooms will be designed- huge difference. The new rooms are fabulous, minimalist decor (warm lights, wooden floorboards and plenty of white) and very clean. As per all European hotels, the room sized up pretty smallish, so it would be quite a squeeze for travellers with large suitcases. We had a double bed (very comfortable and plush). The shower was separate from the toilet. The toilet area had a diffisuer which was a great touch as it left a pleasant scent in the room. The heating and hot water worked well (it was winter so that was really important).

Location - very convenient. About 5-10 min walk northwards to the Crois Rousse area and 15 minutes to Vieux Lyon area and the tourism office at Bellecour. The shopping starts on the street parellel to the hotel and leads down onto Ave de la Republique where all the main shops including Printemps are located. There is a small grocery store right next to the hotel and plenty of small cafe and bistrots. The fames Leon de Lyon is also about 3 minutes away on foot (food wasn't great though).

Definitely enjoyed my stay, I actually looked forward to returning back to the hotel from a day about town; a hidden gem!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SachaEastCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2010

Lovely little hotel just five minutes from the Hotel de Ville metro station. Delightful, attractive (the French are so gorgeous) and helpful reception staff (though not 100% fluent in English so please be patient, or -- better yet -- brush up on your French). Unrenovated rooms may seem a bit shabby but do not let this disappoint you! The beds, the linens, the towels and the windows are all new. Thus, although you may notice a water-stained ceiling in your room, you will probably sleep better here than anywhere else on your trip! (We definitely did.) Very nice breakfast (8 euros per person), with the reception staff cooking your eggs to order!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValueValueValue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks. UK
Level Contributor
399 reviews
210 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2010

This hotel is a few paces away from the Place Terreaux in the Presque-Isle of Lyon, so very handy if you are going to the Opera or going for a tour round the old town. It is a tall narrow hotel with only a door at street level and there are steep flights of stairs between each level so not for the infirm or disabled! It used to be a very old fashioned French hotel with different loud flowery wallpaper on each wall but it is being renovated in plainer colours. We had room 316 on the third floor which seemed to be partially renovated, with new very comfortable beds and white cotton linen, duvets and new towels, also a flat screen TV.

However the room (one of few twins) was rather cramped in design and hard to squeeze between the bed and the desk on one side. There were some signs of trouble with damp at ceiling level, and the bathroom was tiny and had a half size bath as well as bidet and usual other items.

On the plus side there was plenty of hot water and the breakfast buffet at 8 Euros quite reasonable with fresh bread, croissants, cereals etc. Not a huge range but more than a basic continental. It was a also very quite and the new beds ensured a good night's sleep. You might want to check that you are getting a renovated room if you stay here.

The main thing about this hotel is that it is good value for the location, rooms are around 57 Euros (for 2 people). It's not the first word in luxury but if you need a central location for maybe just one night's stay in Lyon and can manage stairs, you could do worse. There are dozens of restaurants, cafes and shops all around and the local navette bus stop is right outside the door. It is also just round the corner from the Beaux-Arts museum.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank helenakitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Terreaux - Bat D'argent
Le Boulevardier
Le Boulevardier
#106 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Terreaux - Bat D'argent
Hotel De Paris
Hotel De Paris
#171 of 193 in Lyon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Elysee Hotel
#66 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Griffon - Royale
Hotel Le Patio des Terreaux
Le Phenix Hotel
#50 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint-Pierre des Terreaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint-Pierre des Terreaux

Property: Hotel Saint-Pierre des Terreaux
Address: 8 rue Paul Chenavard, 69001, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Saint-Pierre des Terreaux 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Saint-Pierre des Terreaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing