We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lyon Short Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Silky by HappyCulture
Ranked #14 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lyon Short Break”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Builders are on site presently. Should they inform us in advance?
Room was warm and overlooked apartments. A light over basin mirror would be helpful. My biggest gripe was the mattress protectors were made of some sort of plastic/rubber material
causing one to sweat and making an annoying noise. Get rid of this item Management.!
Breakfast buffet was good and we were happy with that. However the breakfast room is too small and when many people come down together there is no room to get about. New tea pots were introduced on our last day-well done.
Staff were friendly and helpful but for one male desk clerk never told me that the museum I wanted to visit was closed on Tuesday. I went there to discover that it was only open Wednesday and Sunday!
The hotel is in a great location for seeing the city etc.

Room Tip: Request a room on the outside of the building. Remove the mattress protectors before going to sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gerard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotel69, Directeur général at Hotel Silky by HappyCulture, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Gerard,

Thank you for your comment and your experience review at our hotel.

There were some works on the building,, but very discret.
We add new and more seats at the breakfast room.

King regards
Julien, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    276
    99
    35
    25
See reviews for
90
315
57
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
tunis
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This hotel is extremely well situated in the center of Lyon. We were a little afraid it would be noisy but it was very well insulated from the street. Lots of nice restaurants all around. The breakfast at the hotel is fine, if a bit busy (small downstairs room). If you are looking for more ambiance and better quality, head across the street to the lovely Grand Café des Négociants.
We were travelling with our twelve year old sons and had a beautifully decorated family suite. We arrived late and the front desk was very helpful and accomodating.
We will definitely make this our regular stopover in Lyon. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shermok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotel69, Directeur général at Hotel Silky by HappyCulture, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear shermok,

I am sincerely happy to read your comment 5 stars!
For your next trip at Lyon, we'll give you more our best places to visite.

Thank you so much and see you next time.

Yours, Julien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I stayed at this place for 5 nights. The location is excellent. The staff, especially Theo, are always courteous and helpful. The breakfast has ham and fresh orange juice, plus fresh baguette and croissants, fresh fruits, coffee expresso, etc. They provide free welcome drink and daily packed sandwiches. The wifi works perfectly in the room and fast. It has everything I need in the room. They have coffee and tea making facilities in the room. With the price I am paying for a 3 star hotel, I cannot ask for more. Lyon has a lot to offer as a city. The number of restaurants and quality of food are amazing. I am looking forward to coming back for the Light Festival and definitely will stay here again. Thanks.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Benlondon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotel69, Directeur général at Hotel Silky by HappyCulture, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Ben,

Many many thanks for your nice comment!
We do the best to offer the best stay.

Yours, Julien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

once again an excellent hotel, very god value for money, staff always courteous, rooms clean and recently redecorated, hope to get back here next year for my fourth visit to the opera, which incidentally was also excellent! Dido & Aeneus. Thanks.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lagrsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotel69, Directeur général at Hotel Silky by HappyCulture, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Lagrsp,

many thanks for your stay at our hotel and had choose the Lyon Opera to see Purcell Opera.

All the team is pleased to read your nice comment.

I hope to see you once again and talk together of french opera!

Yours, Julien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Positive / personnel and location plus fresh orange juice for breakfast !

Negative / carpets in public area and bedroom need updating plus could do with a better partition in shower cubicle which would avoid flooding the bathroom floor

Some guests commented about the size of the rooms which could be an issue if traveling in pair but to be fair I had a large DBed and slept extremely well

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotel69, receptionniste at Hotel Silky by HappyCulture, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear guest,

thank you for your comment.

we are happy to see that our customers appreciate as much as before our continental breakfast and its large
choice of fruit juices and squeezed orange one.

We still have improved the continental breakfast since your stay and propose now a wider choice of sweety and salty foods.

As well, we start renovation work on December: involving the existing installation and creation of new 5 superb rooms; we hope you will discover a next time ( with more king size beds).

Best regards.
Karine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights earlier this month. The hotel is in a great location and the staff is exceptionally friendly. The free wireless internet works well and the breakfast in the morning is a nice way to start the day. The rooms themselves are a bit small (but who comes to Lyon to spend time in the room), but getting from one side of the bed to the other side of the room wasn't possible without disturbing the other person sleeping. We didn't have any problems reported by the other guests in terms of noise from the street or the rooms being uncomfortably hot. Our only real complaint was that the beds were uncomfortable. If we go back to Lyon, we would strongly consider staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiveToEat42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotel69, Directeur général at Hotel Silky by HappyCulture, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Guests,

Many thanks for your stay and your experience review.
We hope to welcome you for another trip in Lyon.

Best regards
Julien Schruoffeneger, manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at this hotel. It was during an unusually hot period and unfortunately, the hotel has no A/C. However, the staff, especially Sébastien, was extremely helpful and provided us with a fan. They also gave us their best room as it was our wedding anniversary, what a nice attention! Breakfast is excellent, there is a good variety of items one can choose and eat. Location is ideal, close and central to numerous things to see and do.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotel69, Directeur général at Hotel Silky by HappyCulture, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much to share your experience in trip advisor. We make the best to offer a nice stay to our clients.

We hope to welcome you once again.

Best regards
Julien Schruoffeneger, manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Molière - Edgard Quinet
Okko Hotels Lyon Pont Lafayette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel des Celestins
#16 of 194 in Lyon
979 reviews
Cour des Loges
#10 of 194 in Lyon
1,249 reviews
Hotel Vaubecour
#1 of 194 in Lyon
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silky by HappyCulture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silky by HappyCulture

Property: Hotel Silky by HappyCulture
Address: 2 Place Francisque Regaud, 69002, Lyon, France (Formerly Grand Hotel de la Paix)
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Cordeliers - Jacobins
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Silky by HappyCulture 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a comfortable place to stay, the new boutique immerses HappyCulture guests in a 100% Lyonnaise experience. Located in the heart of the city, the Silky invites customers in a universe steeped in history. The 46 rooms to reveal different colors beautiful moldings and cornices, in a spirit of mansion cozy and contemporary. High ceilings, Italian shower, decoration retro graphics. Equipped with TV 82 cm, espresso machines and tea, free WIFI and loan pocket wifi. Guests are invited each evening to our HappyTime wine route and the Lyon terroir. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Prestigia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Silky by HappyCulture reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing