We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY GOOD VALUE HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ibis Budget Lyon Gerland
Ranked #166 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
A TripAdvisor Member
“VERY GOOD VALUE HOTEL”
Reviewed 12 August 2011

A very comfortable and clean hotel as usual. Also very quiet at night which was especially good. The only down side was that my son left a very expensive pair of lounge pants and a tshirt in his room and I can't get to speak to any body about it or find an email address for lyon to request thier return..can anybody help. Thank you

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    221
    215
    133
    63
See reviews for
162
206
84
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Good hotel for those traveling by car. Quick access to the town center, Vieux Lyon and roads. I wouldn't recommend this hotel if you intend to use public transport though. Clean rooms and good breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

This Etap is located five minutes from the autoroute so is ideal for an overnight stop.
It is also quite esay to get into central Lyon. The metro is within a few minutes walk.
The rooms are of the standard Etap formula, clean and functional with a comfortable double bed and a single bunk bed. There is free wifi and a free car park. Breakfast at under 5 euros is very good value. There is a restaurant open next door open till late. Very good value. Highly recommended .

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank broadwood24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2010

We stayed just for one night, to see Olympique Lyonnais play at the State Gerland. The hotel is walking distance from the stadium so that's the reason we chose it.
If you've stayed at another Etap hotel I guess this would be pretty similar. We requested a non-smoking room but was given a room on the second floor (only smoking floor). Opening the door to the room it was obvious it hadn't been cleaned, cigarette butts everywhere and sheets ruffled up. Sure we arrived at 2pm but why you would allocate an uncleaned room I don't know. Went downstairs to change the room and nice lady assured me it was a mistake (blame the computer!) and gave us another room on non-smoking floor. You get a six digit pin code to type in that opens the door, no keys here. Room was very clean and actually a reasonable size compared to similar hotels, queen bed on the bottom and single bunk on top to dump clothes etc. Also a TV with sat channels and heater in room. Bathroom a good size, separate toilet. They have fast free wifi and a good selection of things to buy at the vending machines and mini store. Breakfast menu looked to be good value for 4 Euro but we decided to hit the road.
For those driving there is free parking (a blessing in Lyon) and the parking lot is locked between 11pm and 6am. A chain restaurant on site (steakhouse/grill) and McDonalds and kebab shops down the road otherwise nothing in the immediate area, this is an industrial part of town. Metro stop is walking distance though. Overall would recommend for short stays, 42 Euro per night is reasonable value.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drinky_canberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyon
Perrache - Charlemagne
Ibis Budget Lyon Centre Confluence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Appart'Hotel Bioparc
#64 of 194 in Lyon
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Lyon Gerland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Lyon Gerland

Property: Ibis Budget Lyon Gerland
Address: Avenue Tony Garnier | 1 rue Jules Carteret, 69007, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Budget Lyon Gerland 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Ibis Budget Lyon Gerland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing