We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy and pathetic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Appart'City Confort Lyon Gerland
Ranked #169 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
New York City
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Filthy and pathetic”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Stay anywhere else. The carpets are filthy, there is virtually no service, and an incredibly unhelpful staff. No electrical outlets for your use, no rubbish bin. Shower sprays water all over the bathroom, even though it is NOT one of those French showers that is actually designed to do so. Iffy wifi, which doesn't work at all in the bedrooms. No wifi in the common areas at all. Nothing about this hotel works.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yeatsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    47
    54
    41
    30
See reviews for
43
35
10
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Libourne, France
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

My wife and I stayed here for just over two weeks. It is in a working neighborhood and has a metro station right outside the door which is convenient because if you want to see or do anything in the evenings, you pretty much have to take the metro. The staff was friendly and the room was adequate. The lady in charge of breakfast is especially nice. The bed was comfortable, internet connection was reliable, and the kitchen functional. There is a small market just around the corner which makes eating in the room easy.

Our main complaint was that we were on the 5th floor and the lift was out of service for six days.

I plan to stay at the Citidines Presqu'ile next trip to be closer to restaurants and city sights.

Room Tip: Get a low floor room in case the lift goes out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thistle3583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludhiana, Punjab, India
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Well i stayed in this hotel for 4 nights . The room that i stayed in had a living room (with a comfortable sofa and ample furniture, 42 inch LCD (Restricted number of channels though), Kitchenette, Microwave, coffee maker and an attached balcony) a bed room (with a super comfortable bed , crisp white linen, cupboards, and a balcony attached) and Bathroom (with a huge wash basin, Bathtub , clean pot, and the bathroom had 4-5 towels, ample toiletries, 24X7 hot water). The rooms had central heating and cooling facilities as well. The room, facilities, services were very very good, and can be easily compared to any good 3-4 star hotel. The room was very neat and clean. There was ample crockery, Toiletries, Cupboards and space in both the living room & bed room & Bathroom.
The hotel staff was very cordial and helpful. The Wi-fi was working perfectly fine in all the rooms.
The buffet breakfast was very good ,it was really very good, there were many food items in the buffets, But on the 4 th day i felt i am getting the same taste everyday (Infact that happens to everyone if you eat same food at the same restaurant it does gets monotonous)

Advantages: Place Jean Jaures metro station is just infront of the hotel entrance (That is seriously an advantage. It is the cheapest, fastest transport medium in the city, Lyon Centre- part dieu is just 4 mins from the hotel)
There is a supermarket around 75 metres from the hotel entrance. There is a thai restaurant (Sawadee thai) just next to the hotel which serves great lunch and dinner buffets (Avg 18-20 euros)
any further info needed please mail me to [--]

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSahay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Must be close to bankruptcy, based on the size of the towels, soap and shampoo given to guests. Room not properly done, but staff could not care less. TV in room not working (TV in living room was OK, although quality of channels was also bare minimum - e.g. no english-speaking channels). Room was located right above a small public garden, so I had the noise (summer) from north african immigrants and their children having fun all evening.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sansfronteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Stayed one night here (2 couples), but considered trying another hotel! Was rated as "decent" on another site, but when we entered the room, we didn't quite agree with that assessment! Maybe our standards are a bit high, but the room didn't feel very clean. The hallways were smelly. The room was quite minimal (in size, decoration & amenities). I stayed on the pull out couch in the main room: the cushions on the pull-out bed were dirty, but surprisingly the mattress was actually comfortable! There is a small kitchen area. Internet was included, but only in the main area of the room (not in the bedroom). There is an underground parking lot.
Was ok place to stay, but I usually prefer cleaner, with more towels and amenities.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Correct name of this hotel at 175 Ave. Jean Jaures is "Park&Suites Elegance-Lyon Gerland".
Metro station is just outside hotel entrance. Supermarket is around the corner from the hotel.
English speaking staff was very friendly and accommodating.
Cold buffet breakfast was very good.
This was our 50th anniversary trip and we very much enjoyed our stay here. This is not a luxury hotel, the suites are somewhat plain, but sufficient and the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George60956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, UK
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2010

The hotel now goes by the name of "Park & Suites Elégance Lyon Gerland".

From the moment we checked in to when we left service was abrupt. On checking the guy just handed me the key with no explanation of where the room was, or when breakfast was. All the usual greeting you would expect at a hotel were non-existent. Throughout the stay the attitude of the staff bordered on rude.

Even though we had booked a double room for two people we only got one set of towels. We had to request more towels a number of times before we eventually got them. When we arrived there was no tea or coffee in the room and these were not replenished. Similarly there was no shampoo and other toiletries were missing. These were not replenished despite the room being cleaned daily.

Our room was on the side of the hotel which is in front of the metro stop. The underground entrance to the metro appeared to be used by drunks, homeless and smokers throughout the night. Even with the window shut the noise could be heard until 4am.

If this was a cheap budget hotel maybe I could accept the complete lack of service and usual hotel facilities, but the hotel was not cheap.

On the plus side the (cold) buffet breakfast has good.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siasllaffh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perrache - Charlemagne
Ibis Budget Lyon Centre Confluence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appart'City Confort Lyon Gerland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appart'City Confort Lyon Gerland

Property: Appart'City Confort Lyon Gerland
Address: 175 avenue Jean Jaures, 69007, Lyon, France (Formerly Park & Suites Lyon Gerland)
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Appart'City Confort Lyon Gerland 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Park & Suites residence is located across from the Place Jean Jaurès Metro Station in Lyon. It offers air conditioned suites with equipped kitchenettes and free Wi-Fi internet access.All suites at the Park & Suites Elégance Lyon Gerland have satellite TV and a telephone and each kitchenette has a microwave and fridge. Some suites have a sitting area and a terrace.Guests are invited to relax in the hotel’s lounge and bar, where a daily buffet breakfast is served. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Appart'City Confort Lyon Gerland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park And Suites Lyon Gerland Hotel Lyon
City Hotel Lyon Gerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing