We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wear comfortable shoes”

Traboules du Vieux Lyon
Book In Advance
More Info
US$14.33*
and up
Storytelling Walking Tour of Old Lyon
Ranked #8 of 220 things to do in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“wear comfortable shoes”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

wonderful trailing through and under peoples homes - some more extravagant than others with lifts for residents and better lit - but amazing to wander through and wonder how occupants do for light and carrying their shopping up all those stairs!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank arnold j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,206
    814
    195
    40
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fife
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Atmospheric.”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Interesting place to visit. Try to arrange a guided tour if you can (unfortunately, this was pre-arranged and I don't know the name of the company). Lots to see, and easy to imagine the Resistance using these alleys (as they did) to evade capture during WW2.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank do_the_fandango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“It looked mysterious, but it was real...”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

It was fun to explore the old passageways and secret courtyards in the old town of Lyon. According to the tour guide, there were lots of traboules in the city and only about a few dozens were opened to the public...

What a different world in front of us once we walked in the passageway. Very “Roman”, very “Medieval”..In the courtyards we saw the ancient fountain, stone well, windows that appeared in Medieval movies and the carved stone, spiral staircases...
These five or six floors buildings were just amazing, and it was interesting to learn that currently these were still used as private apartments with tenants.

After learning about the fact that these traboules played a role in the silk trade and the weaver’s revolt in France and that it provided a safe passage for hiding and escaping from the Gestapo during the World War II, I felt like I was given a lesson in French history..

Really enjoyed the trip and wished that I could pay another visit to Lyon sometimes in future.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Amber201083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Fun Detour”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Without knowing much about the Traboules, we were able to locate a few and have some fun wandering in and out of the Suessian jumbles of medieval buildings.
I think this would be an especially fun activity for families after museum burnout sets in.

I can imagine the more notoriety these passageways gain, the more we will find locked in the future. So enjoy while you can!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank CharlioBarlio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greetham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Fascinating alleyways in the old town”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We explored these alleyways in the old town. No one seemed to know which were open to the public but the tourist information office by the funicular was very helpful and he marked the accessible ones on my map, so we could explore on our own. Great fun!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Walkinggranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Traboules du Vieux Lyon also viewed

 

Been to Traboules du Vieux Lyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing