We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable hotel”
Review of Hotel Lyon-ouest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lyon-ouest
Ranked #13 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very comfortable hotel”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

This hotel was great for us, it was modern, comfortable and very quiet. We managed to find parking on the street, rather than the underground provided by the hotel. It is a decent walk from the vieux Lyon or Croix rouisso but an easy 5 minute car ride. The only minor problem was the attitude of the female staff member at reception when we checked in. The fact that we had backpacks seemed almost offensive to her! I find it amusing when hotel staff judge you on your luggage. Perhaps some further guest relations training is in order (not all backpackers are destitute). Other than that slight hiccup it was a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joannefarrell955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relations C, Gérant at Hotel Lyon-ouest, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. My only regret is that I missed your arrival myself, being English and a great lover of travelling I would have enjoyed hearing of your travels and taking some time out to speak my native language!

I note your unfortunate perception of one of our employee’s at check in. Please accept my apologies as this is not at all a reflection on the training and mentality that we share with our team.

We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back so that I can welcome you back personally.

Best regards,

Lorraine BATTA
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    190
    28
    4
    4
See reviews for
82
202
11
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
202 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Rooms are typically 3 stars comfort and for that quite comfortable. However to the the road is somehow noisy in the night and you cannot sleep with open window. Bathroom is fine except the hairdryer which is 1970-style with a handle that will get boiling hot after a few minutes use and the tube is much to short so you may not dry your back head hair.
Public transport to city center is complicated with changing from bus to metro and not convenient. Underground garage was one of the reasons to choose this hotel, however the code to the main door does not work and you have to open it everytime by hand.
Breakfast buffet for 24 CHF (EU 15) is far overpriced for what is offered and we chose to eat outside.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the courtyard which might be much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relations C, Gérant at Hotel Lyon-ouest, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on this website.

I'm sorry to read that you were disappointed by the equipment of our establishment and that you were disturbed by the traffic which is usually very light in the evening as we are based in a business district.

Regarding access to the city center you do effectively have a bus which leaves from the bus stop just in front of the hotel that takes you to the nearest metro station. However from this very same bus stop you also have another bus which takes you directly into the center of Lyon without changing.

With regards to the parking I apologize if maybe you experienced a technical fault during your stay. We offer a secure, underground parking with an access code that changes daily in order to guarantee the security of our guests. This access code is available daily at the reception.

I do hope that I will get the pleasure in welcoming you back personally for your next visit in order to personally ensure that your stay is up to the usual quality of the establishment and its services.

Kind regards.

Lorraine BATTA
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Clean, quiet and pleasant staff. Recommended for anyone willing to have a peaceful break in this nice city of Lyon. Located in a new neighborhood on the Saone banks. Well connected to the city center and to the Vieux Lyon as well train stations through buses or underground train

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrownFromSG82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relations C, Gérant at Hotel Lyon-ouest, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on this website. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and managed to take advantage of the easy access to the city centre.

We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards

Lorraine BATTA
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

Great, clean hotel with large room, but outside of city center. Easy river road that takes you right into town. Staff speaks English and very helpful.
Far outside the center of town. Nothing around it for food and drinks. Restaurant in hotel closes at 2pm and doesn't open until 7pm. Since there are no other options around, plan accordly.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relations C, Gérant at Hotel Lyon-ouest, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear Sir,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Hotel Lyon-ouest with us.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I just wanted to point out to you for, I hope, many future stays with us, that our restaurant does indeed close at 2pm and reopens at 7pm however we are able to serve drinks in the afternoon in our lobby area and we are also located in what is actually an up and coming area with several restaurants and a cinema just a few meters away.

I hope to have the pleasure in helping you discover all of this during your next stay with us!

Best regards,

Lorraine BATTA
Director of the Hôtel Lyon-ouest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

This is advertised as a 3 star hotel, but deserves a 4 star rating. Large rooms, water cooker, safe, large bathroom, great shower and bed. I was impressed, good value! Tip: city bikes can be rented just 50 meters from the hotel, direction Lyon centre. Bus stop at the front door, or 15min wlk to nearest metro. Free safe street parking next to hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bclout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relations C, Gérant at Hotel Lyon-ouest, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on this website. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back very soon.

Best regards .

Lorraine BATTA
Director of the Hôtel Lyon-ouest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberaeron, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Have returned from a week away at this hotel. Lovely room overlooking the river, very quiet at night so slept really well. This hotel has only been open for a few months so rooms and furnature in excellent condition and very comfortable. I found the staff particularly helpful, nothing seemed to be to much trouble. As this was over the easter break, the hotel provided chocolate eggs for the children staying - which was a nice touch. If you are looking for a friendly and efficient hotel in Lyon, which is also good value for money, I would recomend this one.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 390roberts390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relations C, Gérant at Hotel Lyon-ouest, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comments.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our warm and cosy family atmosphere particularly during the Easter period.

I particularly appreciated having the pleasure in meeting you during your stay and hope to be personally available to greet you back to the hotel at your next visit.

Kind regards

Lorraine BATTA
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Just returned from a two night stay at this excellent hotel. Great room overlooking the river, with a pleasant adjoining room for our two young daughters. Complimentary kids' toiletries were a nice touch.

Gare de Vaise metro is just 10 min walk away. The 31 bus stops directly in front of the hotel. Nice restaurants in the area, and a large Pathe cinema complex. We found free street parking right next to the hotel.

Above all, we'd praise the staff for their friendly welcome and excellent service. Particular thanks to Philippe and Krystel for their help and kindness above and beyond the call of duty when one of our daughters was unwell.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emissary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relations C, Gérant at Hotel Lyon-ouest, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to add a comment on Tripadvisor following your stay at the Hotel Lyon-ouest.

I’m really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I am delighted to hear that my staff went above and beyond the call of duty when you needed them. Krystel thanks you enormously for the biscuits by the way!

We pride ourselves in being a great family hotel for travellers on the weekends and during the holidays and to see that our guests enjoy they’re stay make it all the more worthwhile.

I really hope that we will get the chance to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Yours Sincerely

Lorraine BATTA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Carnot - Gailleton
Hotelo
Hotelo
#4 of 194 in Lyon
272 reviews
Hotel Vaubecour
#1 of 194 in Lyon
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perrache - Charlemagne
Quality Suites Lyon Confluence
Mama Shelter Lyon
#6 of 194 in Lyon
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lyon-ouest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lyon-ouest

Property: Hotel Lyon-ouest
Address: 50 quai Paul Sedallian, 69336, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lyon-ouest 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lyon-ouest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing