We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service”
Review of Lyon City Boat

Lyon City Boat
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: LYON CITY BOAT : DINING CRUISES - SIGHTSEEING CRUISES - PRIVATE CRUISESLYON CITY BOAT : CROISIERES REPAS - CROISIERES PROMENADES - CROISIERES PRIVATIVES
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,381 reviews
418 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4,081 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

We only went on this tour due to my hubby's work conference dinner.
Basically the cruise catered for all the other diners except for our group which consisted of about 70.
We waited until 9:30pm for our white wine as others were drinking the red. My husband asked over 4 times for a bottle of white which to me was totally unacceptable when we were paying over 55euro just for food.
Due to the time the cruise left at night we didn't get to view much of the city anyway.

Helpful?
2 Thank Ellemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyonCityBoat, Responsable relations clients at Lyon City Boat, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for your message about the restaurant boat "Hermès". Your comments have been noted and will be considered with utmost attention. Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    105
    25
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
1,050 reviews
462 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 839 helpful votes
“A Nice Boat Ride Ruined by the English-Speaking(??) Guide”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

I see that other reviewers have had the same problem that we did. Our English-speaking guide could barely do so. The boat ride was nice. My wife translated for me, so I got the message. The two rivers are quite different, advantage Saone (unless you go for a swim). The old city is more interesting than the new, but not heart-stopping beautiful. The new city leaves you wondering about modern architecture. I love much of it, but hated what I saw in Lyon.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DonPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyonCityBoat, Responsable relations clients at Lyon City Boat, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for your review. We will carefully consider your comments about the explanations in English. Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Lyon: A Tale of Two Rivers”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Lyon is at the confluence of the Rhone and the Soane Rivers which are the city's reason for being. They are the source of it's wealth and the reason for its strategic importance. If you visit, it is important to understand the relationship between city and waterway and the city folk with the water.

There has been massive investment along the river banks throughout history and the present day is no exception. I hope photographs will demonstrate this, at least in some part.

There are boat tours that are reasonably priced and much in demand - even on an unpleasant day. Well worth enhancing your stay in this wonderful city by getting out there but take a coat.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank neilajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyonCityBoat, Responsable relations clients at Lyon City Boat, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Neila, Thank you for your comment. We’re glad you enjoyed the tour and we hope to see you again (with the sun!). Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebourg, Nord
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Surprising island in Lyon”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The one hour boat tours are guided tours with commentary in French and English on the Saone. I took the one heading to Barbe island, a lovely and refreshing way to explore Lyon from the water on a sunny day. It is rather surprising to discover that there is such a pretty island in the middle of Lyon in green surrounding areas. The boat is taken at the passage du palais de justice between presqu'ile and old Lyon . The tour is free with the purchase of a Lyon citycard. Beware, the ticket counter only opens at 2pm. Tickets can also be purchased on their internet site http://www.lyoncityboat.com however no free ticket can be reserved on the site. The boat is fairly small so it is useful to plan ahead and to be eventually flexible if the boat is full on a given time. There are only a handful of boats daily so it is wise to check the schedule ahead of time to avoid disappointment.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jaimiecook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyonCityBoat, Responsable relations clients at Lyon City Boat, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thanks a lot for this review. We hope to see you again in Lyon! Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
414 reviews
152 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“A tale of two rivers”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

A pleasant and informative trip around lyon's two rivers and the differences between them are dramatic at he confluence, in terms of flow, volume and contents. Plenty of interesting architecture, history and general interest. Commentary provided in English and French. Worthwhile

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nilindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyonCityBoat, Responsable relations clients at Lyon City Boat, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for your message. We’re glad you enjoyed the tour. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lyon City Boat also viewed

 

Been to Lyon City Boat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing