We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem ...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mon Hotel Particulier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mon Hotel Particulier
Ranked #68 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
mumbai
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Hidden gem ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We were a group of 8 staying here in April 2014. We had booked 4 apartments. The best of course was the suite de mirror. Spacious and beautifully done up. The building itself is a residential building opening up in a popular and busy square in old Lyon. Locationally i don't think you could be better off. The apartments are well equipped, beautiful, clean and quiet. The owner personally walked us around old Lyon ( which is gorgeous and way better than part dieux or any other part of Lyon to stay in ) and explained a bit of the history and "secret passages " to us .. Which was a nice touch and something no hotel would have done for sure ! I would certainly stay here again ... Thank you Vincent.

Room Tip: Suite de mirror or bibliotheque
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shesim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    43
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
10
83
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

The Mon Hotel Particulier is actually a number of apartments suited in the middle of Vieux Lyon. The apartment location is superb. It is located in the middle of the old town, very close to public transportation, shops and superb restaurants.

The apartment is a renovated renaissance apartment (albeit without a ghost) spacious, very well furnished and equipped with everything necessary to make one's stay very pleasant. The
apartment we stayed at was located on the 4th floor of a very old building, had a lift, was very clean and quiet.

Vincent is an excellent host. He is very helpful and very well organized. He took a lot of time to explain to us how everything in the apartment worked, gave us information about the sights in the old town, and informed us about where to eat. He was also very easy to reach. When we had a problem with the boiler at the apartment he came immediately to explain to us what we needed to do.

We will certainly come back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike_P0212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossum , GLD
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

If you want to skip the "all the same" hotels, go for this place. Located in a 16th century building in the middle of Vieux Lyon you can find some apartments, we selected the Le Duplex du Change. Check their website for other options. Greatly renovated, enough space, well equipped, perfect bed ! Vincent waited for us on arrival, showed us around in the apartment and told a lot about the places to go, including the restaurants. Be careful, Vieux Lyon is full of tourist traps, so he made us clear which ones were good. Some advice; if you want to have dinner after 20 p.m., make a reservation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Niek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
195 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Fantastic location in the center of Old Lyon. The recently renovated apartment is in a very old building that has lots of character. When you step outside the door you are in a small square with a sidewalk cafe within a few steps. The layout of the apartment was unusual but it was very comfortable. There is no air conditioning. It wasn't warm when we were there, but we still had to turn on the fan to get some circulation. Opening the windows was uncomfortable because the opened to a corridor that other tenants used to get to their rooms. The man who checked us in was very helpful, but his English was weak so we had some communication difficulties. If you stay here, I highly recommend that you use the transfer service that they recommend ("Lyon is Yours"). They were not only awesome, but I don't think the average taxi driver would be able to find this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cooperlynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Our experience at this hotel was one of the main reason that augmented our visit to Lyon. As we wanted to stay in the old town, the options for hotels were rather limited, when we chanced upon Mon Hotel Particular, we were knew that thi was where we wanted to stay. Indeed, we were not at all disappointed, the location is just unbeateable, situated right in the charming old town where all the top resturants were located. For a start, the owner was extremely helpful in giving us directions to the apartment , meeting us at the bus stop as we arrived at night, (it would have been very difficult for us to otherwise find our way), also very helpful in offering us restaurant recommendations and sights to visit.

The apartment is very new, modern, excuisitely designed, clean and looks exactly like it does on the website. We stayed only 2 nights in the apartment but we loved every moment of it and wished that we have stayed for longer. Definintely the place to stay in Lyon, especiallyyou want to feel like a local, staying in the old town and where all the action is.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcs
Level Contributor
107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the small studio apartment for two nights. We called the owner from the station and he met us at the apartment to let us in, show us how everything worked and give us some advice on where to visit in Lyon. We were attracted to these apartments (to have hotel in the name is misleading as it isn't a hotel, it's four apartments in a renovated apartment building with many more, some residential) but we realised that when we read all about it. Anyway, wow! The building dates back to the 1500s and the huge oak studded door resembles a door to a castle, and is situated in the corner of a cobbled square. Through there is another secured gate, leading to a stone spiral staircase with another lockable door to each landing. Very secure! Anyway it's all very old and full of character, but the apartment had been beautifully renovated with all mod cons. It wasn't huge but perfectly adequate for two! The bed was comfy and the shower was decent (two things I notice first!) the kitchenette was tiny, you would struggle to cook more than tea and toast, but I didn't wish to do any more than that on holiday. The location is stunning, right in the heart of the old town surrounded by little bouchons and bakeries, just lovely. I would recommend "Notre maison" a bouchon just round the corner, very authentic and friendly, but you need to book. All in all a wonderful stay and I would definitely recommend these apartments!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sonia1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jross24
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Overall I can only give a good review, the location of the apartment was excellent. We were in the heart of the old town where there was always hussle and bustle which we loved. Lots of lovely places to eat and visit on your door step, the metro station is a few minutes walk and the bus stop close by.

The apartment was clean and decorated to a good standard. It was smaller than I had anticipated from the the photos online however as a couple there for a few days it had everything we needed.

Communication from the reps for the apartment was excellent. They gave us good instructions on how to find our way to the apartment from the airport and Vincent was there to meet us on arrival. On arriving he pointed out places to visit and also restaurants with good food at a range of prices.

I would highly recommend visiting the cathedral close by, the notre dame which takes about 10 mins all in from the apartment and also the large park across the other side of town. All in all we had a lovely few days and other than having a larger apartment we would not have changed anything.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jross24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Vieux Lyon - Quarantaine
College Hotel
College Hotel
#91 of 193 in Lyon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Hotel des Celestins
#14 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Le Phenix Hotel
#45 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cour des Loges
#10 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Hotel des Artistes
#34 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Citadines Presqu'ile Lyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mon Hotel Particulier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mon Hotel Particulier

Property: Mon Hotel Particulier
Address: 3 Place du Change, 69005, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Vieux Lyon - Quarantaine
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mon Hotel Particulier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing