We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vieux Lyon is an amazing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mon Hotel Particulier
Ranked #67 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Vieux Lyon is an amazing experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

All that you have read in recent reviews is accurate regarding the fact that this is not a hotel, assistance from the owners and associates is available (coming and going) and that the neighborhood is a trip way back in time. We stayed in the Suite Bibliotheque for 4 nights. The apartment was NOT comfortable. It was unique and cleverly adapted to fit the ancient space, but some simple considerations were left out. Example: There was no table to sit at, although there was room for a small one in either the kitchen or main room. The 2 barstools that were placed in front of the high counter, even at full extension were not tall enough to sit and eat or write, because the counter was about 48 inches high. One had to stand to use the counter. Additionally the barstools looked interesting, but could not hold a person comfortably in a sitting position, even with the use of the footrest. The space was lacking in towel bars and hooks, which would have been an easy addition to make the suite more user friendly. We ended up draping our large towels over the useless barstools to dry! This could have been a 5 star review if consideration had been paid to the needs of long term travelers, and perhaps Vincent or Jean Luc might try staying in the apartment long enough to see its drawbacks. Having only 1 chair and the bed to sit on in a 4 day visit, became very frustrating. Hopefully my comments can be viewed as constructive criticism of this one suite, because all else about our stay was beautiful. The location, the celebrated Lyonaise cuisine, the history, the ease of getting around, the beautiful rivers and their paths. We had a very special dinner at Aux 24 Colonnes and continue to savor it in our memories, along with our overall visit to this unique part of France.

Room Tip: Do not pick the Suite Bibliotheque until they add a table and some towel bars. We did not see the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    43
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
10
84
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is a very special place to stay. The apartment is in a beautiful building tucked away behind a rustic gate. I loved the pretty living/sleeping area and the shower is amazing. The bed is extremely comfy and so little light comes in each morning that it's easy to have a substantial lie in!

On arrival we were met by Jean Luc who humoured my mediocre French skills by explaining everything we needed to know in simple terms. During our stay we weren't bothered by any of the noise mentioned in other reviews, but perhaps we were just lucky.

I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

It's not hard to visualize the long and colorful history of old Lyon. The narrow medieval streets and buildings and the Traboules (secret passageways) all offer their glimpses into a rich and ancient past. It's a delightful place to explore and where better to stay than in a 14th century building right in the middle of it all?
Fortunately the interior is less medieval. These are very comfortable self catering apartments, equipped with all amenities. Don't expect Philip Stark but tastefully done nonetheless, comfortable, well isolated against noise and as French inner city goes, certainly roomy. No elevator though. Keep that in mind if you decide to have late night drinks at the good bar (I forget the name) which is practically around the corner.
To compensate, Vincent carries all your luggage up for you when you arrive and down again when you leave. He also gives you an excellent rundown of all the local sights.
Which are practically all within walking distance. Location is perfect. Be it church, shops, museum, Traboule, restaurant, terrace, bar.... We had excellent weather so walking was a joy, also in the less medieval parts of the city. Otherwise I would recommend biking. Lot's of bike-friendly pathways.
So to conclude, great place. Perfect for getting to know Vieux Lyon. If you like to be entertained and catered to then you probably need to look towards the more standard hotels on the Presqu'ile.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Wyatt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Fairy, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We booked for four nights via the web site staying at La Suite Bibliotheque, the price was 100E per night. The booking was easy we paid one night as a deposit through Pay Pal. We experienced excellent email communication with the owner, and a colleague meet us outside the apartment. We trained from Paris to Lyon and then by local bus C3 which was suggested to within a few minutes walk to the apartment.
We were very impressed by the apartment, you walk into the bedroom, large comfortable bed, shower and basin behind and a kitchen area. It was well equipped, although we did not utilise these facilities other than making lovely coffee in a filtered coffee machine coffee provided.
The location was excellent to explore the old town. As mentioned by others the only problem was over the weekend. The door to the apartment opens onto a stone spiral staircase. At the bottom for security is an iron door. There are about 15 apartments exiting off the staircase. Over Friday and Saturday night there was a lot of action up and down the stair case which was very noisy with associated banging of the metal gate. Our sleep on these two nights was disturbed particularly Saturday up until 4.00am
The owner has four apartments in the building, if staying over the weekend we would suggest you book one of the two that are not off the stairwell but a short corridor. This would alleviate the problem. Otherwise we had an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper avoid this room over weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnandAv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

One has to be a traveler, not a tourist to enjoy the Hotel Particuler. That said, this apartment, not a hotel or B&B, is a very interesting and comfortable acommodation. The location, in the heart of Vieux Lyon, is outstanding. You step out the door to a busy and enchanting square with many shops and restaurants. The apartment is quiet. The only draw back my wife and I encountered was the inconvenience of the separate rooms for toilet and shower. My wife missed a place to set here cosmetics etc. in the shower area.
Overall, a wonderful travel experience I would recommend not to miss.

AJW Boston, USA

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank abenakee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband and I have just returned from Lyon. Mon Hotel Particulier is an amazing find. Set in the heart of the old town, in a fourteenth century French building. These are really self contained holiday apartments. Decorated and maintained to a very high standard. An excellent choice, and a nice change from a regular hotel. Will most definitely recommend them.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillybearSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Beautiful heritage building that has been totally renovated and modernly decorated. Right in the heart of Old Lyon, comfortable spacious rooms that feel like a palace after being in Paris for a few nights. Hosts were very gracious and helpful. I was a tiny bit worried about how we were going to check in since this isn't really a hotel, but the owners contacted us and met us on arrival.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindzeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Hotel des Celestins
#15 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Vieux Lyon - Quarantaine
College Hotel
College Hotel
#90 of 193 in Lyon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Citadines Presqu'ile Lyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cour des Loges
#10 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Le Phenix Hotel
#46 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Vieux Lyon - Quarantaine
La Tour Rose
La Tour Rose
#173 of 193 in Lyon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mon Hotel Particulier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mon Hotel Particulier

Property: Mon Hotel Particulier
Address: 3 Place du Change, 69005, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Vieux Lyon - Quarantaine
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Mon Hotel Particulier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing