We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant”

Le Centre by Georges Blanc
Reserve with
Le Centre by Georges Blanc is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #137 of 3,325 Restaurants in Lyon
Price range: US$32 - US$65
Cuisines: French, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: en plein centre Ville, belle brasserie contemporaine proposant un large choix de viandes premium de toutes provenance, Francaise, Black Angus, Kobbe, Australie, Volaille de Bresse. Ouvert 7/7 midi et soir toute l'annee, Terrasse agreable aux beaux jours. Carte des Vins tres attractive
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Good restaurant”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We had an exceptional meal here, steak was great and the wine waiter amazing in his knowledge and patience as we don' t speak French. Worth the visit especially if staying at the hotel Carlton!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Perthgirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    265
    110
    38
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
480 reviews
267 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
“OK restaurant next door to Hotel Carlton Lyon - big on meat”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This is the restaurant next door to the Hotel Carlton - not part of the hotel but obviously associated with it - and we went there on our first night staying at the hotel for convenience. It was very busy when we went so if you want to try this, booking is advisable. The menu is mostly geared around meat so if you want fish or vegetarian food this won't be for you. There were lots of expensive cuts of beef (from Japan, Australia and US) but some cheaper things as well. The mackerel starter was good and we tried the Veal Viennese (like a schnitzel) and lamb cutlets and they were OK without being great. Vegetable side dishes were included in the price, but this being France, there was not much green available (their idea of vegetables seems to be frites). Even going for the cheaper dishes it was on the pricy side (100 euros for two courses without alcohol) - if you'd gone for the more expensive beef cuts your wallet would have taken a serious pounding. Service was brisk and efficient. Not sure I'd recommend you go out of your way to try this.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan8552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Superb restaurant”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

It is a very nice restaurant, the meat was excellent, the wine outstanding and the staff was very pleasant and competent.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“We always go there when we go to Lyon!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Excellent salmon as a starter, very good tartare and picanha, amazing french fries and above all really really good deserts( the eclairs are amazing!) Jim was our waiter and he should have a raised as he extremely nice and friendly! Every time we go to Lyon we have at least one meal here! It is not overpriced as what they serve has really good quality!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnaMBO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Overpriced, Underwhelmed”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed next door at the Carlton (great hotel BTW), and took the easy option on our 2nd night of this restaurant just next door (usual fatigue and not doing our restaurant research properly).

The food was average at best, we had the rib of beef which was mostly fat and not a great flavour (2 persons=€80 for the meat and the veggies were extra!). We visited another restaurant in the old town the next evening and had twice the steak experience for half this price!

The starters were unspectacular (tempura prawns which were the same as offered for the Carlton room service).

Altogether, a nice place and atmosphere, but should only be tried if you're staying right next to it and can't be bothered to walk a very short distance to some great food establishments.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OX10bloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Centre by Georges Blanc also viewed

 

Been to Le Centre by Georges Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing