We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, enjoyed our stay”
Review of Mama Shelter Lyon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mama Shelter Lyon
Ranked #6 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent service, enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The decoration of the hotel was Cool; simple, chic and tasteful. The bed was comfortable, the room and bathroom was a good size (room 610). Most importantly the staff made a huge difference to our experience at the hotel. Our stay here was the last part of our 3-week trip in France and the service here was comparable to a 5-star Relais & Chateau hotel we stayed in Provence. Every single staff was cheerful, helpful, enthusiastic and seem to really enjoy working there (not forced like in some hotels in France). The mini-fridge in the room was an "automatic sensor" drink dispenser and we could not put any of our stuff in there. The staff however offered to store our cheeses etc in their fridge behind reception till departure- great! We rarely eat in hotels but the food at Mama Shelter was actually good. Pizzas were delicious and the dinner mains were good too. Breakfast was included and was a good selection. The only slight negative was its location off the centre although the metro station was just a 5 min walk away. It wasn't as convenient after a day of shopping to dump the bags at the hotel before proceeding on to other activities.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    752
    376
    53
    12
    7
See reviews for
89
523
42
315
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed in July 2014. Good location. Great staff, very welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was great and plentiful. The room was adequate with great bed and shower. Looking forward to seeing more of that chain worldwide. We also had drinks at the bar with friends and also had desserts. Nice creative menu.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ayman L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We came here from Paris by car, I booked the hotel online whilst on Australia.There weren't many tourists, mainly French business folks. The Deluxe room was very modern and funky.
There is a bar and band playing downstairs, the price was reasonable. Reasonable breakfast.

Happy to recommend.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TankArmada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

As part of our vacation road trip through Eastern France, we booked a room for two nights at Mama Shelter, Lyon. Yes, it looked a bit unique online, and we weren't sure how that uniqueness would translate in person, but rest assured, a very cool, unique, fun, friendly place to stay in Lyon! The customer service was exceptional, from showing us where to park the car, to making a dinner reservation for us - anything we inquired about was answered quickly, efficiently and in a very friendly manner. We loved the location in Lyon - we are walkers, and enjoyed our walk into Lyon for dinner and to visit the sites. The room was wonderful - so clean, bright, quiet, comfortable. Mama Shelter, Lyon won our award for "Best Night's Sleep on Our French Road trip". And shhhhh! When I inquired when Mama Shelter would bring their brand of cool and hip to US? They said LA in 2015!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights and the rooms are exceptionally clean, staff very knowledgeable and friendly and also speak very good English. The hotel is only 50 mtrs from metro and one stop to centre of town. Would definitely stay in a mama shelter hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tenby50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is a hip, boutique hotel that puts design sensibilities front and center. There is a youthful playfulness about the place.

Check-in was friendly, just wished the security/doorman had offered to help my friend with her bags up the outside steps.

The rooms are large, equipped with a wet bar, microwave, and in-room safe. The bathrooms were large with great shower.

I loved the Apple TV as a portal, with free movies.

One complaint was the room does not cool enough, no matter how high (low) you set the AC.

We only had a drink in the bar and it seemed like a popular place. The front desk made several meal reservations for us, and were friendly and helpful. The location is close to metro, but otherwise a good 30 minute walk from the touristy places.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank capt_vino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We booked a room at Mama Shelter for a weekend getaway from Geneva. One of our selection criteria was convenient parking and we found it within the same property for a moderate price. The hotel was chic and comfy, the restaurant with its nice terrace was excellent and perhaps the best part was a good location right next to all public transport connections. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast very much recommended though it's at a separate price. A great, fun place to stay within a walking distance from all the sights, well recommended!

Room Tip: Deluxe handicap was very spacious at a good price, though couldn't compare with any of the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tapio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Molière - Edgard Quinet
Okko Hotels Lyon Pont Lafayette
Carnot - Gailleton
Hotelo
Hotelo
#3 of 194 in Lyon
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Vaubecour
#1 of 194 in Lyon
370 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mama Shelter Lyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama Shelter Lyon

Property: Mama Shelter Lyon
Address: 13 rue Domer, 69007, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mama Shelter Lyon 2*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rue Marc Bloch flanks the 156-room building and the mere mention of this name, the creator of the Annales School, commands a sort of seriousness that can be seen in the building's very facade. It was thinking about Marc Bloch and also Jean Moulin, that gave the creators of the MAMA their desire to be here. It is by dreaming about a puppet's cheek and that of its creator Laurent Mourguet, that in time, MAMA wants to become a place for freedom, discussions and passion. Sensual and elegant rooms equipped with Apple iMacs 27"(TV, Internet, CD/DVD Player, IChat, Photobooth, Videobooth) and 5 Star bedding (Duvet 100% Satin Coton Sheets). MAMA SHELTER Lyon is ideally located 25 minutes from the airport, right near the tram and on metro line B and close to the Musee des Confluences. Take a break in MAMA SHELTER and enjoy: Live Concerts, Shows, DJs, Giant Table Soccer, Boutique of Offbeat Products... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mama Shelter Lyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing