We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise after long day traveling. ”
Review of Mama Shelter Lyon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mama Shelter Lyon
Ranked #6 of 195 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Miami
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice surprise after long day traveling. ”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We encountered this hotel after a very long day starting in Paris and ending in the Friday night traffic exiting the city. We dragged ourselves into the lobby at midnight and we immediately revitalized. The atmosphere was bright and funky. The staff were all cheerful and eager to help. The rooms were clean, modern, extremely comfortable. Add in the bar, breakfast and convenient indoor parking and this was the best stop of our trip. We will be checking the other Mama locations soon.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FredLof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    765
    386
    54
    13
    7
See reviews for
94
534
44
318
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Not my first time in a mama shelter. After Bordeaux and Paris, this experience was very good with the same spirit and the same quality. Rooms are great and service is very neat. I have never been disappointed by my experience at a mama!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BiscottePAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Quirky, unusual, unique, trendy, interesting touches throughout.
Highlights:
Customer service, great private parking underneath the hotel, breakfast, recommendations for local 'bouchons' and overall good value for a city hotel.
Even better if:
Slightly nearer the city centre, rooms slightly bigger with a few more home comforts eg dressing table with a mirror and more hanging space.
Would we stay again? Definitely and would particularly recommend it for the younger market, it's very much a place to be seen at.
Top Tip:
Look online at the hotel's own special offers, we had breakfast thrown in with the room price.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stuannrobdav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I really liked this place. The rooms are very cool and modern. They weren't the biggest rooms around but it felt like a special place to stay.

The bar/restaurant area is great and full of local young revellers, making me feel a little old! Good wines and beers were on offer and the food looked good.

The location is slightly away from much of the stuff you'd want to see in Lyon but it's a short walk from the river and there's a metro station 2 mins away. Parking in the street outside was available although it was late July and half of Lyon were away at the coast so it may be different at other times.

Overall, I'd reccommend this place and would go back again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ferretbanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

As soon as you walk into the entrance of the hotel, you know it's something a bit special and a little different. The decor is very quirky, and the furnishings very well thought through.

The staff: From the front desk to the restaurant, I found the staff extremely friendly and willing to help. They speak English well, but are also happy to wait and listen if you try to speak to them in French. Every question I had was answered with great local knowledge and anything I requested was dealt with quickly.

The room: Basically I loved it! It was just fun! From the Mac that has a range of great movies, ability to use internet, take selfies in your room (with the cartoon character masks provided) to the extremely comfy bed. I had three very good nights sleep here - just wish it could have been longer. The bathroom was very clean and well-equipped too! Loved the shower - perfect power and temperature!

The outdoor space: My friends and I used this a lot during our stay, for pre-dinner drinks, an afternoon chill-out area and for having our breakfast. It's a great sun-trap in the afternoon, and full of big cushions to relax into if needed. I noticed some board games lying around too - but didn't have a chance to try any.

The breakfast: Wow! Lots of things freshly baked in the hotel - like the delicious brioche! Loved the bacon and eggs option too.....oh and plenty of fresh fruit! Loads of choice - perhaps too much! :) My favourite thing was perhaps the freshly squeezed orange juice - as much as you want! Yum!

Location: So this may be the only thing that's not perfect, but then I love walking around cities - so I was happy to walk around and get my bearings. There's a tube nearby which takes you into the centre - literally a 2 minute walk. Tram also only about 4 mins away. Or if you fancy stretching your legs - its only a 10 minute walk to the river, and then across the bridge to the centre. We walked easily to the old town in about 30 mins.

Really just loved all the little extra thoughts everywhere in the hotel. It was just a fun place to stay!

Room Tip: I liked overlooking the outdoor seating area - just a bit vibrant....but could be noisy if you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ambling_Em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Can only recommend this hotel. Indeed a crazy place to stay. So many things to discover. It's all in the small little details, but they are definitely what make this place unique. The restaurant is incredible and dinner was finger licking good. Be ready for bugs bunny masks in your room, fantastic touch.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camel-rider2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We loved our two nights at Mama Shelter. While travelling with friends we based ourselfs at this hotel & travelled around the region. The staff are friendly, rooms are clean, well sized & the restaurant downstairs has great food & a good night life.

Great for young professionals & couples.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Molière - Edgard Quinet
Okko Hotels Lyon Pont Lafayette
Carnot - Gailleton
Hotelo
Hotelo
#4 of 195 in Lyon
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mama Shelter Lyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama Shelter Lyon

Property: Mama Shelter Lyon
Address: 13 rue Domer, 69007, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 195 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mama Shelter Lyon 2*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rue Marc Bloch flanks the 156-room building and the mere mention of this name, the creator of the Annales School, commands a sort of seriousness that can be seen in the building's very facade. It was thinking about Marc Bloch and also Jean Moulin, that gave the creators of the MAMA their desire to be here. It is by dreaming about a puppet's cheek and that of its creator Laurent Mourguet, that in time, MAMA wants to become a place for freedom, discussions and passion. Sensual and elegant rooms equipped with Apple iMacs 27"(TV, Internet, CD/DVD Player, IChat, Photobooth, Videobooth) and 5 Star bedding (Duvet 100% Satin Coton Sheets). MAMA SHELTER Lyon is ideally located 25 minutes from the airport, right near the tram and on metro line B and close to the Musee des Confluences. Take a break in MAMA SHELTER and enjoy: Live Concerts, Shows, DJs, Giant Table Soccer, Boutique of Offbeat Products... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Mama Shelter Lyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing