We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, weird but convenient.”
Review of Hotel de Bretagne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel de Bretagne
Ranked #172 of 196 Hotels in Lyon
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The place was newly built when I went there, so the facilities was not that good. The staff were nice ppl and the owner helped us lifting the suitcases. I liked the staircase, which stirred up. And our room was in the middle of the stair... which was a bit awkward, causing our room door to be a curve and hard to open. The neighborhood was quiet, safe and beautiful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Amber Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

Very centrally located - close to restaurants, shops and underground. Clean, comfortable rooms in a quiet street. Friendly and helpful service. Especially for the budget traveller. We will go back again

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuroraGirl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located in a very central position, close to the old city and to the main attractions. The room was a little bit small but clean and warm. Receptionist was discreet and polite. If you are looking for an unpretentious and cheap place to stay for few days, this hotel is the good one.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Franz80MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I am staying at first class hotels while I am travelling as a professional tour guide. However it is not easy to afford them, when i pay from my own pocket. Location, luxury, service, good food too expensive altogether. So i have to decide about my priorities first. Location comes first for me so i did not care about the condition of the hotel. The location is very central. You can already enjoy with good food, nice view and music in the downtown of terrific city Lyon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serhat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Stayed here a single night in Lyon while travelling south and was pleasantly surprised!

The newly renovated room was exceedingly clean and cosy, and was well heated (was -1 temperature outside) and was stocked with shampoo and 3 clean towels.

The bed was large, comfortable and also very clean. Free wifi was available in our room (with no issues) and was offered to us by the helpful older gentlemen at reception. Despite his not speaking English he was able to explain to us everything we needed to know about the room and showed us the way up. The stairs were not nearly as bad as everyone has commented, either.

Overall, a clean, newly renovated cute little room with everything you need while travelling: hot water, a shower and toilet and comfortable bed. The location is quite central aswell, near shops and fast food for quick bites to eat.

Would recommend to anyone travelling through Lyon for a few days.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrienne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Firstly, price is unbelievable for the location and a great breakfast in the morning! Friendly staff. Yep the hotel and rooms are fairly depressing but if you need a great location on a budget and don't require a view or a bright and modern room than I would recommend it. Walk to old town in about ten minutes. On a quiet street but a short walk to the metro. We only had one night in Lyon and I'd recommend more time here. If I was on a budget I'd stay here again, if I had money to burn I'd look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greginvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Hotel de Bretagne has a great location, walking distance to most sights, close to lots of restaurants and pubs, and very close to Cordeliers metro station. I got a room with a single bed with a comfortable mattress. Free wifi. On the minus side, no shower curtain. It's probably the best budget option in Lyon, as the hostels there are not centrally located like Hotel de Bretagne.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NathanTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Hotel Moderne
Hotel Moderne
#169 of 196 in Lyon
62 reviews
Terreaux - Bat D'argent
Le Boulevardier
Le Boulevardier
#94 of 196 in Lyon
128 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Best Western Saint Antoine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel du Theatre
#59 of 196 in Lyon
235 reviews
Terreaux - Bat D'argent
Hotel De Paris
Hotel De Paris
#175 of 196 in Lyon
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Bretagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Bretagne

Address: 10 rue Dubois, 69002, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Cordeliers - Jacobins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 196 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range: £48 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel de Bretagne 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel de Bretagne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Bretagne Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing