We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Florentine
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$391
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$283
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Mama Shelter Lyon(Lyon)
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotelo(Lyon)(Great Value!)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (813)
Filter reviews
813 results
Traveller rating
537
179
48
31
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
537
179
48
31
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful hoteloverlooking lyonformer conventold townhill overlookingwelcome drinkmain buildingthe michelin starred restaurantjunior suiteentire cityluxury hoteloutdoor poolconcierge deskchecking inbeautiful roompaul bocusestayed one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
231 - 236 of 813 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Enough cannot be said about the truly exceptional service at this hotel. After we enjoyed a welcome cocktail on the terrace, the manager personally welcomed us and shared the history of the hotel building, which was once a convent. Our every need was accomodated. The hotel itself is beautiful, and the views spectacular. There are several ways up to the hotel by foot, though I could see that all could be difficult for some. For those that want to work off some of the delicious cuisine that Lyon has to offer, the stairs leading directly from the old town to the hotel provide a good workout. The hotel is also nicely situated at a midpoint leading up to the Basilica of Notre-Dame de Fourvière, which was well worth the climb. Plenty of interesting things to see and do close to the hotel, and many more a short stroll away. Our room, one of the less-expensive ones, had a fabulous view and plenty of space. It even had remote controlled curtains, so in the morning we could enjoy the gorgeous Lyon skyline without getting out of bed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bohorolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

My husband and I decided to spend the weekend (Easter weekend, or "paque", as it turned out) in Lyon -- we had just finished a week in Paris with our goddaughter and her mom, and I had to be in London the following week for work. We chose the Villa Florentine based on TripAdvisor and other online reviews. We took the TGV to the Pré-Dieu train station, jumped in a taxi and after a 20-minute climb up towards the basilica, were delivered into the gracious, capable hands of the hotel's staff. Our room was beautiful -- we had rented a suite, which turned out to be a duplex -- and we were really grateful for the chance to decompress from squiring a 13-year-old around Paris for a week. Let's see... what makes the Villa Florentine special... the location, of course -- it's perched like an aerie waaaaaay up above the old part of Lyon. The building itself -- the wing with the suites was built into a 15th-century (I think -- I could be a century off) abbey. The staff, of course -- they go beyond efficient to the kind of elegant, gracious service that puts you at ease and makes you feel special at the same time. The restaurant is also fabulous (separate review)... and the city of Lyon itself -- it has a lot in common with San Francisco -- laid-back but pretty cosmopolitan, great food (duh) great local wine (duh again). We plan to come back.

Oh -- the litmus test that separates a truly great hotel from even a very, very good one -- room-service breakfast. No menu, we just picked up the phone, ordered what we could think of that sounded good, and it was delivered in 15 minutes, absolutely perfect.

Room Tip: If I recall correctly, we were in room 24, which is a duplex suite -- the room doesn't look directly out towards Lyon.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SF_EXEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Though slightly inconvenient because of it site on top of a hill overlooking Lyon it more than makes up for it with stunning views and exceptional service. The walk down to the old town, which is very charming, is by steps, several choices, and is easy but going up is for the fit. It is not hard to find a taxi for the short ride up.

Room Tip: This is a member of Relais and Chateaux, so it is as lovely as you would expect. Of course ask for a room with a view of Lyon.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luckylynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We stayed there one night after we stayed at Abbaye de la Bussiere in Burgandy, both Relais and Chateaux properties. Since we did not have a good experience at Abbaye it was a very good contrast between the two properties. The minute we arrived there we were pleasantly surprised by the staff's friendliness and eagerness to help. Then General Manager came by and introduced himself and asked if there was anything he could do to help our stay a pleasant one. A kind of pampering and a nice touch you want to have at a five star Relais and Chateaux property. The hotel is locaetd in the old section of Lyon overlooking the City and has a beautiful property. The only negative is you will need to cross the bridge to get to most of attractions, shopping and restaurants but it was not such a long walk from the hotel. One caution is not to take the cable car to come back to the hotel as you can easily get lost to get down to the hotel from the cable car stop. Mondays all the good restaurants including the highly acclaimed one from the hotel are closed so we could not have a decent dinner the day we arrived but the next day we had visited all the Michelin star rated restaurants for lunch and dinner at the world capital of the gastronomy.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ys124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I stayed at this lovely hotel in the older part of Lyon while on a business trip. The accomodations were made by our local hosts who is quite familiar with the gastronomy of the area. We were personally greeted by Jerome Montanteme (Directeur of the hotel) who helped us sign in. During our stay, Anne Christensen was quite helpfull and attentive to our needs. In addition the hotel and reaturant staff were polite and professional. The food and wine selection of the restaurant was fantastic.
I look forward to returning here with my wife for our next holiday!

Room Tip: I stayed in room #1 which is a large suite with a terrace overlooking the valley!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Service
Thank DDutch01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews