We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night escape overlooking Lyon”
Review of Villa Florentine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa Florentine
Ranked #7 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
289 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“One night escape overlooking Lyon”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Quick weekend away drove over from Switzerland for a romantic getaway.

The Villa is a beautifully refurbished convent perched above old town Lyon and within walking distance to the most charming parts of the town.
The view- the whole city rolls out in front of you...from the room or the dining room or the pool...special mention to the view sitting in jacuzzi.

We stayed in a junior suite on two floors and had (as with all the rooms) a stellar view.
The restaurant- a 1 Star Michelin is in line for it's second star- excellent- with at least half the patrons from outside the hotel (which tells you something)...especially in a town such as Lyon. I wrote a separate review for this meal.

Bed, bedding, towels, amenities, complimentary sparkling and still water and focused service was generally at the level one would expect. Could have used Q-Tips in the bathroom.

The little niggles?
Luggage was not in the room when we walked in.
Bathroom makeup light was fixed uncomfortably high for my girlfriend...doing her makeup on her tiptoes was irritating.
The lights for the entire room were linked to the bathroom....so middle of the night visits to the bathroom lit up the whole room.

Overall we very much enjoyed our stay, would stay again and warmly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeDude13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    149
    38
    27
    13
See reviews for
89
444
15
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Romantic and also great for Families because of a great pool and Jacuzzi. The best view and service in Lyon, no doubt the best place to stay in this City. The restataurant is too expensive and service no so good. But with 2000 restaturants in Lyon, it doesnt matter...Visit Lyon, it a dream city...!

Room Tip: Get a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBR1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

The rate is expensive compared to other hotels in Lyon, but the view and quality of the hotel makes it worth it. The view from the swimming-pool or spa, which you often have for yourself, is
magnificent. The restaurant "Les Terrasses" located at the hotel was a flawless gourmet experience.

A japanese couple had their dog staying with them at the hotel. So it seems to be a pet friendly hotel also.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
106 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Lyons is an undervalued destination, and the Villa Florentine a great way to enjoy it. Located in the Renaissance bit of town, up on the hill, it really does offer surprisingly Florentine views. (To hide the hideous Crédit Lyonnais tower, position yourself behind a tree on the terrace.)

The package is the standard R&C traditional grandeur, but without much in the way of pomposity: we found all the staff very friendly and helpful. There was just the odd off-note, but nowhere's perfect. A welcoming drink is provided, with some ceremony, en terrasse. Though it looked like a Bellini, it turned out to be a fruit juice; if one arrives in the evening, as we did, it seemed odd not at least to offer a grown-up choice? And we were amused to enter our enormous and well-fitted dressing room, to find that it had all of three hangers. Well, we were only there for the weekend…

The only real complaint about this place, intrinsic in the layout, is that our vast bedroom (a Junior Suite) – and we suspect many of the others – had no view save that of an internal garden. It seemed a shame to be up on the hill… with no real view at all.

Room Tip: Ask about the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Acer sed justus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
206 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights after a 5 day trip in Paris/Versailles. It is a smaller hotel with great services and rooms. Anne, the assistant manager is a really wonderful lady and so very helpful.

Our room #17 had amazing views and a loft upstairs. The pool and hot tub area are very nice, we could have stayed there forever.

We will stay again when we return to Lyon!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Simply put, one of my most treasured moments in Lyon thus far.

We arrived at Villa Florentine around 3PM via taxi. Being first-time visitors to this gorgeous city, we were not entirely sure what to expect or how to spend the rest of our day. Sitting high in the hills looking down onto the rest of Lyon, the unassuming doorway of Villa Florentine opens to reveal an oasis of quiet luxury. Upon arrival, we were greeted at the door by the friendly man in charge of concierge. He was kind enough to help us with our luggage, and warmly ushered us towards the reception desk. The woman behind the reception desk was very professional, but also very kind. After checking us in, she offered us each a refreshing cocktail and a seat on the lobby terrace where we could appreciate the breathtaking view of the city.

As we sat on the terrace sipping on our drinks and slipping deeper into relaxed state, the assistant manager (I forgot her name, but she was lovely) came over to give us a brief introduction of the hotel and the building's fascinating history as an old convent. The gentleman in charge of concierge also came out to welcome us and to help us answer any questions we had.

From this point on, it just gets better and better.

He brought us a map of Lyon and took the time to painstakingly explain the layout of the city, marking where the hotel was on the map, and marking a potential route of exploration through the city center and back to the hotel. We were extremely appreciative of the fact that he mentioned the cable car that takes you from the St. Jean stop to the top of the hill near the Basilica. From there, you can walk downhill through the winding tree-lined paths hidden within the gardens below the Basilica. At the bottom of that hill is the street the hotel is on. You just take a left, walk two mini blocks and you are back at Villa Florentine. Brilliant.

The suite we were given had the most tremendous views. I really don't need to say much here other than it was immaculately clean and everything was provided for, including a pair of dishes and cutlery for those midnight noshes. I wouldn't be surprised if someone stated that the decor was a tad dated, but to me it suited the historical feeling of the establishment. Everything was incredibly comfortable, and the best part was the automated blackout curtains.

We left the room to start our foray into Lyon, and were met by the hotel's manager, Jerome. Jerome was the shining star of our visit. Everything and everyone else came close, but Jerome was the highlight of our stay. He greeted us warmly, introduced himself, and told us to contact him whenever we needed anything. When we asked for his advice on where to buy gourmet foods and to dine that night, he recommended which patisserie to buy delicious cakes from and also suggested a local dining establishment that was suited to our specifications. When we finally made it to dinner around 10 PM, we sat down only to have Jerome suddenly pop over our shoulder to say hello and to chat! It turns out he was grabbing a bite there as well after his workday. Let me just say, his dinner recommendation was highly successful. Best meal ever! The quenelle nantua I had was heavenly. We ate so much of everything that we could barely make it back up the 200+ steps to the hotel (Yes, we kept count so that we wouldn't notice our full bellies straining over our belts). It didn't take that long, about 15 mins to get back up. I love that the neighborhood on the mountainside is dotted with these steep staircases. So many hidden gems!

After dinner, we had a midnight dip in the pool and the hot tub. Views of the glittering city and rivers below while soaking in the hot tub cannot be beat. A major plus for me-- I love being able to go to the pool whenever I want to.

Overall, the entire stay was a huge success. Jerome and his staff are wonderful and very gregarious when engaged. We were pretty demanding customers... not the kind that like to complain and whine over the small stuff, but we were constantly in and out of the room asking them for recommendations and help (Can we call a taxi? Can we print something out at the front desk? Can we have a bottle of wine chilled for us? Does this restaurant serve duck?). They never missed a step.

Also, it was really fortuitous that there were no families with children there during our stay. A kid once ruined the gourmet breakfast spread at the Park Hyatt in Tokyo by running around touching all of the food with his hands. WHEW!

If you go to Lyon and have a chance to stay at the Villa Florentine, you simply must!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dcgal8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

After a distressing and disappointing stay at the Villa Florentine last year, we complained at the hotel and sent the following message to the Relais Chateaux. Our travel agent sent a similar letter to the hotel. We have never received a reply, let alone a much needed apology.

"We encountered numerous problems during our recent stay at the Villa Florentine. We are only sending this to you rather than travel websites in the hope that you can remedy such issues. Other than the excellent and gracious service of a young woman named Camille in Reception, we were disappointed in the hotel staff and service.

1. No one met us at the door to help us in with some very heavy luggage. Later the manager apologized for this oversight. We never saw him again during our stay. It was a holiday weekend and he seemed to have disappeared.

2. We were given a glass of champagne, sat out on the Reception area balcony, and told someone would be out very soon to explain the hotel, take us to the room, arrange for restaurants, tours, etc. We waited more than 30 minutes, were shown to our suite, but given no additional information about the hotel and its services. We had trouble getting simple information. For example, when we asked one of the concierges to put an X where the hotel was on a map of Lyon, he put it in the wrong place. Are you sure, I asked. Oh yes, he said. Then he looked more closely and marked the spot I was pointing to on the map. We also didn’t realize was that it took a walk down 200+ stairs just to get to the Old City of Lyon. Going down wasn’t bad. Climbing up was tough. But, our leg muscles survived and are stronger for it! When we asked how to get down the hill, we were told “we can arrange for a taxi.” A bit like “let them eat cake.”

3. Several walls in our room were scuffed and a chunk of paint had peeled off the door to the air conditioning closet. A knob came off when we turned the water on the tub. The stopper knob on the bidet came off and out of its fixture. The shower door would not fully close leaving a two-inch plus gap and a wet floor. When we ordered coffee for the room, we were told them to call them as soon as were done. We did. And six hours later it was still in the room.

4. When we learned that we could not have dinner at the hotel on the 12th (my birthday), it would have been helpful and professional if the staff had suggested an alternative night for our celebration diner at that point in time. We turned to the man at the concierge desk (no one was there when we checked in) and asked him to recommend a good restaurant for that evening. No problem, he said. He recommended L’Alexandrin which was good, certainly not great, and very expensive. We could have done better on our own. He also didn’t tell us that it was quite a distance away. Our taxi bill (to and from the restaurant) was about $60 U.S. dollars. First of all, he should have told us that the restaurant was as far away. Second, it’s hard to believe that in a city like Lyon, there wasn’t a good restaurant closer to the hotel.

5. The hotel restaurant was closed for dinner on Sunday and Monday, but no one explained if or where we could get food in the hotel on those days. Apparently we could order breakfast in the room but there was no sample menu for ordering. When we asked, they told us, “Oh, just order what you want or eat in the dining room."

6. Then there’s the saga of air conditioning. When we came into the room, it was hot and stuffy so we turned on the air conditioner and went out for dinner. When we came back, the room was still hot and stuffy. Fortunately, we could open the windows to get some air. The next morning, we informed the desk. Someone came, fiddled with the thermostat and told us it would come on in a few minutes. It did not come on. We called the desk and they informed us that is WAS working. We told them again that it was not working. Finally Allan went to the desk and complained. He was told, again, that is was working. Finally after more complaints, the fans came on and the room began to cool. We went to the desk and found out that they were able to get it working. In the end, it took more than 24 hours to get the system to work. Not five star service.

Please understand that we fully appreciate how beautiful the hotel is. Our room was huge and comfortable (when things weren’t broken and the AC was on). The view was magnificent from the Reception area. We sing the praise of Camille who gave us excellent service when she was on the duty. The rest of the staff seemed impervious, imperious, or clueless—something we’d NOT encountered anywhere else in our three-week stay in France. This was not a five-star experience at all."

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank isajk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cour des Loges
#10 of 194 in Lyon
1,250 reviews
Molière - Edgard Quinet
Okko Hotels Lyon Pont Lafayette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Hotel Vaubecour
#1 of 194 in Lyon
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Florentine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Florentine

Property: Villa Florentine
Address: 25 Montee Saint Barthelemy, 69005, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lyon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#7 Business Hotel in Lyon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Florentine 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Villa Florentine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Florentine Hotel Lyon
Florentine Hotel Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing