We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spectacular views across the city”
Review of Villa Florentine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa Florentine
Ranked #7 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“spectacular views across the city”
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We stayed here overnight on a recommendation from a friend. It was a beautiful hotel above 'old Lyon'. It was very easy to walk to the famous 'boucherie' in old Lyon for meals - we preferred to eat out for all meals because we wanted to experience the city in the short amount of time we had to spend here.

We had a large bed which was very comfortable and found the bathroom very well appointed.

In addition to the glorious views, a highlight for us were the very attentive staff who spoke English and were very prepared to accommodate our requests eg use of gym, giving directions & maps, suggestions for sightseeing, and concern about my husband's eye which he had injured in Paris about 10 days prior (his eye looked bad but was ok and very well attended to by medicals in Paris).
The hotel was also very close to the Basilique Notre Dame Fourviere.

Room Tip: bed was very comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    149
    39
    29
    13
See reviews for
90
452
15
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012 via mobile

From the beginning everything was nice and pleasant. Until the moment I returned to the room ( number 6 on level 3) after very posh gastronomic dinner at Les Terraces. There was noise, almost next to me as if the origin was inside my room. In reality the room is directly above the kitchen, and they cleaned and moved utensils all the time. But I was very tired and wanted to sleep !!! Incredibly rude and inhumane. They knew that would happen but did not warn me. I felt so let down... Never stay at this perverted house, please !

Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We were treated like Royalty from the moment of our arrival. Really fantastic place, great service, and what views! The location is superb for access to the Old Town. Would return tomorrow. The swimming pool is fantasti, so go when the weather is warm. In fact, go any time.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CityboyNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Quick weekend away drove over from Switzerland for a romantic getaway.

The Villa is a beautifully refurbished convent perched above old town Lyon and within walking distance to the most charming parts of the town.
The view- the whole city rolls out in front of you...from the room or the dining room or the pool...special mention to the view sitting in jacuzzi.

We stayed in a junior suite on two floors and had (as with all the rooms) a stellar view.
The restaurant- a 1 Star Michelin is in line for it's second star- excellent- with at least half the patrons from outside the hotel (which tells you something)...especially in a town such as Lyon. I wrote a separate review for this meal.

Bed, bedding, towels, amenities, complimentary sparkling and still water and focused service was generally at the level one would expect. Could have used Q-Tips in the bathroom.

The little niggles?
Luggage was not in the room when we walked in.
Bathroom makeup light was fixed uncomfortably high for my girlfriend...doing her makeup on her tiptoes was irritating.
The lights for the entire room were linked to the bathroom....so middle of the night visits to the bathroom lit up the whole room.

Overall we very much enjoyed our stay, would stay again and warmly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeDude13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Romantic and also great for Families because of a great pool and Jacuzzi. The best view and service in Lyon, no doubt the best place to stay in this City. The restataurant is too expensive and service no so good. But with 2000 restaturants in Lyon, it doesnt matter...Visit Lyon, it a dream city...!

Room Tip: Get a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBR1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

The rate is expensive compared to other hotels in Lyon, but the view and quality of the hotel makes it worth it. The view from the swimming-pool or spa, which you often have for yourself, is
magnificent. The restaurant "Les Terrasses" located at the hotel was a flawless gourmet experience.

A japanese couple had their dog staying with them at the hotel. So it seems to be a pet friendly hotel also.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Lyons is an undervalued destination, and the Villa Florentine a great way to enjoy it. Located in the Renaissance bit of town, up on the hill, it really does offer surprisingly Florentine views. (To hide the hideous Crédit Lyonnais tower, position yourself behind a tree on the terrace.)

The package is the standard R&C traditional grandeur, but without much in the way of pomposity: we found all the staff very friendly and helpful. There was just the odd off-note, but nowhere's perfect. A welcoming drink is provided, with some ceremony, en terrasse. Though it looked like a Bellini, it turned out to be a fruit juice; if one arrives in the evening, as we did, it seemed odd not at least to offer a grown-up choice? And we were amused to enter our enormous and well-fitted dressing room, to find that it had all of three hangers. Well, we were only there for the weekend…

The only real complaint about this place, intrinsic in the layout, is that our vast bedroom (a Junior Suite) – and we suspect many of the others – had no view save that of an internal garden. It seemed a shame to be up on the hill… with no real view at all.

Room Tip: Ask about the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Acer sed justus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cour des Loges
#9 of 194 in Lyon
1,262 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Molière - Edgard Quinet
Okko Hotels Lyon Pont Lafayette
Hotel Vaubecour
#1 of 194 in Lyon
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Florentine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Florentine

Property: Villa Florentine
Address: 25 Montee Saint Barthelemy, 69005, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lyon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#7 Business Hotel in Lyon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Florentine 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Florentine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Florentine Hotel Lyon
Florentine Hotel Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing