We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Florentine
Nearby Hotels
US$379
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$278
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
US$269
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$239
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$136
Mercure
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$109
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$231
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$222
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$245
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (824)
Filter reviews
824 results
Traveller rating
544
181
50
31
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
544
181
50
31
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful hoteloverlooking lyonformer conventold townhill overlookingwelcome drinkmain buildingthe michelin starred restaurantjunior suiteentire cityluxury hoteloutdoor poolconcierge deskchecking inbeautiful roompaul bocusestayed one night
Filter
Updating list...
186 - 191 of 824 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This being our second stay, we wondered whether it was up to its previous standard. We were not disappointed. In fact it seemed even more perfect. Our suite was tastefully decorated and looked out over the old city. The bed was wonderfully comfortable and we were welcomed back to the hotel like old friends, including the welcome bubble. Breakfast in the restaurant, again overlooking Lyon, and with the freshest produce was a taste experience. The staff are courteous and ever willing. Being a Relais & Chateaux member means you are guaranteed that it is of a high standard anyway, but Villa Florentine exceeds that normal standard.

Room Tip: Room 5 is superb
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnR63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relations C, Gérant at Villa Florentine, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your very nice review.
We do hope you will come back and live another experience in our property soon again.

Best regards

Jérôme MONTANTEME
Villa Florentine Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Beautiful hotel in a wonderful location overlooking the city of Lyon. The staff was wonderful and accommodating. Large modern rooms with amazing views. Nothing but good things to say about this fabulous hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diane w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This hotel is fantastic to stay at if money is not an issue.
The staff could not be more friendly and totally proffetional.
The manager and assistant manager are PERFECT in every aspect but they are let down by owners who at getting the money per night but haven't refurbished( big and quality ) bedrooms in at least 15 years.
If these rooms and the interiors where refurbished this would be a World class hotel coupled with the able management.
But at the same time stay here it has such great features that compensate for poor furnishings....
The quirky ness of this hotel make it a world beater.
Please owners stick your hand in your wallet and make this the best of the very best.

Room Tip: Negotiate on price it's not worth full asking price ......but the hotel s very special.....lovely staff that make it happen
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Readytoburst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Large rooms, comfortable, superb service and view. In the eart of Lyon just above the hystorical center with an overall view lies this superb boutique hotel with attentive personnal service.
It was our best experience in Lyon and look forward to visit again.Gourment rerstaurant by Paul Bocouse.orth every penny.There is arooftop heated swimming pool and heated marble chars with a view to all of the city center. The bar service is superb with beautifull cocktails. It was a historical plazzo belonging to the Medicis when they controlled Lyon and some of the pat glamour has been conserved

Room Tip: largesr rooms
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jagcha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Villa Florentine has an exceptional location. High above the city of Lyon. There are incredible views of the city from anywhere in the property. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We had breakfast in their restaurant once, it was a la carte but exceptional ingredients. Service was a little slow. The pool area is beautiful, on the rooftop. Here, service was very good. Our room was the least pleasant factor during our two night stay. As we were checking in, the clerk told us while casually conversing with us that they were fully booked. That's why we didn't request a room change. Room 16 was facing the city and had an incredible bird's eye view. But...it was a "loft". The sitting area and bathroom were in the lower level and the bedroom above it connected by a spiral staircase. This was the "killer"! Try going to the bathroom in the middle of the night down a spiral staircase!! And the fact that it was on two levels made it feel a little "cramped". When we checked out it felt like a scene right out of "Downton Abbey" with the staff waving goodbye as we drove off!

Room Tip: If you have difficulty with stairs, be sure not to get the loft suites.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corina58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relations C, Gérant at Villa Florentine, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Dear corina 58,

I am delighted to hear that you appreciated your stay with us and the location of our property.

Our 28 rooms and suites all have their own charm: Views over the roof tops of Lyon or not, French wooden ceilings, mezzanines, terraces or balconies, mosaic stone arch, tiled or wooden flooring or private sauna ...
When a room does not satisfy a guest, and if we have the availability we usually suggest another room, I do hope this was your case.

I very much look forward to seeing you again and thank you for taking the time to poste your message on TripAdvisor.

Sincerely

Jérôme MONTANTEME.
Hôtel villa Florentine Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews