We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true delight”
Review of Villa Florentine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Villa Florentine
Ranked #17 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed there in autumn last year and from the moment we entered the hotel until we left, we were treated as if we were the most special guests ever, spoiled and looked after. This place is a real gem, tucked on the side of the uphill road (not a fun climb for people with health problems though), with breathtaking view of the city and one of the best restaurants I have ever eaten in.

A few minor issues:

The depth of the pool is not marked anywhere and usually there is no staff present nearby, so for someone who is not a good swimmer (me...) this could be an issue. I am not sure why there is bar designated to the pool area, since there is no staff there anyway.

I needed online access and was directed to the oldest pc I have seen in a long time - no printer in sight. Definitely needs an upgrade.

A welcome book with info on services is a must and I am not sure why it was not present in our room.

Lack of a mirror suitable for a contact lenses user is a bit of an issue as well.

Those could be improved to make it even better, but overall it is an enchanting hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NATinCPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relations C, Gérant at Villa Florentine, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Dear Madam,
Thank you very much for you review. We are very happy to read that your stay give you entire satisfaction.
I take good note of your very constructive remarks and I am grateful for that.
For your personnel information, we now have a business center with free access in the Lobby.
I hope that we shall have the pleasure to welcome you again

Gilles Cotillard
Relais & chateaux Villa Florentine Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (765)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 765 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

This Relais and Chateau hotel is a gem!! Great location with easy access to major sites; Vieux Lyon, Cathedral St. Jean, Basilica Notre Dame de Fourniere and an easy walk to the rivers. The hotel was so accommodating to us last month from the time we arrived. The assistant manager greeted us with refreshments and shared the history of this hotel. We were able to check in early after a long night and morning of travel. Room #1 is a beautiful suite with a private patio and view of Lyon. The hotel is situated above old Lyon. There are easy access steps to walk down to the old city and the river. It is also a short walk behind the hotel to get to the top of the hill to see the Basilica. Breakfasts are simply wonderful, but don't miss having dinner at the 1 Michelin star rated restaurant for a memorable and romantic evening. Leaving the hotel, our taxi was late to arrive. The manager drove us to the train station to make sure we didn't miss our train to Nice. The service matched our spectacular room with a view!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relations C, Gérant at Villa Florentine, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

We are delighted you appreciated your stay in Lyon, more especially in our Villa Florentine.
We would be really happy to have a chance to welcoming you soon again.

Thank you so much for your photo.

Gilles COTILLARD
Relais & châteaux Villa Florentine Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This is a spectacular hotel with a nice overlook of Lyon. The price of the view is the 222 step climb down to Vieux Lyon and the even steeper climb back up. Taxis are not readily available so if climbing up and down is a problem, you will be stranded at Villa Florentine. Otherwise, the room we had was large and very comfortable. We were in the "new" wing and felt a bit isolated requiring two elevators and a long walk to get between buildings. I would probably request the original wing in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bennett_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relations C, Gérant at Villa Florentine, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear sir,

Thank you for sharing your opinion after your visit to our property.

I am delighted to hear that you appreciated the room and the situation of our hotel, and the dominant view that our beautiful Villa Florentine offers.

I have taken good note of your different comments more especially your feeling of isolation.
We hope having the pleasure to welcome you back, do not hesitate to ask a room in the original wing.

Best regard

Gilles Cotillard
General Manager Villa Florentine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My husband and I made a sentimental journey back to Lyon France last month. We had visited there a number of years ago and had very fond memories of Villa Florentine. We made reservations and requested a room in the original building, not the new addition. We were given a lovely room, really a suite, that over looked the old city, in the original building.The linens were divine, bed wonderfully comfortable and the service impeccable . We were welcomed , at the door of the hotel, by a young man who took care of our luggage and helped us to our room. Almost everyone on the staff speaks English quite well which put us at ease. The only negative about our stay was that it was too short.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindsay h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relations C, Gérant at Villa Florentine, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Madam,

What a beautiful review !
We are happy that you enjoyed our Villa, and we hope having the pleasure to welcome you again for living another experience in our property.

Best regard

Gilles Cotillard
General Manager Villa Florentine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

PROS:

- great location

- full overview of the city

- in the heart of the "old Lyon"

- close to most of the monuments, museums and main attractions

CONS:

- wellness centre unadequate for a top-rate hotel, without qualified personnel; too small sauna; a poorly laid out steam bath lacking of safety standards, dipping boiling water from an uncovered pipe

- the restaurant, despite the high quality, doesn't meet the quality/price ratio

- part of the staff not professional enough

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elenamauceri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relations C, Gérant at Villa Florentine, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Madam,

Thank you for sharing your opinion after your visit to our property.

I am delighted to hear that you appreciated the situation of our hotel, and the dominant view that our beautiful Villa Florentine offers.

I have taken god note of your different comments, I do find you particularly harsh with our staff, I just have one regret, that I did not have the opportunity to discuss your comments with you during your stay.

Fortunately for me, it is only your opinion, and not that of the majority of our guests.

I stay at your disposal if you would like to contact me to review your stay on the phone with me.

Jérôme MONTANTEME

General Manager
Villa Florentine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This being our second stay, we wondered whether it was up to its previous standard. We were not disappointed. In fact it seemed even more perfect. Our suite was tastefully decorated and looked out over the old city. The bed was wonderfully comfortable and we were welcomed back to the hotel like old friends, including the welcome bubble. Breakfast in the restaurant, again overlooking Lyon, and with the freshest produce was a taste experience. The staff are courteous and ever willing. Being a Relais & Chateaux member means you are guaranteed that it is of a high standard anyway, but Villa Florentine exceeds that normal standard.

Room Tip: Room 5 is superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnR63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relations C, Gérant at Villa Florentine, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your very nice review.
We do hope you will come back and live another experience in our property soon again.

Best regards

Jérôme MONTANTEME
Villa Florentine Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Beautiful hotel in a wonderful location overlooking the city of Lyon. The staff was wonderful and accommodating. Large modern rooms with amazing views. Nothing but good things to say about this fabulous hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diane w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
0.1 mi away
Cour des Loges
Cour des Loges
#10 of 194 in Lyon
1,337 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Lyon Bellecour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection
0.5 mi away
Fourviere Hotel
Fourviere Hotel
#15 of 194 in Lyon
453 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel des Terreaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Florentine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Florentine

Address: 25 Montee Saint Barthelemy, 69005, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lyon
#7 Business Hotel in Lyon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#12 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
Price Range: £167 - £495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Florentine 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Florentine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Florentine Hotel Lyon
Florentine Hotel Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing