We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel with character”
Review of Villa Florentine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Villa Florentine
Ranked #12 of 196 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Very nice hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The atmosphere is nice and the views overlooking the city are lovely. The room we stayed in was comfortable, clean and well proportioned. The hotel's restaurant is first class. We only had two concerns: unreliable WiFi bandwidth & the separate toilet in our room did not have its own wash basin. If it hadn’t been for these, we would give it a maximum rating.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relations C, Gérant at Villa Florentine, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Sir,
Thank you for sharing your review following your stay at Villa Florentine, and am delighted to read that you enjoyed the scene as well as the quality of service provided by our staff.
I noted your comments and thank you for the points you mentioned. Regarding the wifi, we shared information with our IT manager and we are happy to confirm you that everything is in order yet.
I hope we have the pleasure to welcome you again.

Best regards.

Gilles Cotillard
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (740)
There are newer reviews for Villa Florentine
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 740 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed stay with my partner. First is of course amazing locations overlooking the city of Leon. Also a wonderful dinner at the Michelin star restaurant, Les Terraces De Leon. Dishes, vine and cheeses was excellent. Bourgeois.
Professional staff on everything. Our room with private garden the old building was large and very nice.
I didn't look for any minuses because it is really high quality hotel. Can not to back in Leon and for sure will back to stay in Villa Florentine.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Irina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relations C, Gérant at Villa Florentine, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Madam,

Thank you for your superb description of our services.
Be sure, it will be a pleasure to welcome you again.

Kind regards.

Gilles Cotillard
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

A lovely property but in need of refurbishment. Exceptional levels of service from the concierge/reception team and some of the most delightful staff at any hotel I have stayed at but the hard product is looking very tired. Some parts of housekeeping were poor on occasions. Delightful breakfast. Loved the views, loved Lyon and would stay again but work is needed on both the hard product and a consistent level of service across all aspects of the hotel. When it was great it was fabulous and when it was poor it was just not good enough leaving an overall lukewarm impression.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We had a very nice stay at VF. We loved the location up on the hill (and the resulting beautiful views) and really enjoyed making the short, but very steep climb up to the Basilica and the surrounding gardens, which are gorgeous. Old Lyon is at the base of the hill, which makes for another short but steep walk, which we also enjoyed. If you have problems with stairs, you'll have to take a lot of short cab rides.
The hotel layout is very unique with two beautifully renovated connecting buildings from the 17th and 15th centuries. It definitely feels very Italian, and it's lovely. Our rooms were large and nice - nothing extraordinary, but very nice and reasonably priced (relative to elsewhere in France - I don't know about Lyon).
The service was excellent, especially from Anne, who is a real gem.
So why only 4 stars? There were two things that made our stay far from perfect. First was the very weak and unreliable WIFI. It never worked well in any part of the hotel, and it often didn't work at all. It's nice that it's free, but I'd rather pay for something that worked.
The bigger problem was the interior noise. The lovely buildings/rooms have very pretty tiles or marble floors and sound carries incredibly. I feel like we heard every door slam (the heavy, pretty doors seem prone) and cleaning crew in the place. Our room was under the restaurant and I was kept up until after 1am and then awoken around 6am - was a bit of a nightmare.
They should really add some rugs around the place to absorb sound and adjust the doors so they don't slam.
We would request an upper floor room on a return. If you're a heavy sleepy and/or not sensitive to noise, then this is a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper level away from the elevator/stairs - noise REALLY carries in this place. Rm3 has...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eh555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The hotel is outstanding, we stayed 3 nights and we had an outstanding room, with a terrace and view on the pool and city. Location is ok, but you have to walk quite some stairs back. The view is fabulous. When we arrived a welcome drink and a lady from Denmark explained us the city and the nice things to do. excellent!! The only real very disappointed service was the bar service, no one their to service, took 15min before a person from the restaurant serviced us, next evening again no one to service and not the champagne we had the evening before, and the person was not willing to have a look at the restaurant for some, 3th evening the same. very pity for such a nice hotel!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed here one night to break our drive home back to the UK.On arrival our car was parked and we were offered a welcome drink on the balcony overlooking Lyon,we were given a brief but interesting history of the hotel.
We were shown to our room which was rather small but acceptable given the history of the building.The bathroom however is in need of modernisation as it only had a hand shower over the bath and the taps were rather difficult to reach due the the fixed shower screen.
The toilet is separate from the bathroom and does not have a wash basin so hand sanitizer would be appreciated.
The bed was lovely and comfortable & had an excellent nights sleep.
We ate at the Hotels restaurant which was the most amazing experience.....the food was exquisite as was the wine & the service.We would recommend that you book this in advance so to avoid disappointment of not getting a table.
Looking forward to our return in September.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relations C, Gérant at Villa Florentine, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your advice

It is our philosophy to ensure that we provide our guests with the highest standards of product and service at all times. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit and I have shared your feedback with all my team.

All of our guest comments are greatly valued.

We are pleased to see you in September.

Gilles Cotillard
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The villa Florentine in Lyon, is an old Convent which had been totally reshaped into a 5 stars hotel. It overlooks the old city of Lyon and is really quite an experience. The staff is very adequat and helpful. The swimming pool and garden situated in italian atmosphere. The restaurant a real delight.......... The villa Florentine is a visit to remember!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank theresa r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relations C, Gérant at Villa Florentine, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for your feedback.
It appears to be the perfect reflect of Villa Florentine’s experience.
It is a pleasure for us all to read your message.

Kind regards.

Gilles Cotillard
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cour des Loges
#9 of 196 in Lyon
1,301 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Molière - Edgard Quinet
Okko Hotels Lyon Pont Lafayette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Florentine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Florentine

Address: 25 Montee Saint Barthelemy, 69005, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lyon
#7 Business Hotel in Lyon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
Price Range: £220 - £667 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Florentine 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Florentine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Florentine Hotel Lyon
Florentine Hotel Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing