We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a gem in lyon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Florentine

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Villa Florentine
Ranked #9 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
milano
1 review
“a gem in lyon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2009

I stayed in this hotel only for 2nights.The atmosphere was very particular.I felt very well.
My room was quite large,charming and very clean.
Breakfast offered very different dishes and fresh fruits.The staff were very polite and helpful.I will definitely come back very soon.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simpex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    140
    35
    25
    13
See reviews for
79
419
14
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2008

Apart from the shock of a charge of 25 euros for a glass of champagne in the bar and the restaurant my three night stay in this hotel was entirely memorable for the best of reasons. Staff were at all times charming and helpful and efficient with it. The breakfasts (in the same location as the restaurant) were excellent - not buffet style but everything one could reasonably want was provided. The staff even learnt, after some lessons from me, how to make tea in the only way possible - the English way.

One has to pay to have such good service and quality of food but I do think it worth it and I would most certainly return purely to be comfortable in an hotel without the hassles associated with so many others.

I did not use the pool or other watery facilities but they are there for the taking.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank EveleighUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suebelair
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2008

We chose to stay in Lyon on a drive from Calais to Nice and chose the Villa Florentine because of its position in Old Lyon.
The reception staff were very pleasant and showed us to our room (up two lifts ??). The room was on the back of the hotel, overlooked a road, but very nice with plenty of room. As we were on a tight schedule we chose to eat in the Michelin star restaurant, but it was quite stuffy and a bit over the top, as some french restaurants can be. Overall a very pleasant stay overlooking a beautiful city. Would visit again.

  • Liked — Great Staff
  • Disliked — Remoteness of room
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Suebelair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2007

We were very pleased with Villa Florentine. As suggested, we did not have breakfast at the hotel but outside. View from the terasse was amazing. We were there on the night before Bastille Day and the fireworks at night from the suburbs were neat - you could see about 15 different fireworks displays at the same time. We always walked down to the old city and took a taxi back (very nice taxis in the city!!) so the steps were not an issue. We did do it one night and took out time. Front staff staff was professional and pleasant. Conceriege (Gregoire) was very good and recommended good bouchons. Room was very spacious and we didn't care that our view was a bit crummy as we paid less for it. We will return!

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Patricia77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2007

Okay, it's a pretty place, with a good view (if you face the right direction), but the front desk clerks are surly and off-putting, to say the least.

Our room was quite nice, but our friends ended up in the attic; a small, dark room that faced the street and a brick wall.

The beds are comfortable enough (kings are twins slung together), and the bathrooms are quite nice (toilet in one closet on one side of the room, tub and sink in another space on the other side of the room). The pillows are made of bedrock though, and locating replacements proved to be too much for the front desk to manage.

I can only guess that the restaurant is good (one michelin star). We were sniffed at by the front desk clerk when we enquired about dinner, though we'd dined at a three michelin star restaurant earlier that day and they'd welcomed us in with open arms.

All in all, I was very disappointed with this hotel. I had been really looking forward to our stay, but wished we'd booked somewhere else instead.

  • Liked — Nothing really
  • Disliked — The service and bad attitudes
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank reveredelafrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somewhere on a CX jet
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2007

I was very impressed by the physical plant, ie the hardware. Its conversion from an 18th century nunnery to an elegant boutique hotel in the early 90's was done with great taste and flair.
However, general levels of service were inconsistent during my stay. Apart from a very friendly and accommodating voiturier/bagagiste (valet/bell man), the other staff (receptionists, restaurant wait staff, and the Assistant to the General Manager) were quite cold, and, in the case of the Assistant to the General Manager, very unhelpful.
A simple request to buy one of the books in the lounge was met with a "You can go and buy one yourself at the FNAC" by this coldest of cold Asst to the GM. Not what I would expect from a 4 star Luxe hotel, certainly not at the prices this hotel charges. I suppose when the top staff are unhelpful, it filters down the food chain.
Probably the worst service I have ever received from a Relais et Chateaux property, and I have stayed at quite a number of them over the past 20 years.
Definitely not a repeat guest.

  • Liked — Great views
  • Disliked — Terrible service
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank CXfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salado, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2007

We spent one night there (March 13th, 2007) in a junior suite on the 6th floor. The view is as great as everyone says but you have to hike up around 100 steps from old Lyon, which was quite a feat after dinner and drinks. Its also a long walk to the shopping district.

My only issue was that they charged us 30 Euros for a roll-away bed for our 17 year old, but instead insisted that we use the fold out couch which was so bad, she had to put the so-called mattress on the floor to make it at all useful.

The main bed was large (2 doubles put together) but, as is typical in most French hotels, the mattress was thin and hard, as were the pillows. Certainly tolerable but at over $550 a night we expected better.

I would still recommend the hotel if money is no issue and you don't mind being awat from the shopping area.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The bedding
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuccessJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cour des Loges
#10 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Vaubecour
#1 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Florentine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Florentine

Property: Villa Florentine
Address: 25 Montee Saint Barthelemy, 69005, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lyon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#7 Business Hotel in Lyon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Florentine 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Florentine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Florentine Hotel Lyon
Florentine Hotel Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing