We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, small room”
Review of College Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
College Hotel
Ranked #91 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, small room”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Le College is perfectly situated to explore Vieux Lyon & the Presqu'Ile. The decor is quirky and original and the rooms, whist small are perfectly adequate for a short stay. The bedding and towels are good quality and is was spotlessly clean. The staff are friendly & helpful. Free bottled water & soft drinks are available from refrigerators on each floor. There's free wifi and a lovely roof terrace. There are plenty of bars & restaurants nearby and there is some noise from the street as a result, but with the windows closed and the efficient air conditioning on we slept well even in a heatwave.

Room Tip: We had room 504 which looked over the roof terrace and from which we could see Fourviere Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AubergeMontagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    160
    112
    38
    19
See reviews for
46
220
19
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Stayed here on a business trip – so someone else chose it, but glad they did. Initial impressions were of slight dottiness – rules for pupils at the door, giant pencils next to reception desk and TV playing old black and white kids' TV – but what could have been a tacky 'theme' hotel turned out to be a delight.

Room was a surprise – looked like a white cell, with metal school lockers for wardrobes and school desk and chairs, and wad freezing as someone has cranked the A/C all the way down to very cold indeed. With some heat restored, much better: comfortable bed, good walk-in shower and free wi-fi.

Like the retro fridges full of soft drinks on every floor, even more impressed with the bar (next door but part of hotel) serving huge list of wines, excellent cheese and charcuterie, which looked like a good place to while away an afternoon. So we did.

Breakfast simple, but all you could want, and staff consistently friendly and helpful. Would definitely go again, this time for a break rather than a slightly hurried business trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreweverard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The College is perfectly located for seeing the Old Town as everything is accessible on foot. We loved the decor of the hotel which captured the 'college' atmosphere with great humour and style. The rooms are simple but have everything you need. The rooms are small and vary in 'smallness'. We had enough room for our 2 night stay but our friends room which was the same grade as ours was configured differently and had some low beams which made the room more cramped. The shower rooms are spacious. Try and get a room on one of the top floors which have views.

The breakfast room is fun and everything from the fresh orange juice to the cheeses and fresh croissant and bread delicious.

The service was superlative from my first enquiry to checking out - all provided by Simon who really knows what the word 'service' means. Rarely have we met someone who has contributed so much to the enjoyment of staying in a hotel. If only he could be cloned the attitude of some of the shops and restaurants we visited during our stay left a lot to be desired!

We would definitely return and would try their other hotels.

Room Tip: High floors have better views and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanessaSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This hotel is little but unigue, everthing there is school related. I enjoyed especially a breakfest in class room (it was typical french - nutella, croissant, cheese, coffee meal). The room design was snow white (TV as well) with nice view on Fourviere. The location is real advantage if you come to Lyon to see Old Town and roman ruins.

Room Tip: Drinks in corridorrs are for free :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ola K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed in this unique hotel. Loved the decor and its fresh approach to style. It was very convenient to the sites of Vieux Lyon. We stayed on a weekend and agree that the Saturday night noise went on a bit longer than we would have liked. The sunday night experience was much quieter.

Breakfast was very nice but we thought the breakfast was included and probably wouldn't have paid $13.5 euros per person for what was provided. Next time would consider wandering to find a local bakery on one of our days. On-site breakfast was a great option though on the day we left since we had an early train to get and could enjoy eating something before beginning our travel.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the upper class room options and glad we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LAS1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This hotel is convenient for seeing the old town of Lyon (as well as Presqu'ile), unfortunately this area is also very popular at night... we woke up every night due to screaming from the streets.

We hadr a spacious room on the 7th floor. It was modern and clean. However, the shower had no power, so showering took forever. We had breakfast every morning at the hotel; croissants and coffee (average). It must be said that alll the staff was very helpful.
All in all an slightly above average hotel (considering the price).

It is a pity about the noise, otherwise we would consider staying there again.

Room Tip: My guess is that rooms to the north are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dordi79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Le Phenix Hotel
#49 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Vieux Lyon - Quarantaine
Mon Hotel Particulier
Mon Hotel Particulier
#72 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Hotel Silky by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel des Celestins
#15 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Hotel des Artistes
#33 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to College Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about College Hotel

Property: College Hotel
Address: 5 Place Saint Paul, 69005, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Vieux Lyon - Quarantaine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — College Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Le Collège has a great location in the heart of the old city, on a UNESCO-listed site. Have a unique stay in a hotel offering a traditional school-theme decoration concept. The Collège features bright rooms with a modern and sleek decoration. Each offers a flat-screen TV. Hotel Le Collège offers a bar, a meeting room and a terrace. Each is decorated so as to remind you of a traditional school. With a central location, Hotel Le Collège is the perfect choice for tourists visiting the many attractions of Lyons and business travellers visiting partners in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your College Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
College Hotel Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing