We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SIMPLY PERFECT”
Review of College Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
College Hotel
Ranked #85 of 195 Hotels in Lyon
Paris, France
1 review
“SIMPLY PERFECT”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The College Hotel is my dream come true for a simple, cheerful, functional and perfect hotel. The rooms are a crisp white, from the pleasing bedding to the shining floor. The big windows open to the fantastic rooftops of Lyon. From the moment I walked in I felt uplifted. Other hotel proprietors should take a lesson from the way the College has decorated its rooms. And then, to top it off, the staff was considerate and congenial. I can't recommend this place highly enough. We are going back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dblum12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelscollege, Responsable relations clients at College Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your kind remarks.

We have passed them on to the team at the reception.

We hope to welcome you back to soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    167
    115
    41
    19
See reviews for
49
240
19
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Brilliant location right in the old town and surrounded by many bars and restaurants.

The school theme throughout the hotel always gives you something to look at and appreciate.

Breakfast is great and can be taken up to the large and fun roof terrace.

Simon is a terrific person, nothing is too much trouble and his knowledge and enthusiasm for his job and Lyon is infectious.It also helps that he is English so that I didn't have to muddle through with my (very) broken French

The fridges on each floor stocked with water and sodas (all free) is a great touch too on a scorching hot day.

The rooms are totally white with quirky things like lockers for wardrobes.

I would definitely recommend The College and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor as it has it's own little balcony and direct access to the wonder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalcolmEBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelscollege, Responsable relations clients at College Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your kind remarks.
We have passed them on to Simon and the team at the reception.
We hope to welcome you back to soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
031397
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Simon is fantastic! He seems to truly enjoy his job. (Give him a raise:) He made sure my daughters rollaway arrived promptly. It's very difficult to find a room for 3. We were given a room on the 6th floor. The room is very modern and clean. The bathroom is clean and large. The hotel has parking which is a great benefit. Each floor of the hotel has a fridge stalked with non alcoholic beverages. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank kpocampo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelscollege, Responsable relations clients at College Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your kind remarks.
We are sorry to announce, that we cannot give Simon a raise as he is already paid too much ;-).
Should you decide to come back to Lyon, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

One of the best hotels that we stayed in our entire three week trip of Spain and France - would strongly recommend !!! Very tastefully done n a school theme with Bolsheviks kept at the reception...benches for breakfast , blackboard behind the TV in the room , old school pictures hung in the elevator - shows the owners passion and attention to detail. Breakfast is simple but good - with wide variety of cereals and fresh orange juice to die for which is unlimited.
Great location - few minutes walk fro. Cathedral and

Room Tip: Top floors give great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarika100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The College Hotel is a really lovely place to come back to after sightseeing during the day. It is also an ideal base for exploring Lyon. We loved the quirky, school-based decor and the delicious breakfast. The staff was always friendly and helpful, particularly Simon at the front desk with his many hints on where to eat, how to use the Metro and his great sense of humor. Our hotel room was very comfortable and clean, with space to put things even in the bathroom. There is also a fridge stocked with soft drinks and water for guest use. Internet reception was excellent throughout the hotel and we were easily able to book and print rail tickets for Paris. We would love to return to Lyon soon and we will certainly try to stay at Hôtel Le Collège.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors have less street noise and great views. We asked for this and were very happy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PWoolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

After driving for 14 hours and covering almost 900 miles we discovered this quirky hotel in the heart of Old Lyon totally by chance.
The hotel is minimalist with all rooms simply furnished and all walls, floors and ceilings painted white. The designers/owners of this hotel certainly had a sense of humour; either that or they have fond memories of their school days! The hotel resembles a boarding school, complete with desks, school chairs, lockers (doubling up as wardrobes), reading lamps, sports equipment, school registers, school books and even a headmaster's chair. I thought the use of painted breeze blocks as bedside tables was particularly novel.
Our room was clean and well maintained and had a small TV and complimentary Wi-Fi. The bathroom was a decent size, however, there was no shower curtain or shower tray so make sure you keep towels at a safe distance and take care once the floor is wet.
Each level has an American style retro fridge fully stocked with water and non-alcoholic beverages. These are complimentary so take full advantage, we did!
The staff were courteous, professional and spoke excellent English. They even helped us secure a parking space outside the main entrance which was especially welcome after a very long and tiring day.
Would I stay here again? I certainly would although I would try to ensure I book in advance to get a better rate than the ‘walk in’ rate we were charged.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toonwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The trip was booked for us by a company that we were visiting nearby. The location could not be better, we took the Rhonexpress into town from the airport, then a couple of metros and a delightful stroll through the old town to the hotel.
Its easy to find, the location is great for business connections but also for a city break.
Rooms are clean and comfortable, very comfortable beds..didn't notice any night time noise despite the location.
Loved the school theme, was quirky and individual without being tacky. The free soft drinks from the fridges on each floor was a nice touch.
Would definitely stay here again, either for business or pleasure.
The only small negative comments I would make are that I would expect a better selection of toiletries in a 4 star hotel, as it was an overnight business trip we were just travelling with hand luggage which tends to make me count on there being things like body/hand lotion in the hotel...but that's a minor niggle. Also the orange juice at breakfast did not seem to be freshly squeezed as promised on the website...but the coffee was very good!
The hotel bar is also very pleasant, we had aperos there before going out to eat.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelscollege, Responsable relations clients at College Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
We are keen to thank you for the time you took to share with us your opinion about your stay in Collège Hôtel.
The satisfaction of our guests is essential for us, it is with a real pleasure that we read your enthusiastic comments on the schoolboy vintage style and the services we offered you.
We hope to have the chance to receive and satisfy you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Le Phenix Hotel
#35 of 195 in Lyon
410 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Hotel Silky by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux Lyon - Quarantaine
Mon Hotel Particulier
Mon Hotel Particulier
#77 of 195 in Lyon
129 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Saint Paul
#152 of 195 in Lyon
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to College Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about College Hotel

Property: College Hotel
Address: 5 Place Saint Paul, 69005, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Vieux Lyon - Quarantaine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — College Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Le Collège has a great location in the heart of the old city, on a UNESCO-listed site. Have a unique stay in a hotel offering a traditional school-theme decoration concept. The Collège features bright rooms with a modern and sleek decoration. Each offers a flat-screen TV. Hotel Le Collège offers a bar, a meeting room and a terrace. Each is decorated so as to remind you of a traditional school. With a central location, Hotel Le Collège is the perfect choice for tourists visiting the many attractions of Lyons and business travellers visiting partners in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your College Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
College Hotel Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing